11/7 Blaze amps424 +6 272 PMPS 89 +1 69 +2 73 + 3 68 +4 113 +5 143

I’m needing some advice on a vacation dose coming up. Myself and DH will be out of town next week, we are leaving Thursday evening on 11/14 after pm shot, so no one will be home to test/monitor that night. And then our pet sitter will be coming for AMPS and PMPS on 11/15, 11/16 and then the morning of 11/17 (we will be home for PMPS on 11/17). She can only come twice a day to test/feed/shoot so no additional testing will be done. We leave in 7 days so I want to make sure we have enough time to get down to a safe vacation dose before we leave. Any suggestions on safe dose while we are out of town, and a no shoot number for the pet sitter?
 
Blaze will get back on track. I hope you are feeling better. It's best to wait until a couple of days before you are going to leave to ask about a vacation dose because things can change between now and then.
Okay, last time I went on vacation, other members suggested I start his vacation dose a couple days BEFORE I leave, so I just wanted to make sure I have enough time to do so.
 
This is the lowest pre shot we’ve had. Amps was 424, +6 was 272 and now PMPS was 89. That’s a huge drop, isn’t it? I’m afraid for tonight.
 
He didn’t stall food or shot, he just tested blood sugar, fed him and gave 1.5U and I’m freaking out a bit. I’m on my way home now, will get a +1 but I think it’s going to be a long and stressful night
 
Eeeep! Well, Mr. Blaze is full of surprises, isn't he????

Glad you're heading home to check things out, but don't worry about a long night until it happens-- remember, it's Lantus, shooting low often leads to a less eventful cycle! I mean, it's definitely not ideal as your first time shooting green with Blaze maybe moving down at shot time (maybe pull DH aside and teach him about "stalling"!), but no reason for panic at this point. For all you know, it could have been a bad strip.

Now, assuming it wasn't a bad strip, I do wonder why he picked today to move into these numbers, after several missed shots... Maybe his pancreas was just very excited about getting some help again?
 
Eeeep! Well, Mr. Blaze is full of surprises, isn't he????

Glad you're heading home to check things out, but don't worry about a long night until it happens-- remember, it's Lantus, shooting low often leads to a less eventful cycle! I mean, it's definitely not ideal as your first time shooting green with Blaze maybe moving down at shot time (maybe pull DH aside and teach him about "stalling"!), but no reason for panic at this point. For all you know, it could have been a bad strip.

Now, assuming it wasn't a bad strip, I do wonder why he picked today to move into these numbers, after several missed shots... Maybe his pancreas was just very excited about getting some help again?
I know! DH usually sends me a text with the PMPS number and asks me what to do, but tonight he just sent me the pre shot number, fed him and gave the 1.5U before I could respond :eek: I told him, in the future, if Blaze is under 100 when I’m not home yet, wait to feed him or give insulin and retest in 15-20 minuteso_O

And that’s what seems strange to me! I skipped the shot two nights ago, gave two accidental fur shots yesterday, this morning he gets his 1.5U and heads straight down, down, down. What the heck?! His pancreas for overly excited!

I’m going to grab a +1 now, will post in a few.
 
@Nan & Amber (GA)

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Okay doesn’t seem like it was a bad strip. +1 is 69. Should I feed him something now? If so, what? I have his normal LC Friskies, I have 10%, 13%, 15% and 20%
I would give him some higher carb food to bring him up a bit as it is only +1
Try a 13% and see if that brings him up. If it doesn't try a higher carb.
I'd test hourly at the moment until he is a bit higher and the insulin has onset.
 
Yes he ate well, ate all of his normal dinner! He’s acting normal, following me around right now.

Bet he's feeling pretty good!

I'm inclined to recommend just the regular LC for now, but have an itchy trigger finger for the MC [ETA: I see Bron posted simultaneously, and is leaning towards higher carb. I'll defer to her, since I'm not going to be able to stay up tonight with you guys, plus I was wavering on the carb question myself!]. I'm really not sure what he's doing today, to be honest. Is it possible he started a bounce from something that happened on 11/5, bounced all the way through furshot-palooza, and is just now coming down off of it?

How late can you stay up tonight? I am unfortunately not going to be able to stay with you to see what he does, but I really hope he behaves himself.
 
I would give him some higher carb food to bring him up a bit as it is only +1
Try a 13% and see if that brings him up. If it doesn't try a higher carb.
I'd test hourly at the moment until he is a bit higher and the insulin has onset.
Okay I gave him some 13% and will test again at +2. He’s acting totally normal but I will keep a close eye on him. Thank goodness I don’t have to work tomorrow!
If at +2, he isn’t higher than the 69, should I try some 15% carb?
 
Bet he's feeling pretty good!

I'm inclined to recommend just the regular LC for now, but have an itchy trigger finger for the MC [ETA: I see Bron posted simultaneously, and is leaning towards higher carb. I'll defer to her, since I'm not going to be able to stay up tonight with you guys, plus I was wavering on the carb question myself!]. I'm really not sure what he's doing today, to be honest. Is it possible he started a bounce from something that happened on 11/5, bounced all the way through furshot-palooza, and is just now coming down off of it?

How late can you stay up tonight? I am unfortunately not going to be able to stay with you to see what he does, but I really hope he behaves himself.
I went ahead and gave him 13%, so we’ll see if that does anything for him when I get the +2 test.
I have no idea what he’s doing tonight. I don’t know if it could be a bounce clearing from 11/5, he seems to be clearing bounces a little quicker but who knows. There’s no other explanation that I can think of, especially with the the fur shot shenanigans yesterday :facepalm:

Thankfully, I don’t work tomorrow so I can stay up. I have been up since 5 am though so I hope I don’t crash later. But am willing to stay up tonight to make sure he’s safe.
 
Congratulations on shooting your first green!:D

You have earned your BOS
BOS.jpg
 
Back
Top