11/9 EDDIE AMPS 292 +2 340 +3 333 + 7 364 +9 401 PMPS 432 +2 421

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,

we continue to be in the higher AMPS numbers and last night's PMPS was 335. Have we reached the cycle of increase? Cycle is mentioned frequently and I'm learning: has Eddie now gone through 4 cycles of 9u, this morning being the 4th?

Yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...157-7-140-10-265-pmps-335-2-160-5-198.255215/

@Wendy&Neko I got your message to do a PMPS +4 and got it in at 4:45 am. It was 198 so I didn't think I needed to do any more since it was rising. Is that the right thing to do?

Thank you.
 
We hold doses where we have seen green for 10 cycles.

It was OK to go to bed if his numbers are rising.

Fast drops, like he saw last night, can also cause bounces.
 
We hold doses where we have seen green for 10 cycles.

It was OK to go to bed if his numbers are rising.

Fast drops, like he saw last night, can also cause bounces.

Can I just say thank for your patience. I knew that the cycles were important. I just could not recall how many! I went back through the tsunami of postings because I seemed to recall someone saying 4 cycles, which I take to mean 4 days with the same dose, which is what we now have.

Now, I will, along with the other sayings and facts I have encountered here, mark Green-for-10 cycle (that is, unless there's a big drop and the earned reduction). I don't know how you keep all these moving parts in your mind but I'm grateful you do.
 
Can I just say thank for your patience. I knew that the cycles were important. I just could not recall how many! I went back through the tsunami of postings because I seemed to recall someone saying 4 cycles, which I take to mean 4 days with the same dose, which is what we now have.

Now, I will, along with the other sayings and facts I have encountered here, mark Green-for-10 cycle (that is, unless there's a big drop and the earned reduction). I don't know how you keep all these moving parts in your mind but I'm grateful you do.
You'll follow the TR guidance as written in the sticky for increases. It's just the reductions that change due to SRT; you have your reduction point, but how much to reduce is more of an art. Additionally, it may be wise to reduce if he's seeing extended time in greens/flirting with the reduction point.
 
You'll follow the TR guidance as written in the sticky for increases. It's just the reductions that change due to SRT; you have your reduction point, but how much to reduce is more of an art. Additionally, it may be wise to reduce if he's seeing extended time in greens/flirting with the reduction point.

More of an art: I'm still in the paint-by-number league, I'm afraid.

But now at +2 he's at 340. Why would he go higher???
 
Wendy mentioned it - the big drops can also cause bounces, not just low numbers. So that very big drop last night likely did it; are you feeding anything around +1?
 
Wendy mentioned it - the big drops can also cause bounces, not just low numbers. So that very big drop last night likely did it; are you feeding anything around +1?

Just did a +3 333

I'm actually feeding 4x daily. Two actual meals. Two "snacks". At AMPS, he gets breakfast and insulin (when he's nearly at the end of his breakfast. In other words, nearly at the same time, which is what I've been told to do by the vet). Likewise at PMPS. He gets the larger meal and insulin. So at +1 there's no food. He gets a snack after I have done a +3 or a +4 during the day. At night (PMPS), he gets his insulin and no snack overnight (3 other cats, one of them an acrokitty [in remisison] to contend with so nowhere to feed him unless I do it when I take a test but he's been low so no food.

I hope this makes sense.
 
Last edited:
It does!

It just may help to make the PS meals a little smaller, and give a small snack (tbsp or so) at +1. It may help slow those dives enough to not bounce, or go too low.
 
Right now I'm sitting with the Sticky for Dosing Methods and I'm trying to work my way into asking a good question.

The sticky says an increase might be warranted if kitty is "experiencing high flat curves" but Eddie is all over the map (or at least that's how it looks). He's now in his 4th cycle of 9U with lots of blue and Wendy says "We hold doses where we have seen green for 10 cycles." Does this mean just a random appearance of green, which he had on November 4th and one appearance on the 7th. In other words, we are holding the dose (for 10 cycles) just because green has made an appearance?

If this is the case, then because one green made an appearance on the 7th, is the dose to be held until November 13th, which would be 10 cycles past November 4th?

@Wendy&Neko and @FrostD
 
Correct. The cycle count starts the cycle you see green, so that 99 is cycle 1. Some may argue 99 is basically 100 so sooner increase - but Eddie is post SRT and a bit unpredictable. I'm not sure he's settled into this dose just yet.

That said, Eddie is not having high flat curves - he's swinging down quite a bit, from pink to blue.
 
It does!

It just may help to make the PS meals a little smaller, and give a small snack (tbsp or so) at +1. It may help slow those dives enough to not bounce, or go too low.
Ok, just to clarify: the PS meals are actually meals [as in two meals/day, supplemented by snacks; is it ok to be giving his insulin as he takes his last bite of a meal?

