11/7 Garland AMPS 339 PMPS 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
I need some advice.

I just got news that one of my closest friends mom just passed away this morning. The funeral looks like it will be Friday. So I will be going out of town for a few days. I think I will be here for the shot Wed night (leaving right after), be gone Thursday, Friday, and drive back Saturday sometime.

I will be sleeping on my friends couch. Taking Garland with me is not an option. Not going is not an option.

My husband will be staying home with the kids (YIKES! Hes never been alone with them more than 30 minutes) and I think he can manage the shots. Hopefully. But I know testing will be out of the question. Garland is a very feisty cat, and I think he will be lucky if she lets him near her to shoot her. Also with the stress of being home with a 1yr and 3yr old for the first time will be very hard on him. Hes never handled the kids and the house alone before. Plus a diabetic cat. I know he will do what he can though.

My question is, since there will be no home testing for roughly 5 shots should I have him shoot her a half dose or something? What do you guys think?

Yesterday
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

No advice from me, of course. Just sympathies for the loss of your friend's mom. I know your presence will be a comfort to her.

DH may be surprised in many ways with the "mom" duties. I hope some of those surprises are pleasant!
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

My condolences to you and your friend on the loss of her mother. I'm sure she will appreciate your support during this difficult time.

This may sound harsh, it isn't meant to be....I tend to be pretty direct, so please don't be offended!

I don't think reducing by 50% and shooting blind is a good option for Garland. She has a hx of DKA and recently had ketones, didn't she? Honestly, you test for a very good reason, right? If I were you, I would be very worried about coming home to a kitty who is seriously ill.

I really think you should start teaching DH to test and shoot today....don't make testing optional. I have a DH too, and I know it seems like they are pretty helpless when it comes to stepping into our shoes, but honestly....they CAN do it! I simply told my DH that it was something he needed to learn to do to keep Mr Tinkles safe, period....like any other chore/task that needs to get done. He whined about it, but he learned. ;-) Everyone in my house knows how to test and shoot. It's a really good idea to have backup, precisely for this type of situation. The bonus is that he gets to see what you go through every day, and he may appreciate you more when you get back! :lol:

You may want to reduce the dose somewhat, but I would post for advice about that right before you leave.....say Wednesday morning.

ETA: Be sure to teach him how to test for ketones too....
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

Violet --

Maybe if you point out to DH how much $$ it will cost if Garland has to be hospitalized again it will help him to evaluate the cost vs. the benefit of testing.
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

Prayers for a solution to your issue Violet. DH is going to be SO surprised to learn all those little things you do and even YOU don't think about doing them. This is going to be very enlightening....

Hugs my friend, extra scratches for Garland and Connick,
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

When it comes to DH testing, its not "will/can he do it".. its if Garland will "let him do it"

She can become very aggressive when anyone deals with her other than me. I plan on trying to teach him. But once Im not here, I need to be prepared for the "what if" she fights like mad, scratching, hissing, ect... when he tries to poke her ear. He will be alone with 2 kids for the first time also. So if he goes in there, and spends 10 minutes with a mean cat just trying to poke her for a test, I can see him giving up eventually. I dont know. Like I said, i do plan on teaching him, but Garland may have other plans....
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

No advice here, but I hope you get something figured out. So sorry to hear about your friend's mom.
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

I understand what you're saying, Violet. But a lot of what our kitties (and DH's) will tolerate is dependent on our approach as well. If you (and DH) approach it as something that is necessary, not optional, that will help. Confidence and determination are important factors in success. Being unsure or tentative is a recipe for an uncooperative cat. My cat was not keen on testing in the beginning, I had to have someone hold him for a while. He is completely intolerant of restraint, using the burrito method was not an option. I had to restrain him just enough, but not too much....it was a fine line. But giving up only teaches them that they can win, and avoid testing....not the message you want Garland to get.

How did you learn how to test Garland? Some of those tricks may be helpful to DH. Teach him how to burrito her. Post with problems he encounters (or have him post) and people here will have suggestions to help him. I know it sounds insurmountable, but it isn't....you learned to test and so did hundreds of people here...it can be done. The sooner he starts, the better the chance he will be testing like a pro before you leave. The good news is that Garland already knows how to bleed, so that hurdle should not present itself!

Just ask yourself this....if one of the kids was diabetic, would you allow your DH to shoot blind?

I can hear the stress in your post.....I truly do understand that it's overwhelming and stressful and I don't wish to add to your stress! However, my top concern is always the cat, and frankly, Garland is a high risk kitty for DKA so it's important to point that out....I would be remiss if I didn't. I'm really sorry if that sounds uncaring, I DO care about the beans too, but kitty comes first. Someone has to be the heavy and point out the risks of your plan....I guess it's me today! ;-)
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

Violet - I really would push you to have DH take over testing and shooting until you leave so he is comfortable. You know better than anyone how quickly she goes downhill when she isn't on the right dose AND/OR doesn't eat enough. So he should write down what she eats also if this is possible or weigh her for you. Maybe give him a login to the group. I know he will have his hands full, but we are here to help. Is there anyone in your city that can help also? If I was closer I'd pop in once a day for you but I don't fly nailbite_smile

Sending hugs for you and your friend. That is so sad :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

Hi guys .. I can totally relate to having a cat that will or will not let you do things to them! Mocha was on insulin for nearly two years and every single day, twice a day, giving her a shot was a battle in this house. But it was done, every single day, twice a day. I know you have a lot on your plate to deal with, and my sympathies to your friend on her loss, but DH HAS to take charge of garland .. Maybe put garland in a room where she can't run/hide from DH at test times? She could have her kitty box, her food bowls, toys, blankets, etc. Whatever would make her feel most at home in her home and would also allow DH easy access to her so he isn't frustrated. I will keep you guys in my thoughts that this is an easy up coming week for all of you ..
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

Now im stressing out even more.

