11/8 +3 221 Chnoudi Update

Melita & Chnoudi

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-236-8-209-bad-condition.255157/#post-2874202

Hello everyone and thank you all for the support, understanding and information you share with me. I'm totally grateful for having you by me side in this difficult situation, which is completely new to me . You are amazing !:kiss::kiss::kiss:

Chnoudi is a little better today, still being fed by me with a spoon, but I think I see a slight improvement .
She just had diarrhea again (10 hrs after the last one) but it was not watery, it seemed like a cottage-cheese.
Doctor says it's a good sign that poop are more harden.

Her bg is high, when I'll get the diagnosis, I think I'll have to start insulin again.
Tomorrow morning we will get the bloody results. Patience for now.
 
So glad to hear you think she is showing improvement, Melita. Make sure you get a copy of the blood test results and, if you can, enter them into your "labs" section of the spreadsheet so others can see what her numbers are. Hopefully, you will be able to get her well soon and her glucose will go back down again.
 
Have you gotten test results back? Did they run the Specfpl? If pancreatitis the improvement will likely be gradual. Any medication for nausea?
 
Hi Melita!

I have been following you and Chnoudi since the beginning of your journey last year!!! I'm so happy for the progress Cnoudi has made so far!!!

I'm from Greece too (we had a long discussion on messenger last year, my account was Yanna Tev at that time)

I'm sorry to hear that Chnoudi has not been feeling well the last few days. Let's wait for the results of the blood exams and I really hope that, with the help of the beautiful people in this forum and your vet, Chnoudi will get over this soon.


The baby food available in supermarkets here contains meat plus potatoes or carrots. I haven't been able to find baby food with plain meat. Let me know if you have any luck
 
Hi Elise!!!

I'm currently searching for scientific articles that suggest insulin dose adjustments should be made based on the nadirs and by 0.25 and not by whole units in every single cycle depending on the PS numbers

My vet agreed to reviewing her approach to treating her feline diabetic patients after I kept telling her about this forum and how different your approach is to what vets in Greece follow. But I have to back everything up.
 
Hi Elise!!!

I'm currently searching for scientific articles that suggest insulin dose adjustments should be made based on the nadirs and by 0.25 and not by whole units in every single cycle depending on the PS numbers

My vet agreed to reviewing her approach to treating her feline diabetic patients after I kept telling her about this forum and how different your approach is to what vets in Greece follow. But I have to back everything up.
Click on this link and then Romp Rand.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/index-health-links-faqs.194624/#post-2177367
 

Yes I have a print out of the Roomp & Rand protocol which seems to be the only one very close to the protocols in this forum. I'm going through the AAHA and ISFM guidelines at the moment, but they suggest increases by 0.5-1 unit

Is it OK I if I also print off the sticky notes and give them to the vet?
Or maybe some ss so as to to show her how we keep the increases for a few cycles, when we decrease etc.

Melita your ss would be a nice example and also Chnoudi made it to remission, so would you allow me to show it to my vet?
 
Last edited:
Yes I have a print out of the Roomp & Rand protocol which seems to be the only one very close to the protocols in this forum. I'm going through the AAHA and ISFM guidelines at the moment, but they suggest increases by 0.5-1 unit

Is it OK I if I also print off the sticky notes and give them to the vet?
Or maybe some ss so as to to show her how we keep the increases for a few cycles, when we decrease etc.

Melita your ss would be a nice example and also Chnoudi made it to remission, so would you allow me to show it to my vet?
It’s fine to print the Romp Rand. It’s even been suggested.
 
Hi Elise!!!

I'm currently searching for scientific articles that suggest insulin dose adjustments should be made based on the nadirs and by 0.25 and not by whole units in every single cycle depending on the PS numbers

My vet agreed to reviewing her approach to treating her feline diabetic patients after I kept telling her about this forum and how different your approach is to what vets in Greece follow. But I have to back everything up.

Hi Yanna, it's great that your vet is willing to review her approach
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_story.htm

There are links on the Tilly page that you may find useful for your vet

Remember to emphasise to your vet that the cat needs to be on a LC wet diet for them to follow TR, that means under 10% on a DM basis. With the alternative of SLGS if client is on dry, though there are no 'scientific reviews' of the SLGS method that I know off

There are a couple of stickys from Dr Lisa on the subject, as well as how to calculate carb % which will be useful for her to be able to calculate for foods not on Dr Lisa Piersons list, the UK/Europe food list is another useful one to share with her as it

If you want to share Georges SS feel free to, we followed TR, he fell out of remission twice once due to bad teeth and a second time due to a steroing shot, and we got him back into remission by following TR, it's all documented on the SS.
George also got into some dry food once, and that also spiked his BG for 24 to 48 hours, that is also reflected in the SS.
 
Thank you so much Gill!!

Very helpful links. we need to learn to calculate the carbs on our own. There's a variety of food here which is not on the lists.

Your ss is very very detailed!!! Thank you for letting me share it. Very kind of you
 
Back
Top