11/9 Mugsy Wonky Numbers

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

Good Afternoon LL,
First let me say I am NOT looking for advice. If you have checked Mugs' SS you can see that Lantus is not working as advertised. His numbers are going up not down and are all over the place at times.
Second: I got the new lancets today and ONE painful poke went much better than A DOZEN painful pokes. The 3/10 syringes should be easier for me, too. He and I are both happier. :-D

Jill - I fixed the link - try it again.

Have a good day all.
 
Some of the numbers you've gotten before were probably waaay elevated due to epinephrine (adrenalin), released when a cat is fighting / trying to escape / howling / biting / scratching etc.

That causes the BG to absolutely skyrocket in a very very short time (mere seconds)..

...if some of the lower numbers that you have seen, were obtained when Mugsy was a bit less un-cooperative, then that would tend to confirm this??? And those numbers would be far more significant when it comes to the effect of the Lantus and the dosing.

(That was one of the not-so-obvious reasons that it's so important to try and keep everything calm as possible, when you are testing.)
 
Perry,
I already know your opinion of how I treat my cat. His is not being hurt. The restraint has been necessary due to his wanting to be as difficult as possible. I know I don't like someone sticking me with needles all the time either - they hurt. Even more to the point, 5-8-10-12 pokes just to get that drop is worse. I am more upset by it than he is. I am working through this wonky problem and we will work it out. I know you mean well but, you have a mighty sharp pen.
 
Sally and Mugsy said:
Good Afternoon LL,
First let me say I am NOT looking for advice. If you have checked Mugs' SS you can see that Lantus is not working as advertised. His numbers are going up not down and are all over the place at times.
Second: I got the new lancets today and ONE painful poke went much better than A DOZEN painful pokes. The 3/10 syringes should be easier for me, too. He and I are both happier. :-D

Jill - I fixed the link - try it again.

Have a good day all.
Sally, please don't take this the wrong way, because it's not intended to be rude or anything of the sort. You say you are not looking for advice, but you are posting saying that Lantus is not working as advertised. Are you looking for feedback about the wonky numbers?
 
Sally - My name is Mike. I'm Marjories husband and no expert on Lantus. You say you don't want advice so I won't offer any. I will make a statement though. I think the reason Lantus isn't working as advertised for you is because you aren't using it as advertised. I've checked your spreadsheet as you asked and I see skipped shots and random dose changes. As I said I'm no expert, but I know this drug has to be used systematically in accordance with the protocol to be effective. It seems to be working fine for lots of people on this forum, and it has been a lifesaver for us and our Gracie. Don't want to hurt your feelings, but if you would listen more and resist less, it might work for you too. Sorry, that sounded like advice.
 
Mike, no resentment here. I am tired of explaining the same things over and over so, I won't. Thanks for your concern. I am trying to work through ALL the angles of this problem - trust me.
 
Sally and Mugsy said:
Perry,
I already know your opinion of how I treat my cat. His is not being hurt. The restraint has been necessary due to his wanting to be as difficult as possible. I know I don't like someone sticking me with needles all the time either - they hurt. Even more to the point, 5-8-10-12 pokes just to get that drop is worse. I am more upset by it than he is. I am working through this wonky problem and we will work it out. I know you mean well but, you have a mighty sharp pen.

But it isn't my opinion, Sally! I am only going by what you have described yourself. In the beginning I had some of those too and I got very high readings, some went off the scale and gave 'Error'. If you HAVE had sessions that went better than others AND for those sessions, you got lower numbers then that would be no surprise.

That means some of your numbers really COULD have been very inaccurate - and were probably much lower than you think, as a result. I'm not being sharp - I'm just being factual. If Mugsy's true BG really was a lot lower than those 600s you saw on the meter, then that could be cause for concern.

Honestly I have nothing but concern for you and Mugsy. Why would I even reply otherwise, I have nothing whatever to gain from this!
 
