12/04 Eddie AMPS 63 AM+20 94 (reduction) +2.5 216 +6 281 PMPS 338 +8 275

Glad you caught that. :eek: However, when stalling, it is best not to feed. That 95 was a food influenced number. Please get a +1 or at least a +2 after you fed. You want to make sure those carbs don't wear off and the numbers drop again.
 
Glad you caught that. :eek: However, when stalling, it is best not to feed. That 95 was a food influenced number. Please get a +1 or at least a +2 after you fed. You want to make sure those carbs don't wear off and the numbers drop again.
Hi Wendy, yes, carbs holding fast. And, as I mentioned I reduced from 16u to 14u based on the last big drop when we reduced from 18u to 16u. I figure it's safer and as you often say, it's easier to get more insulin in than it is to take it out..

Was this appropriate given it's Eddie?

My strategy this morning was based on what was said to me back in February about another low he had on the AlphaTrak Meter:

"The 40’s reference and guidelines you quoted are for a human meter. They are NOT APPLICABLE WHEN USING AN ALPHATRAK METER (or any pet meter).
Remember, human meters run lower than pet meters so the guidelines and reference ranges for human meters are lower.
That 49 on an AT is dangerously low. In those circumstances, I believe you need to feed and/or give syrup immediately and get his BG back over 70 ASAP. Don’t wait and “see what happens.”"

So, I figured 63 on the AT warranted a similar response...

In any case, he's ok. I have to go out @+4 and be back at +5.5 but then here for the rest of the day.
 
Reducing to 14 units is fine, but the depot of the 16 units will influence the next 6 cycle or so, and definitely play a part in the first half of today AM cycle. That's why I suggested caution. Turned out this was OK today. But I've also seen it go the other way, where the numbers drop after the carbs wear off, in which case you could be fighting low numbers for hours.

Regarding my quote above, big difference between a 49 on an AT and a 63. With the 60's, you could try waiting without feeding for 15 minutes and see if he comes up. Below that, carb him up. Out of curiosity, are you still using the AT2?
 
Reducing to 14 units is fine, but the depot of the 16 units will influence the next 6 cycle or so, and definitely play a part in the first half of today AM cycle. That's why I suggested caution. Turned out this was OK today. But I've also seen it go the other way, where the numbers drop after the carbs wear off, in which case you could be fighting low numbers for hours.

Regarding my quote above, big difference between a 49 on an AT and a 63. With the 60's, you could try waiting without feeding for 15 minutes and see if he comes up. Below that, carb him up. Out of curiosity, are you still using the AT2?

Hi, yes, I'm still using the AT2. I just figured I'd stick with it for the sake of continuity, if anything.

Yes, of course you are right regarding the difference between 49 and 63 but it was what seemed a quickly developing drop from yesterday's PM +8 and AMPS and so I took from the previous advice, which by the way was not from you but a frequent commenter.

Anyway, I'm on my way home now. AM+5.5
 
I was wondering about the AT2, just cause you can't buy the test strips anymore. And whether you had switched to the AT3 yet.
 
Whoa, Jodey. What a day! So glad you were home with our sweet boy. Great job. Sending you hugs and strength.
Our twin cats are both giving us a run with over full depots and hard drops past few days. Whew.
Hang in there. :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
The AT3 is available on Amazon here. You can still get the AT2 strips?

Try it and see if it works. It did last time. Remember, caution is key when cabergoline enters the picture. Much easier to go back up if you need to.

Yes, caution is key, you're right. This is a slow process to be sure.

I get the test strips though through the vet and so far they have no problem with supply...I'll ask them about the AT3...
 
Back
Top