11/7 Pringles AMPS 334 +5 306 +8 356 PMPS 434

Ilse - M - T - P

Member Since 2020
Hello,

First day with Lantus (3.5 units).
Not a real dip in his numbers for his nadir.
I know that his depot first needs to be filled before seeing lower numbers, but I was expecting to still see a nadir.
Am I wrong in my assumption?

Thanks
Ilse
 
Sorry no one answered your question yesterday. Yes, it can take a few days before you start seeing changes. Did you manage to get any tests in last night before bed?
 
No worries, I was just wondering :)

Yes, I got a +4 of 286 yesterday evening. And this morning AMPS was 344 and a +5 of 281.

A positive result already, he doesnt come running for food every time I am in the kitchen :)
 
Sorry no one answered your question yesterday. Yes, it can take a few days before you start seeing changes. Did you manage to get any tests in last night before bed?

Another question: Chris R indicated that for TR about 4 tests are needed per day.
2 preshots, but does it matter when the other tests are done?
My lunchbreak is at +5, so that's when most of the tests will happen. Do I need to try to get other time points as well on a regular basis?
 
Last edited:
When you get a chance, it'd be good to update the spreadsheet. Good to see you are getting some downward action.

Mixing the tests up during the cycle is fine. In fact, you want to avoid "white spaces" on the spreadsheet. Over time you'll get a better idea when his onset and nadir is (typically), and you'll be able to test more strategically then. A curve after a few days might help pin point some of those times too.

Also, the +2 test when on Lantus, can be an indicator of how the cycle will go. If it's about the same as the preshot, the cycle will be a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A +2 quite a bit lower is an active cycle that will need more monitoring. A higher +2 is a quiet cycle. Note, this works for most, but not all cats. Mine was one for whom I needed a later test to give me an indication. At night, a test just before turning the light out for bed can be a good one to get.
 
Thank you! I'll update the spreadsheet this evening. After I get all tests from today.
And will try a +2 or +3 on a regular basis
 
When you get a chance, it'd be good to update the spreadsheet. Good to see you are getting some downward action.

Mixing the tests up during the cycle is fine. In fact, you want to avoid "white spaces" on the spreadsheet. Over time you'll get a better idea when his onset and nadir is (typically), and you'll be able to test more strategically then. A curve after a few days might help pin point some of those times too.

Also, the +2 test when on Lantus, can be an indicator of how the cycle will go. If it's about the same as the preshot, the cycle will be a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A +2 quite a bit lower is an active cycle that will need more monitoring. A higher +2 is a quiet cycle. Note, this works for most, but not all cats. Mine was one for whom I needed a later test to give me an indication. At night, a test just before turning the light out for bed can be a good one to get.

Spreadsheet updated.
Did a +2 and his numbers were 246... yay!!
I assume that he will go lower, but not low enough for a sleepless night? I will test again before bedtime which will be +3
 
Back
Top