11/9-12 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Hello everyone - it's been a while since I've posted here - I usually just pop in occasionally, but I spend most of my time on the Acro FB site with the other high-dose kitties. And since Grayson is now 4 months post-SRT, we're hoping that we'll see a breakthrough in the coming weeks or months.

We seem to have found a good dose/R combo for him. Our preshots have consistently come down to around 300, and we've been nadiring in the blues. For a boy who "swam in the pinks" for so long, this is quite an accomplishment. And for many Acro kitties, the thought is that Acro blues are the sugarcats' greens.

I didn't plan on doing a curve today, but it's worked out as I'm home and doing cleaning, laundry and catch-up from the past several weeks of long days - mostly work-related. So here are Grayson's numbers; another pretty day with those lovely Carolina BLUE skies! AMPS=300; +2.5=270; +4=217; +6=174; +8.25=186.

Wishing good numbers to all!

Lu-Ann
 
Re: Grayson 11/9 - checking in

hi Lu-Ann! cheering Grayson on and hoping you start seeing some dose reductions for the little guy soon. those big doses sure eat up the insulin fast! nice to see you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Grayson 11/9 - checking in

Hi Lu-Ann! Nice to see that Grayson is getting some regular blues again. Those ear infections can be nasty things. I hope you start seeing some deductions soon too. Grayson - time to break through that resistance boy. Fight it! Now that Neko is down to 3 units (yup!) I want more greens, although lately she seems to be singing the blues a lot.
 
Re: Grayson 11/9 - checking in

Regular blues are great - seriously, this is the first time I've seen them so consistently. And the fact that the preshots have come down... even though the dose hasn't dropped yet, is a huge positive. The other things... his eyes being closer to normal, his ravenous appetite is gone (still strong, but not ravenous), the "cattitude" with the dogs... so I AM seeing change. Hopefully the dose decreases will follow. Seems like many of the SRT patients have a breakthrough of some sort by 6 months. Hoping that comes soon (we're currently at 4 months).

Thanks for stopping by! Wish I had time to pop in more often, but life is very full these days. Good to see you guys are still here and doing well!
 
Re: Grayson 11/9 - checking in

Nice to see Grayson's improving with his blue bg! Keep going Grayson, blue is beauitiful too!
 
Re: Grayson 11/9-10 - checking in

Saturday morning (+12) = 91!!!
AMPS 148 (+14)
+3.3=143
+4.6=121
+5.9=103

...and he usually nadirs around +8! I guess he's trying to get all of the blue he can before he moves back to the greens! :mrgreen:

WOO HOO!!!
 
Re: 11/9-10 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

Way to throw the bean a curve ball, Grayson! Maybe soon ……not sayin' nuttin'.
 
Re: 11/9-10 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

What a nice Caturday present! Go Grayson! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I haven't had a green at AMPS yet, not sure what I'd do with it. Paws, toes, and fingers crossed here for you know what....
 
Re: 11/9-10 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

After milking the blues most of the day (we shot late, so we're off ~ 2 hrs), he's arrived in the greens! :mrgreen: (87and 78 so far). And he's grooming his toes! :lol: I guess I never realized how little grooming he does compared to the others. Usually it's just his face after a meal.

Last night he continued to drop til +12. I have to say, he's been having a pretty gentle curve of about 10 points per hour. Sweet! I guess I'll see where he goes the rest of this evening, and determine IF he'll be getting some gravy (or HIS preference - Kitt-N-Kaboodle!)!! WOW, he NEVER gets gravy, and KNK only when Mom's not fast enough to snatch up the others' dry food!!! :lol:

I hope we're on to something here - like SRT starting to take hold - I'd like to think so, at least. Yesterday and today are THE BEST cycles he's had - pretty much since we started back in January. Will have to see what his next cycles look like, but to have seen blue in 7 of the past 14 cycles (for him) is AMAZING!!! If this keeps up, there may be reductions in his future - and that would be amazing!!!
 
Re: 11/9-10 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

Nice numbers Grayson :mrgreen: Go kitty go! Paws crossed his favorable trend continues. :-D
 
Re: 11/9-10 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

Grayson spent 4 hours in the greens today - not a small feat for him! By preshot time he was 137, so I delayed about 40 min and shot his full dose; PMPS (+12.6) =166. This has TRULY been his best day yet! (only took 11 momths to get here!) ;-)
 
Re: 11/9-10 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

Fantastic news for Grayson and you! Hugs!
 
Re: 11/9-10 Grayson - checking in w/ AMPS=91!!!

Another day of FABULOUS numbers for my gray boy! He's definitely decided he likes the Carolina BLUE skies - today even better than the green grass we saw yesterday (or green lagoons - Hershey!). Here are his numbers from Sunday:

AMPS 214
+2 202
+5 107
+5.9 102
+7.2 102
+9 110

All I can say is WOW!!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
PMPS Sunday=141
+2= 178

+7.5=62 :mrgreen: fed 1.5 cans FF
+8.5=104

AMPS Monday=135
off to the vet for 4 months post-SRT check...
@ vet +1.5=129
@ home +2.3=114


This is starting to be a trend - and it's still new to me. I'm thinking there might be a reduction in our future... Since Acros rarely go hypo, any thoughts on what numbers would warrant a reduction? Maybe 3-6 cycles of blues with some greens?
 
i'm not sure what you meant by "acros rarely go hypo" Lu, but i would be as careful with his numbers as anyone else is with any diabetic cat. low numbers are low numbers and you want to take them seriously, especially given the long-lasting effect of a large shed. we've had punkin bobbling in the 40's for several hours at a time, despite a load of hc, and it is a bit nerve-wracking to not see them pulling up easily. i have a healthy respect for the shed, because it seems like the larger the dose the longer it can last.

great to see some action from mr grayson! congrats!
 
AWESOME​

AWESOME
AWESOME!!!!


WOOT!! Sorry I wasn't around to see this sooner! But, tickled BLUE to hear he's doing so well!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
For Neko, Dr. Timian suggested reductions when she went below 70. That gave a little bit of room if she went low. For Neko I went down by .5 unit, but we were at much lower dose, not sure what would work for Grayson.

And to echo Julie, I did have a few times (nights of course), when I was giving lots of HC to keep Neko up. She hasn't gone below 50 often, but I'd usually intervene with HC when she got below 70. Even after the deduction, I did feel the effect of the shed for a few more cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top