11/7 Tiki AMPS 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55894

Numbers looking better this am. Note to self - no more STEAK.

Can't get yesterday's condo to link here and can't spend anymore time fussing with it.
 
Morning TikiToy! Nice yellow rather than pink today!

To link your topic, click on the 'URL' button then paste the URL in between the 2 codes that come up... :-D

Hugs for both of you!
 
Hi guys .. glad numbers are looking better for you .. mid yellow is a nice starting point! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Binks spent the evening trying to poach my Filet Mignon...
sadly for him, i know it wreaks havoc on his stomach...
 
Re: 11/7 Tiki AMPS 263, +11 360

I've been gone all day and only just now got home to do a +11 test and it's back in the purple zone. He must have just eaten as his bowl is licked clean and he is demanding his dinner. His pokie treats are gonna have to appease him for now - its all about the ROUTINE Tiki, ROUTINE!!!

Please advise on feeding....because he is essentially starving due to his FD (and the fact that I am only just now starting him on the insulin) I have been giving him 3 cans of FF a day. However, he never finishes his bowl (he is an all day kind of grazer) before I feed him his next one...making me think it's too much food. But if I only give him two - he seems ravenous. Is it ok to feed him TOO much right now. My concern is if he always has food available and he is grazing throughout the day and ALWAYS has high BG numbers cuz he's always eating - is that a BAD thing?

Also - how long do I keep giving him .5 units before it's decided it's not enough? My vet wanted me to give him 2 units but many here thought that was too high to start out at. It just seems like the .5 isn't doing much. (I know it's early yet - but I don't want to start out so slow that nothing at all happens either!)
 
Squeaky and KT said:
Morning TikiToy! Nice yellow rather than pink today!

To link your topic, click on the 'URL' button then paste the URL in between the 2 codes that come up... :-D

Hugs for both of you!

Button???
 
Hi Tonya!!! Welcome to you and Tiki. I'm sorry I haven't been to your condo yet.

Here's the link to yesterday's condo: Tiki's 11/6 condo

On the dose: here is the important part of the protocol regarding the starting dose and when to increase:
"General" Guidelines:
•Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
•Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
•Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
•Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
•After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Right now, he's filling his lantus shed and so you won't see much movement in numbers. Tonight will be his sixth dose. If he is still high and flat tonight, I would be prone to taking him up by .25u tomorrow to .75u. I'm sure others will chime in with their thoughts as well.

Regarding food, many of us feed on a specific schedule in order to control the curve. A lot of the lantus folks feed at PS, +1, +2, +3. Since it's early in the "dance", it's hard to know what feeding schedule might work best for him. You don't want to feed feed feed him right now. As the insulin kicks in, he'll start to adjust and be better able to use the glucose and shouldn't be as hungry. IMHO, as long as you are feeding him a low carb canned food, then it's probably not the food keeping his numbers high but the need to fill the shed and the fact that the dose may just need to come up slowly.

What we did with Gracie was note her ideal weight and then calculate how many calories/day she needed for that weight and then divided it up into her feedings to manage her curve. That might be a good way to start with him.

Dr. Lisa Pierson has this formula on her website Dr. Lisa
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70

Most female cats should weigh a nice, lean 10 -11 pounds. Most male cats should fall into the 11 -13 pound range.

Using an optimal body weight of 12 pounds as an example, we come up with 233 calories/day as a starting point

I found this to be quite generous and more than Gracie needed. It's important to note the "optimal lean body weight" part of it ;-)

I hope that helps! Let us know if you have other questions. Also...we typically do not feed between +10 and +12 or you'll get a food inflated spike to shoot and you don't want to do that. Maybe Tiki would benefit from an automated timed feeder. Many use them successfully.
 
Tiki is a big cat but not obese. Right now he is at 16lbs and some change but looks kinda skinny to me. Since he was a kitten he's always had a big bowl of food available to him to eat whenever he wants. Since early Sept (prior to his actual diagnosis) I suspected diabetes and started giving him all wet food (Fancy Feast Classics) and as soon as I did that he stopped eating his dry food altogether. When he was diagnosed the vet said to get him used to being fed only twice a day but not to be afraid to give him more as he isn't getting enough nutrients. I am not sure an automated feeder would do any good as he eats when he wants to regardless of when I give it to him (I think his eating schedule has more to do with his naps than anything else!!!)

As to the rest of your comments (M&G)- OYE VEY! I can barely see the half markers on the syringe let alone half of THAT! LOL
 
Also - how do I modify the main title of my CONDO - the changes I am making aren't showing up in the PRIMARY title. I swear I did this the other day and it worked, but now it doesn't. I am having more problems posting messages correctly than I am with the whole FD thing!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top