11/8 - Xander | AMPS 269, +6 225 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

11/8 - Xander | AMPS 269, +6 225

Brianna & Xander

Member since 2024
Previous post: 11/3/25

Hey everyone. Sorry I didn't get to responding to all of your thoughtful comments the other day, but they were read and they are much appreciated! ๐Ÿ–ค

His numbers are at least better than they were last time I posted; lots of yellow.

Xander's still got some stomach stuff going on. ๐Ÿ™ I'm starting to wonder if it's actually the food (he stopped eating his main flavor but is happy to eat his secondary flavor). It has pumpkin and I know that can relieve constipation; not sure if it's enough to give him soft poop for this long. It's also 10%, so borderline MC. But what am I gonna do? I can't get a whole new food flavor every week. I'm really hoping eventually he'll want to go back to the main one, but so far no luck. He'll eat it if it's mixed 50/50 with the current food, but that's it. Still going with the Proviable Forte. I was trying to avoid the expense, but might have to go for some S Boulardii like @Staci & Ivy recommends. Is it something that he wouldn't taste? The only way he'll get meds is if they taste good or like nothing. ๐Ÿ™„

We've continued to spray deterrants around the perimeter of our deck and I've used the vinegar solution 2 or 3 times since my last post. The smell is definitely getting better, though it's not gone yet. I did happen to see the cat one more time sniffing at the grate the morning after I posted, but I sprayed some water toward him and he left. Not sure if he's come back since then.

I've kind of come to a realization the other day that has helped me feel a lot less anxiety. Now that we're creeping up on a year since diagnosis and remission is looking less and less likely, and since the general routine (when things aren't going wrong) isn't so hard anymore, I don't feel the need to be so aggressive. That is, I think the best thing for both Xander and I's quality of life is to aim for well-regulated and not necessarily tightly regulated. If he's happy and healthy I don't care if I have to keep giving him insulin for the rest of his life. Not to say that I plan to just let him hang out in yellow all the time, but it doesn't feel worth it to try to force the 50-100 range constantly. He's always had trouble being in that range anyway; if he goes under 100, he almost definitely goes under 50 too. I spend 99% of my life just watching him and barely able to take care of myself. Pulling back on the aggression and being satisfied with slightly higher numbers feels like the way for both of us to be less stressed and live a little more. I'll probably still basically follow TR's general protcol, but maybe adjust the thresholds.

Anyway, that's it for us. Happy Saturday. ๐Ÿ˜Š
 
That sounds like a solid and well thought out plan. You need to take care of yourself and not be stressed out and overwhelmed by this whole process. It's supposed to be a routine and coming up to a year anniversary I'm sure this is part of your routine by now. That being said don't give up on remission just yet. Not all kitties achieve it right away. But I also know there's been cases here where it took years for a kitty to actually get there.
I like that you took a step back to re-evaluate your approach. And hopefully this much more relaxed approach will work.

Kisses and hugs to both of you and happy caturday.
๐Ÿ™‹๐Ÿปโ€โ™€๏ธโœจ๏ธ๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿพ
 
Last edited:
Hi Brianna, agree with Karolina 100% here. You have have to do what is best for all of you. Struggling and worrying is not doing you or Xander any good. If taking a step back is what is needed then that is what you should do.

Sending truck loads of supportive hugs your way ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ ๐Ÿ’œ

Please take care of yourself and focus on your health as much as you do his.
 
Hi Brianna, Iโ€™m glad Xander is feeling better and seeing better numbers.
Youโ€™re doing a wonderful job caring for him.
Just take it one day at a time. Thatโ€™s all you can do. And take care of yourself as well.
I put 1/2 capsule of the S. Boulardii in Ivyโ€™s food as maintenance.
Itโ€™s worth a try to see if it would help his soft stools.
(Itโ€™s not extremely expensive, $25 for 90 capsules)

Good job keeping that nasty cat away. I hope Xander resumes his happy place on his perch.
Sending you lots of hugs and good wishes ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน
 
As others have said, good--self-care/Xander-care--plan, Brianna. Not every cat is destined for remission. Not every cat is destined for regulation. Where Xander is today is far better than where he was prior to starting insulin treatment, and that's great and due 100% to your dedication to keeping him as healthy as possible. I seriously doubt Jude will make it again to remission, and that's something I've (like you) had to come to terms with. I just try to be thankful for what we have.

I hope you can figure the food thing out. Jude takes the s.boulardii when he's on an antibiotic--I mix it into a Churu, and he's pretty good to lick it up (and he can be PICKY, so that's saying something about its tasteless-ness).

Glad to get your update! Give Xander some love and pets from us.
 
Back
Top