11/7 Alska AMPS=310

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well right now you have two choices up or down. Helpful huh? Either go up in dose and force him down but risk him nose diving while you can't monitor. Or reduce and pray he smoothes out and at least regulates ( 200s at preshots, 100s at nadir) and either ease up the dose from there or switch insulin. Both choices have risks. Personally if he was mine I'd go down to 1.25 see if he stops swinging, while catching as many ketone tests as possible.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Wow.. it never crossed my mind that I could reduce but I guess I get it now - if these high numbers are all bounces because of mid-cycle lows which I don't know about yet, then I could reduce. I learn something new everyday. I think I would like to wait until Saturday when I can get a +5, +6, +7 to see if this is the case. I was thinking that I am definitely going to raise him to 2u but that might not be the right solution. The idea of 2u is really irking me. But he is a much heavier cat now. He gots a big round and very pink belly :-D

Thanks Mel - I learn so much from you. My only concern is that he will bounce all through the cycle like last weekend so I won't truly have the data to raise or lower the dose. At least I will have three days to try to get some tests in.
 
We know he can go green on this dose but he does it with swan dives and that sets up the bounce. Remember physics? For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction, right? So a steep drop sets up the equal and opposite reaction or a sky high bounce. Part of that is the nature of a Lantus curve, the rest is pure physics and the law of action and reaction.

By going down in dose he might not get as low in a cycle but he'll get there slower so in theory spring up less high in reaction to that drop. Then slowly bringing him back up and letting him really settle each time so the curve lowers overall.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top