11/9 Olive AMPS 123, 142+2, 132+3, 96+6, 99+9, Going back to .06 for now

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-8-olive-pmps-116-100-2-96-3-85-6.238277/

Miss Olive ventured into the green through the night and although I ignored the time she went into the green the cycle before since 87 was closer to 90, I decided since she went to 85 this time that I'd abide by the reduction rule. I managed to see the .03 on the caliper today when I was trying to make the .06 skinnier, so I held at the .03 until the PM shot where I'm now supposed to give the "drop" now, right? Where I hold in the plunger and release and whatever insulin gets into the syringe is what I'm supposed to give her, correct? Am I doing all this right?
 
I don't have an answer for you but it's so nice to see how far Olive has come!

Do you know how to edit your title and pick the ? from the drop-down on the left? It helps people scanning the board to see you have a question (in addition to putting it in your title like you did :)) Once you have your question answered, you can remove the ?.

Hope Cindy is feeling okay today too :cat: Have a great day, Robyn!
 
I'm not sure what 0.3 is on the calipers, but I figure it's close to 0.1 units. The next step down from 0.1 is a drop dose. I hope Olive slides back down and surfs on this dose.
Where I hold in the plunger and release and whatever insulin gets into the syringe is what I'm supposed to give her, correct? Am I doing all this right?
That is how you measure the drop dose.
 
I don't have an answer for you but it's so nice to see how far Olive has come!

Do you know how to edit your title and pick the ? from the drop-down on the left? It helps people scanning the board to see you have a question (in addition to putting it in your title like you did :)) Once you have your question answered, you can remove the ?.

Hope Cindy is feeling okay today too :cat: Have a great day, Robyn!
Yeah, I just didn't want to tie up the threads with my question if someone else had a question more important. But I added the question mark now. I'm thinking that Olive needs to stay at the .06 for a little while more even though she dropped below the 90 only because it's still so close to the 90 mark. But I shall see what feedback I get today on it.
Cindy is acting better today but still not wanting to eat much so I've been coaxing her along.
 
I'm thinking that Olive needs to stay at the .06 for a little while more
I'm no expert of course but you could always think about TR again. Just a thought in case it's more doable with other life things now and now that Olive is a little (lot) less bouncy.

And I've also seen people on the board ask caregivers to see how many drops are in their dose - so you could do that - try water or juice and draw up the 0.06 and see just what that includes.

Hope Cindy eats - you're such loving cat mama :cat::cat:
 
Ahhh, thank you! I couldn't even attempt TR until next month as I'm coming and going too much through to the end of November. But it's something I want to learn about as I know NOTHING about that protocol at this time.
try water or juice and draw up the 0.06 and see just what that includes.
Will definitely try that. Good idea.
 
I'm thinking that Olive needs to stay at the .06 for a little while more even though she dropped below the 90 only because it's still so close to the 90 mark. But I shall see what feedback I get today on it.
I agree, she's seen yellows recently. On this tiny a dose, you do want to see mostly upper green and some blues. Another option for you if you want to continue following SLGS, is to decide to change what the reduction point is for you and Olive. Carla uses SLGS and has enough data on Furball to know that she needs a lower reduction point for that reduction to hold. Given how much you test, I think it would be safe to lower that reduction value a bit to what works for Olive.
 
Okay, I'll go back to the .06 at the PM cycle as well as lower the reduction value a bit. I guess deciding what number that is will be trial and error. I'd like to see her hit around 75 before I think about reducing again. ECID, but for now that will be my reduction point unless anyone else thinks another value would be a better choice at this point.
 
Back
Top