12/02 Furball, AMPS=175, PMPS=336

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/02 Furball, AMPS+175

Morning Carla, glad you are feeling better and nice number for Furball. Hope she keeps surfing for you today!!

Jo.
 
Re: 12/02 Furball, AMPS+175

+2.5=280

Any time I see blue any more it seems Furball is on her way back up from going lower during the day while I am at work or during the night. I am wondering if I need to try a dose in between 1.25 and 1.0 units. The 1.25 seems to be too much and the 1.0 seems to be too little. I know I need to be patient with the bouncing, but this seems like it is going on for a long time. Does anyone have any suggestions on changing to an in between dose? Thanks.
 
Re: 12/02 Furball, AMPS+175 Dose Question

I know it's hard to figure out what's going on when we're not there to test. I suspect, though, that using your intuition and guessing whether the numbers dropped may be complicating your dosing strategy. I tend to not reduce the dose unless I see the green numbers. For example, I don't know if I would have reduced the dose on 11/14. That said, you can always fatten/skinny a dose if you think it will help you to zero in on a good dose.
 
Re: 12/02 Furball, AMPS+175 Dose Question

Carla, if you are using the digital caliper to measure the dosage, will make it easier to measure small adjustments. I measure Rosy's dosage with the caliper in mm, thus easier.
 
Re: 12/02 Furball, AMPS+175 Dose Question

Hi !! Nice to see Furball in nice Blue!! Hope you feel better! Thinking of you with Hugs & Love from us!
 
Helen I do have digital calipers to measure Furball's dose.

I will wait and see where she is tomorrow morning before I decide if I should change the dose. If I do, I will shoot a skinny 1.25 and see how she does on that. She seems to be going low during the night, or while I am at work, and then bouncing to pink. Every blue I catch is just on her way up from a lower number that I have missed.

I guess I don't really understand the whole bouncing thing. It seems if she is bouncing like this I should be able to lower the dose to flatten her out.
 
Carla

Sometimes they bounce from a drop in numbers or just from a number that is lower than they are used to....it doesn't have to be a low number that would allow a reduction. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see that with the bile duct infection,etc, she lost regulation and now I'm having to take her dose up....she's bouncing all over the place again but she isn't giving me reduction numbers. I know with her, the more insulin I give her, the less she bounces but...and this is VERY important....I can give her more insulin because I am here to test and feed the curve. I still take her up slowly and in small increments but I've never found that reducing her dose when she didn't earn one helped with the bouncing.

Your schedule is what it is and you do the absolute best for your girl. It's important to keep her safe. But if you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see she's done some big bouncing without getting low. It can happen :-D
 
Hi Carla - What a nice start for Furball. Good luck with the dosing - it can be so difficult sometimes. It is hard when one isn't home during the day. we just keep dong the best that we can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top