11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 +3 211 +4 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelissaEbby

Active Member
Yesterday

:oops: :oops: :oops: I hate to admit this, but I think I may have just messed up. I am already completely kicking myself, and I'm usually so careful so please be gentle.

Gave POSSIBLY 2 units by mistake.

It's sort of confusing how this happened, but basically I must have left an empty syringe on the dresser from this morning. I went to test at PMPS and she was still at 400 so I decided I was going to shoot through her bounce and went downstairs to change the dose from .75 to 1 unit. Went back upstairs and set the syringe on the dresser...gave the shot. Then noticed a full syringe next to the one I had just shot....so I'm thinking oh, I gave her the empty shot. So without much thinking I gave her the full one. Then, it hits me that I could have accidentally filled the empty syringe from this morning....making 2 full syringes upstairs.

Ok, I'm so stupid. I feel horrible. I should have treated it like a fur shot, but in the moment I thought for sure I gave her the empty one because how would there be a full one there. AND I also shouldn't ever leave an empty one just sitting around.

Good news is she is at 400 so there is some room. What should I do? Should I HC right now just in case? :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 Help?? Possible double dose

First, HUGS! Don't HC yet...

Second, got lots of test strips?

Find info for nearest ER vet if needed - better now than later...

Good stock of Karo/gravy/etc...

Put on the coffee...

Another HUG,
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 Help?? Possible double dose

Thanks....I don't deserve the hugs but thank you.

I have plenty of test strips

ER info in Hypo kit with Karo and gravy

I'll start the coffee

Squeaky and KT said:
Another HUG,
Thanks :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 Help?? Possible double dose

Yikes! Paws crossed you didn't double dose. Just for future reference, we only shoot through the bounce for one cycle, so tonight Ebby should have gotten .75U. But that's for next time.

First thing, deep breath. Next, just in case, do you have an open vet or ER vet near you? You may not need it, but if you do, it's a good thing to have in your back pocket as they can put her on a glucose drip to manage this.

As Lyresa says, make sure you have plenty of strips. You should know by onset what is happening with Ebby. Let's see how the night shapes up before figuring out if she got a double dose and if you need to react to it.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 Help?? Possible double dose

Ok, I'll get a +1 in 15 minutes. ER vet is about 15 minutes away.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 Help?? Possible double dose

Melissa

Just take a deep breath and get a +2 test, ok? This could be a nonevent so let's take it a step at a time.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 Help?? Possible double dose

Ditto what Marje said.

Just in case, do you have HC and strips stockpiled in case they're needed?
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 Help?? Possible double dose

Thanks everyone.
I have more than enough strips, 3 cans of FF HC, and Karo.

+1 is 355
I know the +1 doesn't tell us much especially in these high numbers, but still wanted to get one.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 Help?? Possible double dose

(((((Melissa))))) You do too deserve a hug! And bunches of hugs! This is hard stuff because we care about our kitties so much. Ebby will be fine because you are there to monitor and take action if need be.
Liz
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 Help?? Possible double dose

anyone could have done it. don't beat yourself up - we take care of our furbabies when we are tired and distracted, and these things can happen.

you're prepared as much as you can be. now you wait and test. you'll have time to get to the ER vet if you need to go.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

i just wanted to hug you more than Lyresa did. :lol:
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 Help?? Possible double dose

aww, you guys... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Thank you.

Although I won't completely forgive myself, I am tired and sick, so my mind must not have been completely focused. This is a good lesson though...easy to get a little too comfortable and make stupid mistakes.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i just wanted to hug you more than Lyresa did.
:lol: :lol: I'll take them all!
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 Possible double dose

I really appreciate the help and hugs.

+2 is 281

My thoughts are that's not bad, but still a substantial drop. I'm going to feed her usual low carb on +2 and probably go ahead and get a +3.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 Possible double dose

i wouldn't stop testing her hourly until you see the nadir. sorry for the bad news, but . . . you want to make sure she's bottomed out and on her way back up tonight.

you might want to put "1.0-2.0u" in the pm dose cell, or write a note in the notes column.

it really could happen to anyone. there's no doubt that people who follow TR are the most dedicated folks ever to their cats. we know how much you love her.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 Possible double dose

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i wouldn't stop testing her hourly until you see the nadir. sorry for the bad news, but . . . you want to make sure she's bottomed out and on her way back up tonight.
Ok, will do. I'm feeling pretty good with the +2 and being able to steer this if I need. I really wish I knew for sure if I gave her 2 units or not. :roll:

Thanks for checking in on me, and for all of the support.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 Possible double dose

I've been up with people that gave their kitty a lot more extra insulin than that and also one that accidentally gave their civvie the 3u dose the diabetic cat was supposed to give. So we aren't just saying it happens to others...it really does.

