11/9 Mickey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
I think I screwed up. Please bare with me.

Sheila had a very good point on 10-14
"So, why did you decide to increase the dose? He had a nice run of steady PSs on 1.5u."

Now I am at 2 units and think I need to go back down to 1.5 and here is my reasoning.
on 7/15 to 7/26 on 1.5 he was in the 100's
10/15 upped to 1.75 and for some unknown reason for 4 cycles gave him 2 units and then reduced back to 1.75 which brings us here.
He had a good dose at 3.25 and at 1.50 at some points..
Today amps was 269 and pmps was 260. So he must have been down during the day. I have to try to stay awake tonight or set alarm for some +#'s
Any thoughts?
Thank you!
 
Peggy, I think I asked that because you came home and raised him without any nadir checks - just wondered what caused the decision.

It does look like he does better on 1 to 1.5u - I'm looking at that 10 days or so when he broke through and got fabulous numbers on around 1.5u or a little less. There wasn't a try of 1.25u so maybe that could be considered. BUT, he may need a break through dose again - I hope not as much as before!

You might just try 1.5u and see if this numbers approve.

How's he doing otherwise?
 
He is pooping everywhere, I am stepping in it daily cuz he does it in different places each time. Besides that he seems the same as usual, still eating drinkin alot and leaving great big pees in box.
Sheila, I just feel like a screw up..I can't get the dose right here.
I am very frustrated I have absolutely no help from my vet that stated If I didn't buy an animal glucometer from them "i am pissing in the wind'' and would give me no advise on dosage"
Now today if I could have gotten + numbers I would have had better information...the job has had me working very odd crazy overtime hours due to a very long 9 month pregnancy of another co-worker.....for the last 5 months, money good, not Mickey. So do you think tomorrow I should try 1.5 and see what I get? I will check the board before I shoot in the morning...
 
I would try 1.5u, but not if he is really high. I like to "shoot down" the high bounce (if it is a bounce) and reduce at the next PS because that is usually lower. You don't want to loose too much momentum by starting with a number the dose can't handle.

Don't feel like a screw up. I think we all go through periods where the numbers make no sense and/or everything we try is "wrong". I am not doing that great with Jeddie now - haven't for several months. I should test more, but he really doesn't like it - he tolerates it if he is feeling "nice". He is not as easy as Beau was. We went through several weeks where he was drinking a ton and peeing a lot, that has stopped now that I raised his dose. His SS isn't up to date..... I am such a fraud for giving advice and not having my own house in order :roll:

As for Mickey's pooping, have you considered that he has a food allergy? Jeddie had really bad diarrhea from about Aug to early Oct. and it had been happening on and off for a while before that. I think it made him start to pee outside the box again. I talked to the vet and she thought it was food related or catnip related. I let him eat catnip leaves, which apparently can make some cats vomit and/or have diarrhea. So I stopped a food I was suspicious of and the catnip and his stool went back to normal. I reintroduced catnip and he has not had troubles so it was the food. I looked at the ingredients and it seems like it was dried egg product, which is in a bunch of different high quality foods - like all the Holistic flavors and Evo Cat and Kitten, but not the 95% ones. Luckily it isn't in Wellness or Sophisticat.

That's crazy that the vet is insisting on an "animal" meter. What the h*ll does he think a human is? Humans are animals! And the "animal" meter uses the same exact strips that go to a "human" meter by the same company. No meter gives a 100% accurate numbers. They all read close enough to monitor BGs and see trends in numbers (raising, lowering, swinging, etc.). Any chance you can find a new vet? I can't tolerate a person that has that sort of attitude - of not working with me and acting like they have some sort of authority over me, but I also have many vets to choose from near me and I don't have to worry anyway because my vet is very reasonable and respects my knowledge, intelligence and experience with FD.

Will you have to keep the long hours while the mother is on maternity leave too? Yeah, that kind of money is great, but it leaves you exhausted and having no life and things can get "neglected". I remember having a job like that - two jobs at the same time, actually, because they made me interim manager, but I still had to do my other job at the same time. It was the most stressful time of my life. I don't think I could have managed Beau as an FD on insulin at the same time. I got him right before that job and he didn't start having all the health issues until after I told my boss I could not keep going without causing me health problems. It was supposed to be 3 months and I "quit" after 18 months.

Take care of yourself, don't be hard on yourself, and ask people here for help with Mickey. We probably have more experience with FD and lev dosing than your vet anyway and we won't dismiss your efforts out of hand like that.
 
Peggy, I agree with Sheila!!!! Don't feel like a screw up! You are doing an awesome job taking care of Mickey. This is the hardest thing ever, trying to find the right dose. Is it too high, too low, do I hold longer, etc. A difference of one drop can make a difference. How awful that your vet is making you feel like that too...support and advice is much better here.
It's hard not being able to get tests in between shot times. I have been very lucky that my teenage kids were able to help me so much with that. I think I owe them a few gift cards for all their help. :-)

Keep your chin up and know that you are doing the absolute best for Mickey...this is not an easy job for sure!!! :YMHUG:
 
Amps 337-So I didn't reduce the dose today.

Thanks Shiela...that was a good pep talk~ :mrgreen:

I have tried the food elimination thing in case it was allergies. This old vet I used to go to gave him some medicine like keopectline (like pepto for cats) my current vet said they never heard of it. But I won't call this old vet because I cannot stand him.
And we really don't do catnip much at all- And not so much on the treats either- Mickey gets freeze dried chicken and the others get temptations.
I did buy 3 cases of Evo 13.5 oz cans- NO one likes it!! Trying to get away from FF and over to something a bit better.

As for the job/preggo thing- Before I took my vacation from Sept 23-Oct 24. I was working just about everyday this summer without a day off so when I was ready to go out, I was totally sick- bronchitis, shingles and still trying to get over pluresy. Nebulizer and all.
But got good news last night- she will be back Monday!!

I am sorry your Jeddie isn't doing so hot with the numbers. And your not a "fraud" Lol!
Any advise I get is greatly appreciated.

It is only one vet of 3 in the place I go to. So I just don't choose that one. Or wait until the next day until the one I want is available. There isn't much of a choice around here. I especially like the one there though. He really works with me. I guess he takes pitty on me because I have too many cats. Like last November 9 cats in the house had URI's - So I scooped up the sickest and had a breakdown in the office- he didn't charge me for the visit and gave me enough meds for everyone. :smile:
 
Oh, good, I am glad that you have a vet there that you like and works with you. It is the same for me - 3 vets in the practice and only one that I would choose to go to. I liked one of the others, but she went off on my once when I wanted a script renewal for Beau (long story). And the other guy is like the first one you described. He tried to sell me the "animal" meter too - after he told me that ear testing would make Beau "one pissed off cat" and that he could teach me to draw blood from Beau's femoral vein (something that it takes an experienced vet and a tech holding the cat to do in their office. Last time I checked I was just one person). It scared me from even trying testing for 6 months.

Hope work settles down (back to "normal") and you can get some rest!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top