http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-04-silver-amps-239-pmps-391-4-353.187551/
Hoping his new dose kicks in soon!
Hoping his new dose kicks in soon!
Last edited:
They say it takes at least 2-3 days to see different numbers after a dose change.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-04-silver-amps-239-pmps-391-4-353.187551/
Hoping his new dose kicks in soon!

You know what I wish I could understand? Why I was getting some good numbers when he was on 0.25. Albeit only good numbers for a couple cycles then back up again. Could I have shot passed the ideal dose? I had a couple greens in there too.I hope so too. Working up to the right dose requires a lot of patience, there's just no way around it. It could look like it's not enough insulin and then after a few cycles when the depot fills, bam, some lower numbers. Or it could just be not enough insulin yet, but you don't know for sure until you wait it out. It's frustrating, but you'll get there.![]()
You know what I wish I could understand? Why I was getting some good numbers when he was on 0.25. Albeit only good numbers for a couple cycles then back up again. Could I have shot passed the ideal dose? I had a couple greens in there too.
What is glucose toxicity?A very real possibility. The .5 dose right at the start seemed good. The am cycle on the 15th looked promising and the pm cycle the next day am cycle well could have just been a bounce. Going down after that and up down, up down, seem ideal conditions for glucose toxicity. Unfortunately, it was some time ago, and from what I understand, going back down after the fact rarely works. You could put a question in your title "Did I skip a good dose, how to proceed" or something like that and get some much more experienced people to chime in on that. I know little bits of some of these things, but I don't have the depth of knowledge that others do having been around a lot longer than me.
If you click on the second tab you’ll get the US numbers.You're SLGS and I can't read your SS like I want to because it's international values I'm not familiar with so I'm just going by the colors alone
If SLGS guidelines said to take those reductions and increases, that's what you needed to do. You can search up the finer points of glucose toxicity, but it's bacially when your cat becomes resistant to insulin at a particular dose and you need to keep increasing the break it. It can happen for other medical reasons, but it can happen when you increase the dose too much or too fast and then try to go backwards, it essentially makes those lower doses no longer workable for that point in time.