11/7 BuddyM AMPS 116 | +2 44 | +4.5 70 | +6 81 | +7 92

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mariette, Jan 7, 2021.

  1. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Feed him some hc with a teaspoon of syrup or honey and test in 20 minutes
     
  3. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Hi Mariette, don't panic. Does Buddy seem all right to you? Feed him another small amount, about 1 teaspoon, of HC and test again in 15-20 minutes.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max was in the 30’s at times and never showed symptoms.
     
  5. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    He's sleepy.
    I gave 1 tsp HC and 3 MC at +3... He's only up to 50 at about 3.5
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Feed hc with honey and test in 20.
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He’s really flying down the dosing scale! Did you change his diet after diagnosis?
     
  8. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    I gave some gravy with Karo. But I'm worried that this is still early in the cycle. Will I be able to keep him afloat with HC and Karo?
     
  9. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    The HC and karo should bring him up, but the karo can wear off quickly, so it is good that you also fed HC too.
     
    Mariette and tiffmaxee like this.
  10. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    You are doing great :bighug: You have support to help :bighug:
     
    Mariette and tiffmaxee like this.
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes, you can control this by feeding every 20-30 minutes. The build up of hc and karo might even cause him to go high. Otherwise he will flatten out. It’s just a question of rinse, lather, repeat. Just keep him hungry. Don’t feed a lot at an time.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  12. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    I fed mostly the gravy with the karo. He had a lot of food this morning before the low readings
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My first under 40 was 3/4 14. Max went from PMPS 340 to 200 to 40 and was green the rest of the day.
     
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It only takes the gravy amd karo to bring him up. The carbs are in the gravy.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Doesn’t look like a FS, lol. Reduction earned officially this time! Lol.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2021
  16. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    53 about 20 -25 after the gravy/karo
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Rinse, lather, repeat. Not dropping under 50 so all is good.
     
  18. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Only up to 52 after quite a bit of HC gravy and some Karo. He's not so keen on eating anymore. I don't know if it's because he had too much food this morning. Or if it's possible he doesn't like the Karo? Do some of them not want Karo/honey?
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My bet is not hungry. Will he eat hc without Karo? That’s fine too. But yes might not like the taste too.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  20. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Hercules does not like honey at all! But if I smear outside his mouth he is obliged to lick (cat rules, don't ask...;)), so if you really need to, you can try this way?
     
    tiffmaxee and Mariette like this.
  21. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thank goodness.. All the HC and whatever karo he got has kicked in. He's 70
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  22. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Cosmo doesn’t like honey either. But, if he needs it, I smear it on his gums. Sometimes I get lucky and he will eat it with some HC gravy.
     
    Katherine&Ruby and Mariette like this.
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hold off on food and check in an hour.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2021
    Mariette likes this.
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Would you please add the last bg reading to your title? Thanks.
     
  25. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thank you guys so much for supporting
     
    Hercule's mum likes this.
  26. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    82 at +5.25. Uhm, I may have overdone it a bit with the HC
     
  27. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    It is always better to overdo than under in these cases. You did well! it is stresful!
     
    Mariette likes this.
  28. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Super stressful!
    His nadir should be coming up around this time so hopefully it gives him enough of a bump to stay afloat. Just scared he's going to crash from all the carbs.
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I agree. Especially until we know how he reacts.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He might also bounce from being under 50.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  31. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    92 at +7... that might be the bounce you're talking about
     
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Perhaps. Take a break and stop testing until PMPS. If he bounces he will likely continue to rise. I don’t think he will be coming down.
     
  33. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thank you for the insight
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2021
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Just checking to see what you were going to do tonight. I see you skipped. Have a nice night.
     
  35. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    I've decided to do a token dose instead. Filled the spreadsheet prematurely.
    Not sure what to do really.
     
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Maybe 1.0? I’m glad you will give something.
     
  37. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thanks Elise. I thought about doing 1 as well, but I don't know what's going on with Buddy. I read they can be quite sensitive to insulin after a near hypo and Buddy was clearly not doing well today. Not just talking about the numbers. He sat huddled and at one point lay with these half lidded eyes. No purring or grooming, no appetite. He was just a little lump from +3 to +8.

    Sadly I don't trust that TR would keep Buddy safe. With only being allowed 0.25 unit reductions and no back to back reductions either, he would still have been over 3 units if I only reduced him when was considered appropriate. I really think that it needs more flexibility because it didn't fit for Buddy.
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He’s responding really well to Lantus. He would have earned those reductions rapidly I think. He might turn out to be a cat that quickly goes into remission. He’s definitely not a bouncer so far. There’s nothing that says you can’t take back to back reductions. For most cats they aren’t successful. Remember which I know you already know, you hold the syringe.
     

Share This Page