11/8 Disco AMPS 405, woke me up in resp distress. At ER. In DKA

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's condo: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...6-4-306-7-348-10-360-pmps-305-1-5-343.238239/

I knew Disco wasn't his old self yesterday, appetite off which it never is, and looking back, an increased respiratory rate, though he typically purrs just by talking to him and sometimes it's hard to tell resp rate when he's purring.

But this morning at 7am when my alarm went off, he was meowing that distress meow, and obvious fast, shallow breathing with that wetness sound. He wasn't open-mouth breathing and I was able to take his BG and he ate about a tablespoon of baby food, so I gave him him insulin. I talked with his regular vet and reviewed his recent history, with the ultrasound for the coughing he'd been doing recently and to rule out heart issues (nothing serious found) or a lung mass etc as he was going under anesthesia. It's possible anesthesia could bring on pneumonia or that the cough has some hidden reason, too.

We headed to the ER, about 30 minutes away and he's inside now and I am waiting in the parking lot now, and due to COVID protocols, can't go in with him and am waiting for the vet to call with a treatment plan and (ugh) estimate. Glad my brother (he lives with me) recommended me to take my laptop, so at least I can distract myself... I'll keep you all updated as I can. Purr for my Disco Man!
 

Attachments

  • C3E138D4-DFFE-4FD8-8FBF-A11121D12360.jpeg
    C3E138D4-DFFE-4FD8-8FBF-A11121D12360.jpeg
    61.5 KB · Views: 99
Update: Just talked to vet, he's in DKA. All making sense now with his his BG's. I didn't know the warning signs. He'll be in hospital a few days, and I have an IMed referral for tomorrow. I don't know the staff at this ER/Specialty practice at all, but have worked at a practice like this and can only hope they are as good as where I worked...I have to trust, but am more anxious than I've been in a long time.

Now I'll be reading up on DKA, any advice or support gratefully accepted. Just had my CareCredit increased, not sure what this is going to cost in the end but we have to try and if I need to do a fundraiser for him now that I'm retired and on a fixed income. These are trying times with COVID and the economy, everyone has it harder than they did a year ago...one paw in front of the other and try and stay positive.
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry your baby isn't doing well right now. Hopefully the vet can get everything figured out quickly to get him on the road to recovery. Feel better soon, sweetie
 
Update: The vet just called, he’s gone into congestive heart failure and is critical. My brother is driving me to the ER and I am trying to come to terms with having to let him go. Trying to treat a DKA cat with heart disease is more difficult than if he was in kidney failure. I do understand that as I have had 2 HCM cats that I nursed with diligent care while they had renal disease too..

We’ll be there in about 20 minutes and they are going to let me inside to say goodbye...

@Wendy&Neko
@Nan & Amber (GA)
@Butters & Lyla
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@carfurby
@Olive & Paula
@Sue and Luci
@Red & Rover (GA)
@Christie & Maverick
@JaxBenji
@Vyktors Mum
@Megan and Bernie
@Bandit's Mom
@Briere Fur Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Marj & Djoko
 
Last edited:
Back
Top