Yes, that's a drop but she still has a long way to go. Hang in there and I think LC is a good idea for now.
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 Possible double dose

i don't remember who the story belonged to, but one of the long-time regulars gave 5u instead of 0.5u - i'm thinking it was her first shot, maybe, if i remember the story correctly.

do you want someone to stay up with you tonight, melissa? or do you feel comfy handling this?
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 Possible double dose

+3 211

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i don't remember who the story belonged to, but one of the long-time regulars gave 5u instead of 0.5u - i'm thinking it was her first shot, maybe, if i remember the story correctly.
Oh my! And to have it be her first shot would be terrifying.

Marje and Gracie said:
I've been up with people that gave their kitty a lot more extra insulin than that and also one that accidentally gave their civvie the 3u dose the diabetic cat was supposed to give
Double Oh my! I hope the civvie was ok.

I think I will be fine to handle this. We're still in the 200's and I will just keep testing. I'm just glad we're not in the greens right now....I was worried about that. I really appreciate you guys staying up with me this far. I'll be just fine from her on....Thank you so much! And thanks for making me feel better about the mistake. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 +3 211 Possible double

Yes...they were all fine...nonevents :-D

Good that she slowed down. Since you have it under control, I'm going to hit the sack :-D I bet you just giver her 1u :-D :-D

Hope you get some rest, Melissa! Night :-D
 
Re: 11/9 Ebby PMPS 400 +1 355 +2 281 +3 211 Possible double

it's turning into a nice curve, nothing too dramatic and scary so far.

ok, i won't worry about staying up with you then. i think it's going to be fine, just based on what you've got so far. but still, i'd keep on til the nadir is past. :-D just to be certain! you could nap in between tests if you'll be sure to wake up! i always napped in the living room with the light on (because of its obnoxious factor) when i had to keep testing punkin.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Good that she slowed down. Since you have it under control, I'm going to hit the sack I bet you just giver her 1u
Thanks so much, Marje! It's kind of looking like it probably was the 1 unit dose. Thanks for staying up with me!

julie & punkin (ga) said:
you could nap in between tests if you'll be sure to wake up!
Thank you, Julie! Yep, I just took a little nap on the couch in between tests. Thanks for staying up with me!

And thank you Anne, Sienne, Wendy, and Lyresa for all the hugs. If I had been smart, I would have blamed this on the DH or something. :lol:
 
Whew! Good to see Ebby surfing there.

Poor DH's - they get blamed for everything. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Melissa,

sorry you had a scary night! You handled it well. If there was an extra dose, you might see the impact in the form of extended duration rather than low numbers. I think you probably did not give two shots, though. I did lots of dumb things with Jazzy (I was fighting an illness myself much of the time I had her), but luckily my mistakes usually came in the form of setting a full syringe on the counter and never putting it into the cat. :oops:

Just for the record, the cat that got 5u instead of 0.5u on her first shot was not a nonevent. It took a trip to the ER and 16 hours to get her up. She was hanging in the 20s and 30s even at the ER. She's fine now, but it was a horrible night. I'm not familiar with the civvie that got 3u, so I can't comment on that one. Often the overdoses do turn into nonevents, but you did the right thing by not being complacent.
 
So glad it turned out all good, Melissa! Things like that can happen to anyone, but it is so scary :YMHUG: And, I bet it will never happen again in Ebby's house!

Ebby was probably like, What up, mom? Chill! :lol: :lol:

Hope you were able to get some sleep and feel better~
 
the cat that got 5u instead of 0.5u on her first shot was not a nonevent.

I should clarify....this was not one I worked although I know who it was but I believe it occurred before we were on the board. It was also not one of the ones I was referring to as a "nonevent".

I was only referencing the two that I mentioned that I specifically helped as stated below:
I've been up with people that gave their kitty a lot more extra insulin than that and also one that accidentally gave their civvie the 3u dose the diabetic cat was supposed to get

And I also was just hoping that Ebby's, if she got extra, would be a nonevent. I agree that it is always better to be cautious when you don't know.

I'm glad it went well last night.
 
Wendy, Yeap, Ebby surfed it great. Thanks for checking in!

Libby, thanks for the visit. I am thinking it must have only been 1unit because her numbers are so flat...so that is good. I think we would have seen more of a dive if it was 2 units but guess I'll never know for sure. :lol: at leaving the full syringes on the counter without giving them to kitty.

Jane, thanks for the hug.
Cleo & Jane said:
And, I bet it will never happen again in Ebby's house!
Yeap! Learned my lesson. :lol:

Marje, I figured it was a different cat you were referencing, and you were just reinforcing the likelihood that Ebby would be ok, and I appreciate that. I never thought you were diminishing the possible severity. Also, thank you, and Julie, for staying up with me and checking on us. I will never stop being amazed by the kindness and generosity here in LL and the entire FDMB forum!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top