11/7: Cliff|AMPS=380, PMPS=444

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
Happy Monday!

AM Test/feed/shoot notes:
  • Cliff woke us up. I pet his head and talked to him. He lead me downstairs to the kitchen and was a very willing participant this morning in his routine.
  • Ear poke fine, trying to hold tissue for 10-15 sec of pressure.
  • He ate well, and then went to the new bed we set up for him last week and laid down and started purring. I gave him his shot, no problem. :)
I hope his willingness continues!
-------------------------------------------------
PM test/feed/shoot notes:
  • Cliff played a little coy this evening-sitting just out of reach of me under the kitchen table, then the coffee table, behind the chair. But he didn't RUN, hide completely, or leave the room. So... I think he was playing "hard to get." I won though, or he let me win. ;)
  • I've been concentrating on the test poke, being less forceful and holding pressure for a few seconds after. It helps that I "trust the process" now. I know if I warm the ear and poke, it will bleed. I'm not as stressed. It helps. :) I think his ears are looking better already! But I do want to try to find a pet friendly ointment or spray to put on the ears.
  • They both ate really well!
  • Husband helped with shoot, because, why not? He's around in the evenings, he's better at it, Cliff trusts him more. There will be plenty of times (every morning, now) where I will be shooting solo.
  • The PMPS # seems high... But I'll be honest, I haven't even been as worried about the #s and what they mean. My main goal has been to gather the data this first week and then share with the vet. The more familiar I get with the process, the more analytical and interpretive I imagine I will be. I feel hopeful my vet will be on board with all of this at-home testing-she did suggest the AT2 and at home tracking in a very early email.
Have a great <insert here> where ever you are! :)
-----------------------------------------------------------
3 Things I'm Thankful for:
  1. Coffee
  2. Hubby driving me to work
  3. Walking with a friend over lunch
 
Last edited:
Sounds like he is starting to get used to it! I truly believe that as they start to feel better they realize the shot is what's helping. Glad he was so okay with it!
 
Wow! These are good signs that he's accepting the new routine. This will help your anxiety level as well.

I think you said yesterday that he's seeing the vet this week. It's possible the vet will suggest an increase in dose. I want to give you a heads up that they sometimes think only in half units and that might well be too large an increase. We usually recommend no more than 0.25 u increases especially at low dose levels like Cliff's. Half a unit would be a 50% increase! Just something for you to keep in mind.
 
Wow! These are good signs that he's accepting the new routine. This will help your anxiety level as well.

I think you said yesterday that he's seeing the vet this week. It's possible the vet will suggest an increase in dose. I want to give you a heads up that they sometimes think only in half units and that might well be too large an increase. We usually recommend no more than 0.25 u increases especially at low dose levels like Cliff's. Half a unit would be a 50% increase! Just something for you to keep in mind.
Thanks for the tip! I've noted it in my file--which is an online document that I've named "Cliff Notes" :) Where I track current to-do's, questions, helpful notes & tips, etc..
 
Sounds like he is starting to get used to it! I truly believe that as they start to feel better they realize the shot is what's helping. Glad he was so okay with it!
I also believe that, because Baco was also 'asking' for her shot every morning or even in the afternoon just 1 hour before her shot time she would ask for it when she was extremely high. I think they really understand that the poking and the shots are helping them to feel better.
How lovely Michele! Like Sue said,the routine becomes a 'routine' ;)
 
Last edited:
I also believe that, because Baco was also 'asking' for her shot every morning or even in the afternoon just 1 hour before her shot time she would ask for it when she was extremely high. I think they really understand that the poking and the shots are helping them to feel better.
How lovely Michele! Like Sue said,the routine becomes a 'routine' ;)

All of your comments really do make me feel better! I felt a bit like "mean kitty mommy" last week, but after this morning, he even rolled over on his side and let me pet him and was purring. I really *do* think they know what we are doing is GOOD for them. I HOPE so, at least!
 
You aren't a mean kitty mommy! We all do this out of love for our kitties right?! And they all need to adjust to the new routine and situation but they will get there, with there kitty parents ;)

Yes, just believe they know that what we are doing is good for them and it will all be easier! Believe me, in a couple of weeks Cliff will all find this normal and will wait for his shot! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Love that picture btw! :D what is your other cats name?
Haha, thanks! That's a picture of "as close as they get to cuddling/touching." Our other cat is Stella/Stelly. :) One of these days, I hope to post some more pictures of them both. Thank you!! :)
 
hihihihihihi :smuggrin: That sounds lik my Baco and Minnie! They also 'cuddle' eachother that way, that's it... Other then that Baco will dominate Minnie:woot:
 
You've made great progress in a very short time! You're right not to worry too much about BG numbers for now. You have plenty to deal with for now.:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top