11/8 khan Amps 337, +1 306

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just looked at your SS and your previous condo, I missed the fur shot on 11/6....please, don't ever shoot again when you give a fur shot. Even if you see the insulin on your hand, it's still never advised to give more insulin. I've given fur shots when I was sure that Mr Tinkles got almost none of the insulin, only to have him drop as if he got a full dose! I've also had fur shots that seemed like most of the insulin got in, and he acted as if he got none...so you just never know, KWIM? It isn't worth the risk of overdose...the safest course of action is to just wait until the next dose, ok?

How is Khan acting? A cat is more than his numbers, we also like to look at the WCR (whole cat report) because that gives clues to how he's doing too...often the cat begins to act better even before the numbers start to improve.

Have a great day!
 
Thank you - I will never do it again- give more insulin if I think a fur shot was done. I understand. No I would never want a scary drop- you made a very good point. Thank you.

Now with the WCR.. do I just put that under the condo? I can go look at the previous notes you sent. WCR today is Khan isn't acting like he feels the best.. probably due the rollercoaster he has been on. I was trying to add just protein to his diet.. he loves the cooked salmon (no sauces or gravy on any of the meat or fish), pork (loved it!) and didn't really like the chix. Maybe there is something different I could give him? I didn't really think the cooked salmon or pork would spike his numbers.. he loved it soo much he just kept smacking his lips with his tongue.. that is how much he loved it! What if I consistently give him the pork and salmon along with the Fancy feast? shouldn't I be able to regulate his BG then?

5 Ps
Poop
Pee
P-?
P-?
P-?
 
Re: 11/8 Khan Amps 337, +1 306, +6.5 209

Khan is sleeping on a heating pad, doesn't seem to interested in moving around much.
Did eat a good amount at +6.5.
 
i'll leave the food question to the wiser folks...but just stopping in to say hi, and hope khan comes down for you.

celi & binks
 
Good catch by Laurie!! I'm very glad you understand why to not re-shoot if you think you gave a fur shot.

The 5 Ps - peeing, pooping, playing, purring, and preening.

Giving any straight protein, as long as it hasn't been brined (brining adds salt and sugar) or cooked with onions or garlic or isn't honey glazed, is fine. I would go easy on the fish, though. Male cats, more often than females, can develop urinary crystals. Fish products are often related to these problems. If you are already feeding Khan canned fish-based foods, I would just be attentive to how much you're giving him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top