12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +3.5 81 +4.5 63 +5.5 45

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +3.5 81 +4.5 63

Barbara and tuffy said:
Did you give a little food to keep Tubby on the surfboard?


Yes, he had a can of FF in two small meals between the last two tests.
I'm going for the next test in a few minutes, watching him closely as his BG dropping to a possible danger zone!
 
Re: 12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +3.5 81 +4.5 63 +5.5 45 +6 72

After 1.5 can of FF with gravy Tubby bounced back to 72.
He looks good, now I have to work on his next pre-shot dose, the tricky part!!!
 
1.5 CANS of FF with gravy? Get ready for a big zoom up. It's really only necessary to give a TSP of gravy at a time. Don't feel bad though, I did the exact same thing the first time I saw a 37! We all do it in the beginning, it's scary the first few times you see those low numbers.

Remind me about Tubby...when was he diagnosed?
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
1.5 CANS of FF with gravy? Get ready for a big zoom up. It's really only necessary to give a TSP of gravy at a time. Don't feel bad though, I did the exact same thing the first time I saw a 37! We all do it in the beginning, it's scary the first few times you see those low numbers.

Remind me about Tubby...when was he diagnosed?

He was diagnosed in March 1 2006, the first time. But was off the juice by November of that year and remained that way utill a little
over a month ago.
 
Barbara and tuffy said:
Tubby has earned a reduction. Depending on his PMPS whether or not you can shoot the 4u or reduce to 3.75.

One thing I do not understand, how do you measure 0.25 unit anyway???
Do you have special syringes with that kind of marking?
Just curious.
 
Since he is not a newly diagnosed cat, Tubby needs to go below 40 to earn a dose reduction. I would wait to see what others have to say before reducing. I would also get another test an hour after the 72.

There are pictures of the syringes and how to measure 0.25u in the New to the Group sticky. You basically measure to the 4.0u mark, then squeeze out enough insulin to have the top of the plunger in the middle between the 4.0u mark and the 3.5u mark. You are using half unit marked syringes, right?
 
Do you have syringes that are in 0.5u increments? Not all syringes are marked in half units. If you don't have them, it will make your life considerably easier order or pick up those syringes.
 
Re: 12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +3.5 81 +4.5 63 +5.5 45 +6 72

12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +2.5 81 +3.5 63 +4.5 45 +5 72 +6 111
 
Re: 12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +3.5 81 +4.5 63 +5.5 45 +6 72

I don't know or think as of yet whether there should be any reduction, it all depends on what readings I get from now
till the time of shooting.
I did one hour test after 72. Looks like he is on the rise and planning on going up!

I have both 1/2 unit and full unit marking syringes of u-100.

12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +2.5 81 +3.5 63 +4.5 45 +5 72 +6 111
 
12/07/10 Tubby AMPS 259 +2.5 81 +3.5 63 +4.5 45 +5 72 +6 111 +9 231

Looks like his dose would be somewhere between 3.5 to 4 since I don't have a 0.25 unit marker.
Around midnight till his injection !
 
You are doing fine. Trial and error. You will learn how much to give. You will also learn how carb sensitive Tubby is. Time and Patience. It is not an exact science. Tubby is trying to find his optimal dose. Good luck with your decrease, see what his PM number is and whether to shoot through it or decrease. I tend to think that because he was OTJ for so long he earned a decrease but that is only my opinion. I spent a lot of time with Tuffy going up and down and a lot of time on 3.25. Also, Tuffy was very carb sensitive so I did not use HC. She could bounce enough without adding the HC bounce. Have a good evening.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
That 111 is probably from all the HC food...he may drop down again, maybe not.

Will you be able to monitor tonight? What about tomorrow?
Yes I will and will monitor tomorrow as well.
 
Shawn, don't worry about overdoing the HC, like I said...everybody does that in the beginning. Those low numbers are a little scary, but you will get used to them. It looks like he may be bouncing from the low number....that may not be all from the HC.

Thoughts on reducing the dose....since Tubby was previously OTJ, you may need to be more aggressive with dosing in order to get him back OTJ. If possible, it would be best to hold this dose....but of course you don't want to compromise his safety, so.....you will need to test and monitor closely. What do you think?

You can start working your way back to your normal schedule, you don't have to stay with noon/midnight. You can either shoot 15 minutes earlier on each shot, or 30 minutes earlier once per day.
 
For a photo or avatar:
Go to User Control Panel (the link is just below the FDMB logo above)
Click on the Profile tab
Click on Edit Avatar on the left menu bar
Upload your photo.

You need to have resized a photo of Tubby that fits the dimensions needed for the Board. If you have trouble, post a note in the Tech Center and someone will reply and lend you a hand.

Yea -- you did over do the HC food. The biggest headache with over feeding a low number is that your kitty may scarf-and-barf. When numbers are low, kitties are hungry as a means of raising their BG. If you give them too much too quickly, they barf which defeats the purpose of getting food in them to raise their BG level. So, for next time, you'll know to feed about a teaspoon at a time. This note may help you with managing low numbers.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
For a photo or avatar:
Go to User Control Panel (the link is just below the FDMB logo above)
Click on the Profile tab
Click on Edit Avatar on the left menu bar
Upload your photo.

You need to have resized a photo of Tubby that fits the dimensions needed for the Board. If you have trouble, post a note in the Tech Center and someone will reply and lend you a hand.

Yea -- you did over do the HC food. The biggest headache with over feeding a low number is that your kitty may scarf-and-barf. When numbers are low, kitties are hungry as a means of raising their BG. If you give them too much too quickly, they barf which defeats the purpose of getting food in them to raise their BG level. So, for next time, you'll know to feed about a teaspoon at a time. This note may help you with managing low numbers.

Thank you for the instruction, unfortunately it didn't take it. Will try later to reduce the size.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Shawn, don't worry about overdoing the HC, like I said...everybody does that in the beginning. Those low numbers are a little scary, but you will get used to them. It looks like he may be bouncing from the low number....that may not be all from the HC.

Thoughts on reducing the dose....since Tubby was previously OTJ, you may need to be more aggressive with dosing in order to get him back OTJ. If possible, it would be best to hold this dose....but of course you don't want to compromise his safety, so.....you will need to test and monitor closely. What do you think?

You can start working your way back to your normal schedule, you don't have to stay with noon/midnight. You can either shoot 15 minutes earlier on each shot, or 30 minutes earlier once per day.

I do agree with you, knowing his flip flop I would say I'm on the right dose, just want to make sure his nadir will not get us into trouble. Without food at 45 seemed to me he was heading to a dangerous range.
 
That's why you need to be able to monitor....to intervene if he heads too low. You need to be comfortable with it, I don't suggest holding the dose if you are not able to keep on top of the testing. But it may be worth the extra work if it gets him on the path back to OTJ...that's your decision to make.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top