I had already changed his eating schedule (from another conversation here] to give his two big meals 12 hours apart [that would be 8:00 am and 8:00 pm). His snacks are then at 11:30 am (I test before the snack) and at around 5:00 pm.
 
Ok, just to clarify: the PS meals are actually meals [as in two meals/day, supplemented by snacks; is it ok to be giving his insulin as he takes his last bite of a meal?

I had already changed his eating schedule (from another conversation here] to give his two big meals 12 hours apart [that would be 8:00 am and 8:00 pm). His snacks are then at 11:30 am (I test before the snack) and at around 5:00 pm.
Yes, test-feed-shoot can all be done nearly the same time with Lantus.

I do understand the meals, I think I had made the suggestion lol but looking at what he's doing recently, I'd try a small snack at +1. Nothing big, just hopefully slow him down to prevent some dives and bounces.
 
Correct. The cycle count starts the cycle you see green, so that 99 is cycle 1. Some may argue 99 is basically 100 so sooner increase - but Eddie is post SRT and a bit unpredictable. I'm not sure he's settled into this dose just yet.

That said, Eddie is not having high flat curves - he's swinging down quite a bit, from pink to blue.

Ok, starting to sink in. Thank you.
 
Yes, test-feed-shoot can all be done nearly the same time with Lantus.

I do understand the meals, I think I had made the suggestion lol but looking at what he's doing recently, I'd try a small snack at +1. Nothing big, just hopefully slow him down to prevent some dives and bounces.

Ok, a small snack @ +1. Eddie will not object. Thank you!
 
The cycle count starts the cycle you see green, so that 99 is cycle 1.
Not true, the cycle count starts when you first started the dose. Today is cycle 8.

High flat cycles = solid pink and above. That is not Eddie.
 
Not true, the cycle count starts when you first started the dose. Today is cycle 8.

High flat cycles = solid pink and above. That is not Eddie.
Oh boy I've now seen 3 different versions of this in the last few days. Some have said the cycle counts after the cycles you see green, some said it starts the cycle you see green.
 
You said partial fur shot last last night, this would be the result of it. Nothing to do but wait for depot to rebuild.
 
Oh boy I've now seen 3 different versions of this in the last few days. Some have said the cycle counts after the cycles you see green, some said it starts the cycle you see green.
My understanding is that this (10 cycles from first green on the dose) applies when a cat is going up the dosing scale.
 
Results of fur shots can be seen in later cycles. Sleep well tonight, tomorrow is another day. I am in ER with my father and not on more tonight.
 
Results of fur shots can be seen in later cycles. Sleep well tonight, tomorrow is another day. I am in ER with my father and not on more tonight.

Oh, gosh, I hope your father is ok. All good thoughts for the best possible outcome. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
 
We are at PMPS and he's 432, the highest he's been all day. I know @Wendy&Neko says to hold at 9u but I'm freaking out. Is this really just bouncing???
I know it feels horrid to see higher numbers after getting used to lower numbers. He saw green just a couple of days back after a BCS.

Let's see where he lands after the bounce clears and then you can take a call about dosing.
 
I know it feels horrid to see higher numbers after getting used to lower numbers. He saw green just a couple of days back after a BCS.

Let's see where he lands after the bounce clears and then you can take a call about dosing.

Thank you! The word "horrid" captures perfectly what I'm feeling. I'm holding the dose even though I'm quite challenged. I'd make a terrible poker player.
 
Thank you! The word "horrid" captures perfectly what I'm feeling. I'm holding the dose even though I'm quite challenged. I'd make a terrible poker player.
They're either too high or too low. They never oblige. :rolleyes:

I'm curious to see how he does tonight.
 
Roger that. Thank you…
Can you take out the PLEASE HELP from the title? Thanks :-)

I might lose network soon - am on the road. If you get a biggish drop at +2, feed LC and again at +3. Food every hour or two will prevent dives and subsequent bounces - especially if it is a bounce breaking cycle.
 
Can you take out the PLEASE HELP from the title? Thanks :)

I might lose network soon - am on the road. If you get a biggish drop at +2, feed LC and again at +3. Food every hour or two will prevent dives and subsequent bounces - especially if it is a bounce breaking cycle.

Thank you, again! Done. Safe drive.
 
Can you take out the PLEASE HELP from the title? Thanks :)

I might lose network soon - am on the road. If you get a biggish drop at +2, feed LC and again at +3. Food every hour or two will prevent dives and subsequent bounces - especially if it is a bounce breaking cycle.

You may not get this but I gave a small amount of food @ +1, then did a test @ +2 and got 421, so it's still so high. I hope he's ok. I'll be testing again @ +4.
 
Back
Top