? 11/9 Killa, switching to Relion from AT, does this seem right?

Status
Not open for further replies.

willow & killa

Member Since 2011
I just purchased a Relion Micro and these are the comparison numbers i just got. They are so different!
AMPS: 128 AT
+1 AlphaTrak 120, Relion 70
+5 AlphaTrak 101, Relion 55
 
You can’t compare meters like that. It just doesn’t work. Just start using the Relion and follow the protocol. It was written using human meters. Save the AT as a backup should you get a low number and want to do a recheck if you want.

I figured the numbers can't be compared but surprised they were so different. it also made me a little nervous that his last number was 55, when i wouldn't have been concerned that AT was at 101.
 
The AT2 meter will always register from 50 to 100+ points higher than the Relion meter because it is specifically designed to measure blood glucose in an animal and the Relion, etc. is for people. I encourage you to just choose one and stick with it or you will drive yourself crazy.
 
It's pretty normal, you can check out Asia's SS, I started with the AT and have used the AT a few times since switching and posted the numbers next to the human meters for comparison. If nothing else, I have a little peace of mind when Asia has a low number that it's going to be higher on the AT so I don't freak out as much. :p
 
Also, you can shoot Marje a dm and tell her you switched meters, she can tweak your SS and then you won't see those alarming lime greens until the number is below 50.
 
Theoretically, as far as I know (I've read a lot about it) the human meter will give you - for low BG numbers - around 18 points less than the AT2. The human meters also have a +/-20% accuracy, the AT2 are more accurate (so if you compare them you'll probably be in a range of 15-22 points difference for low BG numbers).
As the BG numbers get higher will be hard to compare the 2 meters - but that's less important as high is high regardless of which type of meter you use.
 
Last edited:
I figured the numbers can't be compared but surprised they were so different. it also made me a little nervous that his last number was 55, when i wouldn't have been concerned that AT was at 101.
I was like you when switched human meter but as long as you get green numbers on human meter be sure it is withen the normal range on AT, 120 and 128 is totally normal up to 150 on AT. Do like me, test with AT only if you get high blue above 114 and very low like 50 on human meter just to see what is real numbers, otherwise do not bother your mind if you in green range on human meter
 
Another nice cycle for Killa, like how she's surfing the 50's, but it is hard on the beans nerves.

Try not to make yourself crazy with the comparisons. Remember the protocols were written by folk using human meters, so no need to worry about those numbers though I can appreciate it may take a while to get used this the new ranges.

I've never compared AT readings myself, but if you look at Marje's profile and take a look at Gracie's SS she did some extensive side by side testing hoping to find a sensible conversion, and none could be found.
 
Starting the same process of replacing AT2 with human meter...my readings are close to yours so all good: 124 AT2= 77 FL(Freestyle Lite). Lower than expected on human meter.....we may have forced Toro on uncharted territories in the past month. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top