Sally and Mugsy said:
Good Afternoon LL,
First let me say I am NOT looking for advice. If you have checked Mugs' SS you can see that Lantus is not working as advertised. His numbers are going up not down and are all over the place at times.
Second: I got the new lancets today and ONE painful poke went much better than A DOZEN painful pokes. The 3/10 syringes should be easier for me, too. He and I are both happier. :-D

Jill - I fixed the link - try it again.

Have a good day all.

since you're not looking for advice i won't offer any, but i do wish you a good day, too!
happy to hear the poking is going better for both of you.

if or when you do want any advice or help figuring things out... you know where to find us. :-D

i tried the link again: Queensland Research Study Report.
it's still not working for me. :(
 
ohhhh Sally,

Im a such a newbie here, but can I be the first to say Im so thankful for these wonderfull people. Esmeralda is my baby for 11years now, she was diagnosed aprox 2mos ago. Sally, can I just say, I thought as others did, I was going to have to do the unmentionable. She didnt jump, she took 2 steps and colapse, Essi has lost 5lbs in 3mos., I have been just beside byself w/her vet care here in Calif..... They want her numbers between 200-400, and never a mention of "Just Wet Food". In the past week "this board (Laurie, Jill, Marjorie, and others) have been up late, supportive, and so loving when I needed it. Im not anything special except for finding these wonderfull group of very fine careing people. Sally, last week, I was in tears over having to test Essi every 15min (yes drinking was involved); omg her poor ears, there were so red/pink on the inside, and my husband is nearby asking WTHELL (and Im putting is nicely) are you doing to Essi? Its very difficult to have a kitty kitty/furbabie that is difficult, but YOU ARE THE PARENT. Salley, I work full time/own my own business, and have two boys to raise. Its not easy, but seeing Esmeralda "just a week" after this boards advise has been truely remarkable.

Sally, not once has the vet/dr ever called to see how Essi is doing, when I have drove to their office in tears, when she is over 500+, and losing her bladder. There is not a day that goes by, someone doesnt encourage me, support me, or ask how Essi is doing from this board.

I hope this helps coming from a "NEWBIE"....
Take Care

okay ps. There is nothing more "heart-breaking" than watching your furbaby struggle w/walking/loosing their hind legs/loosing their bladder. We all want whats best for our furbabies. This place wants to help, their not asking for anything in return Sally; how often do you come across anything like this? REALLY? Especially in todays "World". Coming from California, as Im sure its every where, YOU JUST DONT FIND THIS. These are very pasionate people like you and I about our furbabies. Give them a chance Sally.
 
Hi Sally.

I couldn't get the link to the Queensland material to open, either.

Just a suggestion that may help you to have some context for Mugsy's numbers. If you open Gabby's SS and look at Gabby's data from 11/2/2009, her AMPS was 428. By AM +4, her BG was 47 and she was back at 400 by PMPS. This is a bounce. It is the body's way of protecting itself from what it perceives to be dangerously low BG levels. (The levels aren't necessarily dangerous. Our kitties just aren't used to being in normal BG ranges.) It happens when the lower numbers cause the liver to respond by dumping a form of stored glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the bloodstream. Numbers spike and it can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. It looks like this is what Mugsy is experiencing.
 
Sally, you need to relax. I know its hard when you are stressed out about your kitty.

Your spreadsheet shows yellow numbers, which are better.
After you change a dose, you have to wait a few days to see how your kitty does.
Today so far looks better, maybe tomorrow will even be better.
 
Hi Sally,

I just got through reading quite a few of your posts. You might want to send PMs to Kate & Lucky and Susie & Moochie. They had/have two of the absolute most difficult cats on the entire board and they might be able to offer some helpful suggestions for testing. Kate just had a baby so it might take her a little while to respond.

Hang in there.
 
Hi Sally. No advice here, just wanted to say I'm glad the new lancets are helping. I had to start with 26g lancets until Muffin's ears learned to bleed, but she did'nt seem to mind. Glad both of you are happier and good luck to you both.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top