Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)
Member Since 2019
Yesterday's condo: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...6-4-306-7-348-10-360-pmps-305-1-5-343.238239/
I knew Disco wasn't his old self yesterday, appetite off which it never is, and looking back, an increased respiratory rate, though he typically purrs just by talking to him and sometimes it's hard to tell resp rate when he's purring.
But this morning at 7am when my alarm went off, he was meowing that distress meow, and obvious fast, shallow breathing with that wetness sound. He wasn't open-mouth breathing and I was able to take his BG and he ate about a tablespoon of baby food, so I gave him him insulin. I talked with his regular vet and reviewed his recent history, with the ultrasound for the coughing he'd been doing recently and to rule out heart issues (nothing serious found) or a lung mass etc as he was going under anesthesia. It's possible anesthesia could bring on pneumonia or that the cough has some hidden reason, too.
We headed to the ER, about 30 minutes away and he's inside now and I am waiting in the parking lot now, and due to COVID protocols, can't go in with him and am waiting for the vet to call with a treatment plan and (ugh) estimate. Glad my brother (he lives with me) recommended me to take my laptop, so at least I can distract myself... I'll keep you all updated as I can. Purr for my Disco Man!
I knew Disco wasn't his old self yesterday, appetite off which it never is, and looking back, an increased respiratory rate, though he typically purrs just by talking to him and sometimes it's hard to tell resp rate when he's purring.
But this morning at 7am when my alarm went off, he was meowing that distress meow, and obvious fast, shallow breathing with that wetness sound. He wasn't open-mouth breathing and I was able to take his BG and he ate about a tablespoon of baby food, so I gave him him insulin. I talked with his regular vet and reviewed his recent history, with the ultrasound for the coughing he'd been doing recently and to rule out heart issues (nothing serious found) or a lung mass etc as he was going under anesthesia. It's possible anesthesia could bring on pneumonia or that the cough has some hidden reason, too.
We headed to the ER, about 30 minutes away and he's inside now and I am waiting in the parking lot now, and due to COVID protocols, can't go in with him and am waiting for the vet to call with a treatment plan and (ugh) estimate. Glad my brother (he lives with me) recommended me to take my laptop, so at least I can distract myself... I'll keep you all updated as I can. Purr for my Disco Man!
Keep us posted.