114 PMPS, 118 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd like to do a happy dance right now. dancing_cat I'm really hoping that changing George's diet has done the trick. I am not home long enough today to a full curve, but I'll try to check her numbers when I get home from rehearsal, before feeding her mid day meal and then after.

My question is this. I tell vets that my cats are sensitive and they smile and nod. And I tell them, no really, my cats never leave the house, never see strangers, and that one even had IBS when there was month long construction on our apt bldg roof. I know that when I take my boy to the vet his breathing looks worse than it was at home (panting, open mouth breathing). Could George's high numbers be based on the fact that a) she was on a dry diet and b) she freaked out something fierce at the vet and C) as DCIN suggested, she needs dental work? Last Sat she was 300 at the vet.
 
Great numbers, Tori!

From what I understand, it could be D) All of the above. *LOL*

Pumbaa also does not like the vet. He got so agitated at the vet 2-1/2 weeks ago he bit me, hard, on the thumb, necessitating an Urgent Care visit for me and antibiotics. My cats are also total indoor cats, but at least they do enjoy visitors. Some visitors, anyway. :)
 
Could George's high numbers be based on the fact that a) she was on a dry diet and b) she freaked out something fierce at the vet and C) as DCIN suggested, she needs dental work? Last Sat she was 300 at the vet.

Absolutely yes to a, b and c. They can smile about you thinking she's sensitive, which makes it sound like they are just humoring you. But all you need is a meter to prove it.

Today's numbers are awesome!

"sucre chat".... I LOVE it!

Carl
 
Voting on D) All of the above

I have one none diabetic here that absolutely HATES the vets and will test in near diabetic numbers there, however get him home and test him again and he is right back down into the 50s.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
The highest numbers Ruby has ever had were while she was at the vet for an all day curve. I had taken in some spreadsheets of the test results I had gotten at home and we agreed that day that I would do testing at home and send in reports every few weeks. She HATES the vet.

ETA - the other thing is that the high tests caused Dr. K to raise Ruby's dose and very soon after she hit a 46 on a human meter. No hypo symptoms, but we immediately lowered the dose back down.
 
So our pre meal mid day test (I know it is early evening...) test was 129. I'll test her again this evening after she has her dinner. Still no shots. :thumbup:
 
arozeboom said:
The highest numbers Ruby has ever had were while she was at the vet for an all day curve. I had taken in some spreadsheets of the test results I had gotten at home and we agreed that day that I would do testing at home and send in reports every few weeks. She HATES the vet.

I have been taking her brother to the cat only vet for that very reason, but he still puts on a show. If he didn't need fluid removed I would do it myself. At least now, I'll have enough paper work to show the vet that she is okay to get her teeth cleaned in a month or so.
 
I'll trade you meters! *LOL*

Sounds like you're doing everything right! Congratulations on the consistently good numbers!!!!!!
 
Pumbaa said:
I'll trade you meters! *LOL*

Sounds like you're doing everything right! Congratulations on the consistently good numbers!!!!!!

Just read your ss. Very entertaining! :) Crossing my fingers for you to have some more blues. :)

Not testing until later this evening. Both cats are sleeping in the bathroom which means they *think* it is hot out side - It's a beautiful 75.
 
Tori: Glad you found the ss entertaining! *LOL* It helps me to write down how Pumbaa is acting/reacting because I think that has a lot to do with his treatment.

We hit 103F today, going into triple digits for the first time this year. :( None of us, furry or not, like the heat. I keep the AC set at 82, normally, during the summer. The cats love sleeping on my glass dining room table, on the glass-topped end tables in the living room, in the bathroom sinks, and Pumbaa loves it on top of the chest freezer as the lid in nice and cool. Beck (the drooler), hangs out on the ceramic tiles, sometimes wrapped around a porcelain toilet in one of the bathrooms. As for me, I wear as little clothing as possible and keep a spray bottle of water handy to chill down when necessary. (The Phoenix area of Arizona is very low humidity this time of year, and adding moisture to the air and to my clothing really helps cool you down.)
 
Congratulations on the great numbers. and yes to A, B, and C. Diet definitely makes a difference, many cats have higher bg from stress whether at the vet or something else, and there have been cases of cats going OTJ after dental work.
 
:) We were at 108 this am. It is a relief to see that diet has made such a huge difference. Tyger is back at the vet getting fluid removed, so my focus is going to be on him now that George appears to be stable.

I'm hopeful that I'll be able to get George's teeth taken care of in June.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top