? 11/8 Belle, AMPS 290, +6 120, PMPS 136, +2 140, dosage question

Status
Not open for further replies.
No, do not increase. In fact, Belle earned a reduction to 2.0 units with that 86 last night. Since you are feeding dry food, you are following SLGS, which says that reductions are earned when they go below 90. Your new dose is 2.0 units tonight. From the SLGS method document.

Hold the dose for at least a week
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) if kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
Last night, after than fast drop to +2, I would have set an alarm for +3 to test him again. You want to make sure his numbers are steady or rising before calling it a night. He might have gone quite a bit lower, and is likely bouncing today. So don't worry about the higher numbers today.
 
tested him +6, @5pm, BG 120

@Wendy&Neko my concern was, he had high numbers all along, in "bouncing" all the time....?! just then suddenly last night was suddenly lower...
 
If you are following SLGS and cannot get up in the wee hours to test (not judging, just saying), then it's much safer for Belle if you reduce.
 
If you can't test tonight, leave lots of food around for him to munch on if he gets low. Normally we start the lower dose the cycle after earning the reduction.
 
i will test him again +2; and yes, he was just given another meal + snacks, and he has his dry food out all night as well

i m also concern about his constipation
 
i have been giving him miralax, as suggested by other members in this group.

my vet is not very knowledgeable... i am ending the relationship with her, her mistreatment caused the death of my cat x2

i did not add water to his wet food , why?

but he drinks a lot of water from his water bowls
 
Water helps prevent things from drying out and being hard to move. Miralax draws water into the stool, so it's important he gets lots of water. I add a bit of pumpkin or babyfood squash for fiber and that helps.

Another website with more info than you ever wanted to know: http://www.felineconstipation.org/
 
thanks for the info

i will try to get him some canned pumpkin or baby food squash tomorrow.
 
tested Belle +2 after PM dose, BG 140

he is not that low today, should we still decrease the dosage tomorrow?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top