11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 +6 363 PMPS 417, +3 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=82648&p=889866#p889866

numbers:
AMPS 486
+1.5 426.6
+6 336.6
PMPS 399.6
+3 270
+4.25 176.4

Rupert Super BEBT as usual this morning, very demanding, vocal, happy but obviously very hungry with a big black number like that. sigh. Seems to be his latest pattern. Nasty reds and blacks to start the day, with a slight drop into lower reds and high pinks.... and then quick dive into the blues over night followed by wicked skyrocket back again for the morning. just don't know what's going on. Makes me wonder if he wouldn't be better on a three times a day shot??? or maybe his nadir has shifted really weirdly but at night only and he's hitting greens in the wee hours of the morning and I'm missing earned reductions????? but then he's not seeming to do the same during the 12 hours post shot during the day. so very confusing. sigh. Am wondering if I should try reducing to 2.0??? I"m afraid to go UP since he tends to dive so dramatically on the 2.5 dose.....I'm wondering about removing ALL tinned food for him and perhaps going to a no carb (steamed chicken?) sort of diet..... I just don't get what is going on with him. He isn't peeing any more than usual, he doesn't appear to be in any pain or distress, he looks freaking fabulous actually....maybe he's just a high octane cat?? Is he becoming insulin resistant?

oh well, I guess as long as he LOOKS healthy and happy I shouldn't worry too much. I think Lev is very much in his future, he'll have been on Lantus for a year by Jan 1,2013...I have one vial left after this one (will be switching around Nov 20th-ish, guess I'll make an appt with the vet for December perhaps and see what we can find.
Any thoughts??
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

Gosh Pip. I wish I had any kind of answer for you. You know by now, that I dont know what I'm doing. I still can't get used to this 3 day bouncing, and adjust dose too soon.
Rupert is confusing to me too. Maybe a louder scream for help. I see you have the Q mark in subject line.
Hope you get answers. :smile:
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

Morning ~O) ,
when I look at Rupert's ss, I see those low numbers which Rupert seems to be very uncomfortable in and he bounces big time.
But he does get some lower numbers, blues and greens. (very panicky liver)
myself, I would be pm'ing one of those who help with dosing and asking is it time to switch, should I be more aggressive and monitor
diligently, is there anything they would do differently? That's all I've got in my head to offer.... ask someone directly for help.
I did that often. :-D
Rupert is reacting to the insulin but as I understand it, the longer they stay in higher numbers, their bodies get used to it instead of
the lower range.
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

I don't think Rupert is a "high octane" cat. His dose would need to be considerably higher for him to be insulin resistant. He is a very bouncy cat, though. I would suggest sticking closely to the protocol and evaluating his dose every 3 days. Holding on to a dose that's not consistently bringing Rupert into lower ranges may leave him vulnerable to glucose toxicity.

Another consideration is that he may do better on Levemir. Despite the similarity of Lantus and Lev, some cats do better on one vs. the other. Marje's Gracie has done better on Lev. The switch didn't seem to make as big a difference for Barb's Checkers.
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, and I have no experience with Lev .. just want to send out my sympathies .. I know it's hard seeing kitties so high and not knowing the reason behind it.. just hang in there, you guys are doing great and like you said, rupert is looking freaking fabulous :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

I think lev may be worth a try, it does take time to see a change though. Tess is a little better on it although she still does bounce. One thing I have found is that if I keep the carbs in the food too low it increases the bouncing. On a really low carb diet Tess seems to use it all up while the insulin is still active and BAM!! The new food list is helping, before I thought I was feeding 4%, but it turned out to be only 1% and then I understood the bouncing!
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

I'm really new to Lantus, so no advice here. :sad:

But having recently experienced the stress of kitty just *not* wanting to climb down from high numbers, just wanted to lend my support. I hope you find some solutions soon. Meanwhile, I'm glad Rupert is in great spirts!
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

re the carb thing.. Ann.. yes, I've noticed with Rupie that when I tried him on the EVO (very lc food), he seemed to bounce even more. That's why I've been hesitant to go the all natural/no carb type of diet with him. So hard to know what to do. Seems like his liver panics VERY easily. I'm wondering if he's got another tooth acting up again, he has always been a bouncy cat but now seems to be really going to extremes.

Sienne: i'd love to up his dose a bit more to get him in the lower numbers, but the problem is the diving/bouncing... if I take him up, he dives even worse, the bounce comes even bigger and things go from bad to worse. When I lower the dose a little he seems to level out a SMIDGE but then throws wicked dives into the mix just to get the bounce happening again. In other words, I up the dose.. he earns a reduction, I do the reduction, he goes flat, or dives just enough to NOT earn a reduction, but enough to create another bounce. It's all rather a catch 22 situation. He never seems to do things in a steady enough fashion for his liver to relax. I've tried pre-loading him, I've tried LC/MC and various permutations, just can't seem to get what's going on with him. My guess right now is that perhaps he's going a lot lower, later, overnight and maybe I'm missing an earned reduction, his liver is panicking and throwing the reds/blacks at me AMPS.. takes most of the day for the bounce to clear, and then we start again overnight??? ohmygod_smile

Maybe he's just going to be one of those that bounce forever. Thing is, if I was doing 'relaxed', I'd probably never even know what was going on with him (couldn't live with the 'not knowing' though!!). Had friends who NEVER tested their cat (!!!) except at the vet, had the cat on ONE shot a day, and the cat lived till she was 19 with no issues at all. Sometimes too much knowledge just drives you mental I guess!
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

No advice from me, but super big HUGS!!! ((((Pip)))) Hang in there.
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 - sigh any further though

No dosing advice from me but just wanted to let you know we are here to support you. I would be freaking with the high numbers too. The good thing is he is happy. Hope you get all the answers you need. Take care.
 
Re: 11/7 Rupert AMPS 577, +1.5 500 +6 363

thanx everyone!, seems like he's hitting some pinks midday, presume tonight he'll dive again, will try and get a test after midnight sometime, just to see where he goes!
 
Good luck on the late night test. I hope it tells you something. I can so sympathize. Neko's nadir tends to wander and lately I feel that I've been missing something in the wee hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top