11/9 Bailey AMPS 308, +6 128, PMPS 97 OMG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
Good morning Lantus Land,
We had a rough day around here yesterday so no posts. Car trouble, work craziness, and yellow numbers all day from Bailey.
And pink to start the day today! My vet has been telling me to increase her dose to 2 units twice daily... so I am going to try 1.5 and see how it goes. Hubby will be home with her again today and will get spot checks.
Have a good day everyone!
 
Re: 11/9 Bailey AMPS 308

good luck with the new dose,
and may yesterday be the only rough day you have for the rest of the year!

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/9 Bailey AMPS 308

actually bailey had a pmps of 148 day before yesterday on the 1unit - that's a super number, especially for being at the end of the cycle. she may have gotten even lower that evening, and the resulting high numbers you saw yesterday and this morning are from going low enough that she bounced.

you can spot a bounce this way (this only took me 6 months to learn and a bunch of people explaining it! i'm a slow learner!)

yesterday morning you had a 215 - then it went 235, 271, 270, and then 308 this morning - basically straight up. no curve. and then look backwards in the ss and the night before was that sweet little 148 12 hours earlier.

if you imagine that night-time cycle, starting at 148, bailey probably went down in a nice little curve, hitting something under 100 mid-cycle. that lower-than-usual number would've shocked her body. they get accustomed to whatever range they're in, and any sudden dip lower can set this off.

"HELLO WE"VE GOT A 911 HERE- BAILEY"S GOING DOWN!" yells Mr. Liver. Fortunately, mr liver has a storehouse of counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugar (in case bailey needs a little nommy sweets in the middle of the night) and when Bailey gets into a range of numbers lower than usual, Mr. Liver lets loose with the sugar and the hormones and sends Bailey on a rocket to the moon.

that's what you're seeing.

So, what to do now. don't increase. in fact, tonight i would drop back to the 1 unit, because once this bounce clears, which can take up to 3 days of high numbers if mr liver is super-active, then this dose is going to be too high. you are entering the phase of treatment that we say requires "Patience Pants." when you think you're seeing a bounce, you have to wait it out, then you can see what the dose really does.

also, make sure and get a +2 or +3 in the evening, every single evening, so you can see where the cycle is going and bailey doesn't get too low at night without being monitored. she's actually responding really well to the insulin. this bounce will clear and she will get lower. we want her to be safe when that happens.

if you have a question about it, edit your first post of today and put the Q in your subject line so it gets seen. otherwise, just drop back to 1u and be patient. you were seeing really great response on the 1 unit and you will again as soon as this bounce clears. tell the vet whatever you want, but really, most vets don't have a lot of hands-on experience with lantus and they don't necessarily understand the finer points of dosing and tweaking to get to off-the-juice - which i'm pretty sure is what you want to have.

you're doing great melissa! there's a lot to learn on these fine points of lantus. you're just a few days into it. hang in there and it gets easier.

and i love celi's blessing - i'll second it - here's hoping that's the last rough day of 2011 for you and your household! :-D
 
Re: 11/9 Bailey AMPS 308

In addition to not wanting to raise the dose during a bounce (you can end up putting your cat over a good dose), you don't want to increase by more than 0.25u when you're seeing nadirs in the 200s or below. If you increase the dose by too much, you can set off a heck of a lot of bouncing plus you may end up working incredibly hard to keep the numbers up. Increasing by 0.25u per the protocol will prevent your missing what is a good dose for Bailey.

I do want to encourage you to get PM spot checks. I'm not sure how close to your PMPS your bedtime is but getting a test before you go to bed every night is essential. If Bailey's numbers are dropping, you need to know that.
 
Re: 11/9 Bailey AMPS 308, +6 128

Hi guys,
I can't update the spreadsheet from work but the +6 # is 128.
I guess I am getting impatient :oops: I want her to get better, and my husband doesn't really understand why we aren't following the vet's advice and increasing the dose when her numbers are high. I will go back to the 1 unit. I know I am supposed to look at the nadir numbers, but the pre-shot numbers get me all freaked out.
Julie, thanks for the explanation. I am still mystified by the bounce, lol. How long should I wait before I attempt an increase?
It is difficult for me to get spot checks after the PM dose. I work until midnight so I test/feed/shoot at 12:30 when I get home, and usually go to bed around 2 AM. I will have to work something out.
Thanks guys for all your help. I am still getting the hang of this!
 
