11/7- Lucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
Sorry I never came back to respond to my last thread. I actually did come back and started to reply and my son got sick. I've had lots of people (and kitties!) to take care of the past two days!

So a run down....

Yesterday wasn't so great. I was expecting more since his AMPS was 313, which is really good for Lucky. I shot 1.1 and his +6 was 285, yuck. PMPS was 400. Not sure what happened yesterday. So I shot 1.2 at PMPS and +5 was 289.

So today...
AMPS 352 shot 1.2
+4 was 292
+6 was 222, better than yesterday but still yuck
PMPS 295....whoa! where did that come from!? Shot 1u.

Will try to get a +5 tonight before bed. I'm so off of things with being late over the weekend with his shot and now the time change. I'm still going off the old time on my stove :roll: I will start working my way down though, just need to sit down and think about it...I get myself so confused, lol! Well, I've got a sick kid to attend to, he's so pitiful!

Fingers crossed for a nice +5 tonight!!! Hoping that this is a turning point, but I have a feeling it's not :YMSIGH:
 
Okay, now I'm just really confused. What would make the BG at +4 go up higher than the PS??!! This has happened before, but I just don't get it.

Does anyone have any ideas?

PMPS was 295 and +4 is 366. :?:

Oh, and no fur shot. I always make sure.
 
Depends on what his amps will be, could be inverse where it is too much insulin if his amps is lower,
but if his preshot is higher than his +4, not enought insulin
It could also be that maybe he ate an hour or so before you took the +4?
Unfortunatley it is all albut the data collection and analysing it.

If it is just once it could just be the way he is reacting tonight....but I am thinking maybe he ate..
 
Well, I am just a bad momma :? I was late with AMPS again. Since the time change and my son being sick and not going to school, I've had a hard time. AMPS was 431 at an hour late.

I know it wasn't food because I fed them at PMPS and took up the bowls. We had a 295 PS not too long ago and he actually did better with the higher dose. So now I'm second guessing myself again with the whole lower dose thing. But no matter what dose I've tried, all the way up to 1.8, his numbers ended up high and flat and PS's were higher. With the lower dose, nadirs aren't ideal still but his PS's are lower. And then we have the issue of a blue every 5 days or so with no rhyme or reason. ohmygod_smile We need a head hitting a brick wall smilie!!!!

Well, we'll just see how today goes. I shot 1.2.

I think our ProZinc days are numbered.....
 
That's exactly what I have been thinking - a kitty pounding his cute little head against a wall - smilie.

I don't know. I liked your plan of lowering for a while. And I do think you might try another insulin. Sorry I am not more help.
 
Thanks Sue, any ideas and comments help, they really do. I think I'm going to gradually lower dose and see what happens or do a sliding scale still but just with lower doses. That's one reason I shot 1.2 on the 400 this morning.

Lucky threw me for another loop today. +6 was 184 :roll: Why, I have no idea, but I need to stop trying to answer the question why with this cat, he's going to drive me crazy. I'm just going to keep dosing based on gut feelings until I can come up with something a bit more concrete that I see works. And that may not happen. If it doesn't, then we'll switch. I just got this new vile of ProZinc so I've got a little while to try to make it work out.

Will update later if there's anything out of the norm!
 
Denise, your comment about the not enough insulin got me to looking at his SS at the more recent numbers. On 10/31, his AMPS was 413 and I shot 1.6. He got the same nadir as today but it seemed to rise pretty fast and he didn't seem surf all that much. Maybe that time he got too much insulin so he lowered much faster and rose much faster.

Today with a 431 PS and a 1.2 dose, he had the same nadir. Now I wait and see what happens in the last half of the cycle. If he surfs more to a lower PS, then I know it wasn't too much insulin.

Or do I have all this backwards? Of course Lucky is not one of those cut and dry cases, either. He tends to bounce pretty easily, even on high blues. I'm just throwing out some ideas and looking for clues for too much insulin vs. too little.
 
Is his appetitie consistent?
Is the food measured out? (I free feed with 11 cats!)

Maybe notice how much he eats - when Spitzer pigs out, his glucose bmups up; when he just nibbles, it doesn't.
 
That's a good question. I've been wondering also if food might have something to do with it. I did try feeding him the same exact food (SK Mixed Grill) at the same exact time every day for about 2 weeks and it didn't really make a difference.

I think I'll try again though. I've switched to Sophisticat because it is so much cheaper and the Turkey and Giblets are supposed to be 0% carbs. Right now he gets either the Mixed Grill (one of the cats doesn't like it and has been puking during the night so this one is out), Country Style Dinner, or the Turkey and Giblets (all the cats like this one, which is a good thing for my picky eaters).. He gets right around the same amount every time because I split the can up between the 3 cats. He usually eats it all right away. I wish I could free feed, lol.

I need to pick up some more food so I'll get all of one kind this time and see how that goes. I don't think I have the patience to police his food to make sure he takes it a little easier though!

Update: +9 was 318, so this cycle has been the same exact cycle as the one on 10/31 so far with the only difference being a 1.6 dose and a 1.2 dose. Weird.
 
I actually think you are making progress and I like the results you are getting on the lower doses.

Todays blue is only 3 days later. Maybe he'll get another one in 2 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top