12/07 Poopers AMPS 38

Poopers and Catia

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone,

can someone help me I don’t understand why but Poopers numbers keep dropping so much. We’re down to .25U and even from last night to right now it’s dropped.
I’m trying to bring the numbers up right now. His AMPS was 38
 
It's possible he wants less and less insulin and the higher numbers you are seeing are from him dropping too low on the dose he is on.
What did you feed him now?
 
Last edited:
Even 0.25U is too much for him. Considering he dropped to 38 after only 2 cycles on it and a skip before that.
I'm not sure whether to go to a drop dose or see how he does for a few days without insulin.

Tagging @tiffmaxee for advice. Let's see what she says.

Did you test again? Where is he now? Do you know the carb% of your gravy lovers? The Beef Feast is 20% but the others are 15%.
 
Even 0.25U is too much for him. Considering he dropped to 38 after only 2 cycles on it and a skip before that.
I'm not sure whether to go to a drop dose or see how he does for a few days without insulin.

Tagging @tiffmaxee for advice. Let's see what she says.

Did you test again? Where is he now? Do you know the carb% of your gravy lovers? The Beef Feast is 20% but the others are 15%.
I tested him again about 15-20 minutes after his AMPS and it had dropped to 31 and then I gave him gravy lovers and it’s going up right now it’s at 54.
I was thinking maybe he needs more snacks so it can be balancing it out. We’re going to be giving a couple snacks a day and night to see how he is
 
He might just stay up with his usual LC now. Please keep testing every 30 mins?
Please skip the shot this morning and check back here for what to shoot from tonight.

Elise should be online in around 3 hours. She is on the West Coast.
 
He might just stay up with his usual LC now. Please keep testing every 30 mins?
Please skip the shot this morning and check back here for what to shoot from tonight.

Elise should be online in around 3 hours. She is on the West Coast.

i tested him before I left I unfortunately have to go to work… if only I could be a stay at home cat mom

Before I left he was at 101 my sister will be home around 3pm and she’s going to test him.

but yes I skipped today and if I could get some advice on how many units to give tonight that would be really helpful

thank you ❤️
 
Is Poopers underweight? Is he eating enough to keep him at his ideal weight? Sometimes cats need to be fed slightly higher carbs to get the insulin they need to stablize.

I would try .10 and feed maybe 10-12% carbs.
 
Is Poopers underweight? Is he eating enough to keep him at his ideal weight? Sometimes cats need to be fed slightly higher carbs to get the insulin they need to stablize.

I would try .10 and feed maybe 10-12% carbs.
He eats a lot. Visually I don’t think his weight has dropped. We will try to do .10 it’s pretty hard with the syringe we have but i’ll try

Do you know how much % Fancy Feast Pate is? Or how to check?
 
Practice measuring using a used syringe with a starting line in the right place and colored water. Count how many drops are in your current dose and try and get half of that or a tad less. Then use that syringe to measure each time you shoot. Alternatively you can try a drop dose.

Is he at his ideal weight? At some point I suggest you get a digital baby scale and weigh him weekly. It comes in handy as they age. I had to weigh my kittens when I got them originally as fosters.

The fancy feast pates are lc. Most 3-5%. Tanya’s crf has a link to a diabetes food chart. I’ll get you the link. Be back.
 
Practice measuring using a used syringe with a starting line in the right place and colored water. Count how many drops are in your current dose and try and get half of that or a tad less. Then use that syringe to measure each time you shoot. Alternatively you can try a drop dose.

Is he at his ideal weight? At some point I suggest you get a digital baby scale and weigh him weekly. It comes in handy as they age. I had to weigh my kittens when I got them originally as fosters.

The fancy feast pates are lc. Most 3-5%. Tanya’s crf has a link to a diabetes food chart. I’ll get you the link. Be back.

I will try to do that! That you so much for your help. Maybe i’ll try to mix his FF pate with his sisters food (Friskies) just a bit so his numbers don’t keep dropping. Tonight I will do .10U and I will update you all on how he is later on today

thank you I will look at that link! ❤️
 
The foods on the list are up to 10% carbs and she doesn’t have ff as it’s really designed for cats with kidney disease and fd. Her food list lusts foods in increasing percentages of phosphorus so it’s hard to follow but does give carbs for most if you have the patience to go through it. It’s much more up to date than Lisa Pierson’s list. Companies change their formulas often without telling the consumer.

@Bandit's Mom I know some people have a link to food on their ss or signature. Do you know who?
 
We will try to do .10 it’s pretty hard with the syringe we have but i’ll try
49822973598_359300d752_o.jpg
 
Back
Top