Ive read on here how pricking ears is very complicated to learn.Especially with a cat who wont let you pick her up. I was lucky. Garland sits on my lap and purrs the whole time. She trusts me. She never fights with me. I get a blood test done on her in less than 10 seconds. I dont have to use tricks, a rice sock, or anything. Its always been easy for me to get one done for her. I pick her up, put her on the counter, free hand a quick prick, squeeze a drop of blood, test and away she goes. Less than 10 seconds.

The last time my DH even tried to pick her up in general, he got a pretty bad scratch across his hand. And you have to admit, pricking a surface area of a human fingertip is a bit easier to learn than finding a vein on the edge of a scratching, hissing cat ear. Im actually worried about if he will be able to get the insulin in her at all. I just dont know how things will happen with me not here.

I know he will try to do everything, kids, cats, house, etc.. but hes new to it all. Hes out of the house for work from 6am - 8pm. He barely even sees the kids during the week. Honestly, Im more worried about the kids being okay with me gone only because hes never had to take care of 2 wild kids 3 and under. What if he feeds them something thats a choking hazard bc he doesnt know how to cut up certain foods, what if he forgets to lock the front door and the 3 year old runs into the street, what if he doesnt notice the baby found something that could hurt him, what if he takes them out of the house and loses one (and yes, that is a huge possibility).. all these things are going through my mind.... So all of that plus him trying to deal with Garland... nailbite_smile

I know what yall are saying. I totally agree with you. I promise to do what I can to see if him testing can be done. But I cant promise it will be done. Thats why I was wondering if a lower dose would be a good idea to make sure hypo doesnt happen. Or having him feed her some HC food once a day or something.

And Im only going to be gone 2 full days. I will be there for her PMPS Wed night and her PMPS Saturday night.
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

Linda for Weezer said:
Violet,

Is boarding Garland with your vet a possibility?

No, money is too tight around here. Plus, shes more comfy here. The vet had to sedate her a few weeks ago just to get her out of her carrier. They wouldnt be able to test before every shot any better than DH could. DH has a better chance to get this done. Tonight I will have a better idea of how it will go. I plan on having him do her shot/test tonight
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

I only have one thought to add...
don't know if it will be helpful, but when I test Binks, I kneel down, and
he sits between my legs on a testing rug,
rather than being picked up.

sending you condolences on your loss...
and the most positive thoughts on resolving the DH treating Garland while you are gone!

celi
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes

Good luck. You're trying, DH is trying; really that's the best anyone can do. Sometimes we're able to do what we didn't think possible. I hope this is one of those times.
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 - Advice needed- eyes +6 306

Think of Garland's favorite people food like chicken or turkey--Take 5-6 little pieces & have DH put them in front of Garland while you teach him to test...After a few times Garland will hopefully get the pix that DH will be giving him a little protein treat with testing & shooting too--It is what helped my DH to learn( & that in iteslf was a miracle that he could do it) he only knows how to test--
Hopefully this may work, you know cats love peeps food!
Moonie stopped fighting me when she got some food---Good luck..Sorry about your friend's mom.
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 PMPS 303

It did not go well at shot time.... :YMSIGH:

He couldnt even give the shot. He poked her, held it there, asked if I thought he got it in, then pulled it out without even pushing the pludger?? I ended up doing it because by now she was getting mad. I told him he had to be quick about it, just poke, plundge and pull out. He said he wasnt sure if it went in or not.What if he cant even give her the shot right? nailbite_smile

I showed him a video, I explained it all, I showed him how to do it without actually poking her... tomorrow night is the last test run before I leave. He wont be around for her AMPS in the morning
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 PMPS 303

Violet --

The other option may be to see if one of the vet techs from your vet's office will come by and shoot. It may be expensive but it will be less expensive than boarding.

I think Laurie's point is well taken. If this was one of your kids, what would DH do?
 
Re: 11/7 Garland AMPS 337 PMPS 303

Sienne and Gabby said:
Violet --

The other option may be to see if one of the vet techs from your vet's office will come by and shoot. It may be expensive but it will be less expensive than boarding.

I think Laurie's point is well taken. If this was one of your kids, what would DH do?

We cant afford either option.

If it was one of our kids it would be 100x easier. A childs finger is easy to prick, no small veins to look for, no tricks, no sharp claws coming at you. Its also easier to give a child a shot, you just poke and go while they sit on your lap,no skin to pull up, no worries about fur shots or hitting a muscle.

Its not that he doesnt want to , or isnt willing. Its just not easy when the cat in question is aggressive to everyone but me. But he is trying.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top