11/9 Rocket AMPS 221.4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
morning everyone!

well last night i tested +7 122.4
+11 210.6 AMPS 221.4

he did not eat much thru the night.....hopefully we will have good #s today...fingers crossed!!!
 
Morning guys! A nice bright yellow to start the day for you ... I hope you see lower numbers later on .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/9 Rocket PMPS 203.4-QUESTIONS-HELP

Recap AMPS 221.4
+3 160.2
+4.5 82.8
+6 88.2
PMPS 203.4 (ate 1/2 hr before shot as he has not been too interested in food today....enticing him with treats but no carbs :))
Can someone look at his SS and let me know if what i'm doing (testing wise) is ok? overall, how does it look for him?
Please bare in mind that when he was first dx in 2008 with diabetes we were here on LL a short time (he started insulin Oct 1/08 and his last day was Oct 27/08....your thoughts and guidance are much appreciated....please help me! I feel overwhelmed once again....with his CRF and other conditions taking up most of the time with meds and subq fluid regimen I feel lost with so much to do.....
 
hi Claudia

did you have a chance to see my post from yesterday's thread, with the chart? Rocket Monday

your testing is good, good catches on mid cycle numbers today.
those are important, but so is sleep (last nite's numbers) good info to have too, but if you need to sleep, you can always leave small snacks out for Rocket to nibble on..of course if numbers are low (under 50 or so), you'll want to monitor a bit.

the only observation I have is feeding before shots. Doing that, your preshot number can be influenced by food,.. you can always stall a shot, by holding food and re-testing within 15 to 30 minutes, and posting for feedback.

Take a look at these two links from here, and print them if you can. These reference notes will help you with low numbers:
Don't Panic. Or How To Handle Low Numbers
Dealing With Low Preshot Numbers
 
Re: 11/9 Rocket -more Questions

it becomes a balancing act with diabetes and CRF...his seizure meds are ever 12 hr at 6am/pm...which the phenobarbital makes him a little hungry when it kicks in and therefore eats roughly btwn 7 to 7:30...almost on the clock...but then the pheno makes him sleepy so he sleeps more than a regular kitty....so since he gets his amps and pmps at 5:30 am/pm....i have noticed that he eats shortly before....withholding food from an already hard to feed crf cat will be challenging....is that what i'm reading? how can i safely and properly manage both?

2 yrs ago...he wasn't that advanced in his CRF...so he wasn't that picky...but as time has gone by with his CRF he has become pickier....to the point that i waste lots of food (which are prepped with aluminum hydroxide)...

yes i read the sticky and i'm trying to digest it all....and yes the lack of sleep is getting to me too....i lost my job a while back so at least i can be home to monitor him but the strain of not being able to find one is stressful too...too much has happened to us here at home this year alone...and i thought things were getting somewhat better but now this.... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

your guidance will be much much appreciated....sorry if i'm rumbling...
 
Dont be sorry. Never be sorry for rambling, it helps to get all that out.
I'm sorry I cant offer help with the CRF issue, but would suggest if you like - to cross post or begin a new thread about those concerns in the health forum too.
Just check back often to view those replies.


But do try to get some rest ok? I've been where you are at now with the lack of sleep, no fun.
Take good care of yourself too.
:YMHUG:
 
Claudia, you are doing an AWESOME job w/a very, very full plate my dear. Diabetes and CRF that's alot to juggle and you are working incredible hard to help Rocket. Hang in there and please try to get some sleep. Taking care of yourself during this time is very important too. Lots of hugs for you.
 
Re: 11/9 Rocket -more Questions

Claudia & Rocket said:
it becomes a balancing act with diabetes and CRF...his seizure meds are ever 12 hr at 6am/pm...which the phenobarbital makes him a little hungry when it kicks in and therefore eats roughly btwn 7 to 7:30...almost on the clock...but then the pheno makes him sleepy so he sleeps more than a regular kitty....so since he gets his amps and pmps at 5:30 am/pm....i have noticed that he eats shortly before....withholding food from an already hard to feed crf cat will be challenging....is that what i'm reading? how can i safely and properly manage both?
claudia, if rocket usually eats between 7 and 7:30 would it make sense to change his shot time to 7am/7pm or 6:30am/6:30pm?
you're right about not wanting to withhold food from a CRF kitty. i wouldn't want to either.

(((hugs)))
 
Re: 11/9 Rocket -few questions

how can I switch times on the insulin when i already started at 5:30?
I've picked that time (same as back in 2008) for when/if i go back to work....as at 6 am he gets his subq and phenobarbital....that helps me thereafter get ready for work (when i had a job)....
If i were to change the time to let's say 6:30, how do i go about doing that?
If I were to change it now and then later find a job can i change the time again back to 5:30?
does the insulin still work if times are changed?

I guess i'm wishing he would go into remission....but we will cross that bridge when/if we have to....

taking a nap (i know it's early evening) but will post later...will try to test at +5

btw...he eats in the wee hrs roughly at 2 am and sometimes shortly before 4 am (i'm a light sleeper so i hear EVERYTHING)...so since i'm doing AMPS at 5:30...am i getting false numbers?

soooo many questions...but i do appreciate your help....
 
Re: 11/9 Rocket -few questions

the *ideal* way to change shot times is to do it gradually in increments of 15 minutes at a time. however, we're talking about a kitty with other health issues going on and a time change of only one hour. if it were me, i would simply shoot the next shot at 6:30. it means that one shot would be one hour late (+13). no big deal! btw, wcf and meowzi clued me into the fact that kitties will often eat after receiving sub-q fluids. she's right. when i give fluids, i try to give them right before shot time.

when you get a job we'll deal with changing the shot time back, k?

rocket's AMPS *could* be reflecting a little bit of a food spike. if you change the shot time you won't have to worry about it any more. :-D
hope you have a nice nap!
 
Re: 11/9 Rocket PMPS 203.4 +3.5 72-one last ?

recap of his day
AMPS221.4
+3 160.2
+4.5 82.8
+6 88.2
PMPS 203.4
+3.5 72....................he headed straight to his bowl of food soon after testing here....ate the whole thing! do i test still tonight or stop here until AMPS? I will change his shot time to 6:30 per Jill's suggestions.....

thoughts on the testing?
 
Re: 11/9 Rocket PMPS 203.4 +5 99

off to bed i go....and start all over again tomorrow...
will try to do +10 or +11....fingers crossed that the change in shot time will go smoothly and that subq fluids will be ok with him....
thank you all for your help...much much appreciated...

will report again tomorrow....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top