11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315 +9 372 PMPS 358

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy96

Member Since 2012
Back into the Blue today. Wonder if this will last or if shes gonna throw a curveball at me, LOL. I had to mix her food with WHiskas Cat Milk to get her to eat before her shot, Gave her 1oz each mixed together when measured after she was finished there was half an oz left. I think my baby girl is getting tired.
 
Re: 11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315

Shes been in and out of the bathroom cabinet today, right now has been in her donut bed since +3 and is alert and just resting there. Shes a tired girl but seems to be doing ok this afternoon. I am gonna give her a snack when I feed the other 3 at 5 like I did this morning esp since she usually asks for food then :-D Shes so used to being able to eat at the same time as the other babies that I'm guessing (knowing bug that is) that she doesnt understand why she cant eat with the rest of them. Havent gotten a ketone on her lately since I havent caught her in the litterbox recently, will cont stalking esp since she seems to be getting sweeter today.
Edited to add: I just got a Ketone check and it is still neg!
 
Re: 11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315

Hi, just stopping in to say hello to you and Sandy. Glad she's feeling good. That is hard when she was used to getting what the others had to eat. Ho many kitters own you! :-D Have a nice evening.
 
Re: 11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315

Great news on the negative ketones. It's looking like Sandy is bouncing off of those blues yesterday.
 
Re: 11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315

Dani & Sandy said:
Shes been on 1u Lantus for 7 cycles now and doesnt seem to be settling down on the bouncing. She seems to eat somewhat better as long as I feed her 1oz at a time and at different times during the day (at least today anyways). The other reason I am looking for someone to look at her spreadsheet is because it seems to me that she isn't running a typical Lantus curve, at least she doesn't seem to be at her lowest point of the cycle at +6 and I wanted another opinion (or more) on that,
Thanks
It can take 6 cycles for a dose to settle and some cats can take longer. Bounces are hugely annoying but they are normal. For the length of time that Sandy has been on Lantus, I would not be a bit concerned. I'd expect to see bounces. What I would suggest is that once this bounce clears, you increase Sandy's dose to 1.25u.

As for a "typical" Lantus curve, I've been here for 3+ years and I don't think there is a "typical" curve. The only thing that makes a curve typical is what is typical for your cat since every cat is different (ECID). As an example, with my cat, her nadir is usually at around +4. There are days when it's been as early as +1 or as late as +7 or +8. The nadir can move around; it's not a static point. Some cats have a late nadir and some an early nadir and some actually read the rule book and have their nadir closer to the middle of the cycle.
 
Re: 11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315 +9 372

Thank You Sienne and your very pretty Gabby
Sorry for the extra posting on the board, The last time I posted a question in my condo it got missed and I had to ask another time so went ahead and posted a second time today without trying it in my condo first. Shes still not eating super well but is doing better with little bits every 6hrs or so. I guess I need to test her a bit more frequently and see if I can figure out when her nadir is. The bouncing isnt so much a pain as it is troubling esp since I have her back on low carb (not the vet food anymore since its as bad as dry) took away the 1/4c of dry food she was getting prior to dx and have adjusted her insulin down from the 2u that was prescribed for her. How will I know if this bounce has cleared since she bounces up and down so frequently?
 
Re: 11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315 +9 372

Sorry Ann and Maggie,
We are owned by Sandy "bug" and 3 others, A 8yr old Black and white Tux girl by the name of Charlie, and 5yr old Tabby boys (littermates) names Bligh and KooKoo (and yes he is nuts :-D ) Bug raised all 3 of them from the time they were 7 or so weeks old shes a good mama who beats em up as needed and gives them baths (well she used to until the past couple of weeks) whenever they ask. They are all spoiled rotten and we wouldnt have them any other way :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/8 Sandy AMPS 131 +3 273 +6 315 +9 372

Dani --

It's not a problem. Sometimes you need to "yell" to get attention. Like I said, there are times when the Board gets busy or there's an emergency going on.

FWIW, many of us feed "mini meals." We divide up the total food for the 12 hours and spread it out until nadir. If Bug expects food more often, you can spread it out past nadir although, there's less insulin available to offset the effect of food if you're feeding late in the cycle. As a result, the pre-shot numbers can be higher.

It's not essential to increase after the bounce clears. The issue of increasing the dose and the bounce breaking at the same time means you can risk numbers dropping fast. As long as you're around to monitor and feel comfortable managing the numbers with food, it's fine. It may take a bit for you to get comfortable with that scenario so it may be better to wait until the bounce clears. I would increase if you get a low yellow or blue pre-shot.
 
Thanks for the Help, have adjusted her feeding schedule so is eating 5 times daily and may adjust it further if it will help, would rather have her eating several small meals than 2 large meals that she doesnt ealt all of. Well Onto the day, are starting out in the Blue for the end of this cycle.

Edited to add: +6 166 and +9 123, maybe will hit greens today!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top