Re: 11/9 Bailey AMPS 308, +6 128

That's quite a +6 drop! I guess Bailey has cleared the bounce. You're doing great Melissa.
 
Re: 11/9 Bailey AMPS 308, +6 128

no worries - we're all with you on the impatience! :lol: that's why we have Patience Pants that get passed around.

Let your husband know that vets are treating many different species of animals and many people (unfortunately) just put their cats to sleep when they get a diabetes diagnosis. Most vets have limited experience with diabetic cats period, and lantus is relatively new for use in cats. it's the best, however - has the best rate of having cats recover and go off of insulin. in fact, something like 80% of cats who get on lantus within the first month of being diagnosed and follow the protocol we follow (Rand-Roomp) go off of insulin in less than 6 months. it's a bit intensive, but it's got a great pay-off.

so most vets haven't used Glargine (Lantus) extensively and they (not all, of course) but many tend to dose as though they were using the older kinds of insulin that are not long-acting insulins.

i have to run out to work, but if you want the documents of the relevant studies, i'd be glad to attach them here for you. just say so. you could start by reading the tight regulation protocol link at the top of the lantus forum, and follow the links to the Rand/Roomp or the Tilly Protocols. lots of good info in there.
 
Re: 11/9 Bailey AMPS 308, +6 128

Hi Melissa and Bailey,
I haven't had a chance yet to welcome you to Lantus Land, so WELCOME!

You've gotten lots of great advice about numbers, finding the right dose, bounces, clearing of bounces, etc. Julie and Sienne give good explanations of why we don't raise the dose automatically when we see high numbers. Bailey could easily miss her correct dose and waste weeks trying to get back on track. I know this from experience. My cat Stu (GA) was over-prescribed by his vet, who was raising his Lantus dose every week by 1 unit at a time (we got up to 7 units bid!!). I knew nothing and trusted the vet. I was shooting blind, too. I almost lost Stu, but thankfully found this board and was able to get him pretty well regulated. (He had been diabetic for 4 years before starting on Lantus; the older insulins work much differently and they are what many vets are familiar with.)

So I second all the advice you have received and would urge you to read and follow the protocol. It works. Please get your DH to read it too!

Again, welcome. We're glad you and Bailey are here. Everyone here wants the best for your kitty.

Ella & Rusty
 
PMPS 97, first green number we have gotten.
I am not shooting. Bailey and her sister Maddie are chowing down on Fancy Feast and I am going to retest in an hour or two.
I should probably be expecting another bounce?
Julie, thanks for the link. I have been looking at the protocol and the other stuff in the Lantus stickies and slowly absorbing it. I'm a pharmacist, so I know quite a bit about diabetes and insulin use in humans... and wow cats are really different. :lol:
*Putting Patients Pants On*
 
Hi Melissa:

I don't think I've had a chance to welcome you and Bailey to Lantus Land either so welcome!!! I was just checking in on you this morning; your SS doesn't show if you have shot this morning?? You may have a later shot time (by looking at post last night looks like you might normally shoot late). One thing...if we don't shoot, we use the term "PMBG" or "AMBG" instead of "PMPS" or "AMPS". If you use the former, we know you didn't shoot; if you use the latter, you did. It would be :shock: :shock: for a newbie to shoot a 97 ;-) ;-) :-D :-D

So Julie and Sienne have given you some great information and suggestions. I haven't read through all your condos so please forgive if this is repetitive but one thing that vets seem to lose sight of is that with lantus (and levemir), you do not dose according to the preshot but instead, by the nadir. If you dose to the preshot, you could be seriously overdosing especially if your kitty is one that is higher in the morning due to the "dawn affect". For some unknown reason, some kitties and humans have their highest BG number at dawn.

There is the greatest of likelihood that Bailey will be high this morning since you didn't shoot last night so don't panic and don't raise her dose....just shoot the 1u. If you have any questions, just post as I am around this morning and will keep an eye out.

Important note to DH: diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Believe me, my DH and I have had to learn this the hard way just like every newbie. This dance has taught us patience...waiting out bounces. I've raised a dose in a bounce and had it come back to bite me with low numbers. It's an important lesson: bounce clears, see what happens and assess dosing, then adjust.

One last thing....if you have time, it's good to move around other condos and look at SSs of other cats. Many of us (even those that have been around a while) do this constantly....always something to learn. And ask questions. You are doing super!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top