11/7 Advise please,is Bailey on too much insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
I am really confused as to Baileys fluctuating numbers,for many months the highest numbers we saw were in the yellow range,over the past few months we are getting quite a lot of pinks! He is well in himself,his diet is the same,and there has been no change to his routine. Is it possible he is on too much insulin? I am getting conflicting opinions on how to tell if he is! Some say the signs of too much insulin is high flat numbers,others say you get high and low numbers,I am very confused as Bailey gets days when he is high and flat,then he gets days when he dips at nadir time!! This is such a tricky illness.I have been reluctant to up his insulin as he does occasionally drop to a very low number,he has no consistency.could the experts please help me out on this one,and give me their valued opinion. Thank you in advance. Diane
 
I'm not an expert, but my 2 cents is free ;-) there's nothing in his ss that says to me that it's too large of a dose.

it seems like that question has been coming up a lot lately. Anna recently asked about her Bailey too. If you've followed the dosing protocol and adjusted by small increments, allowed appropriate lengths of time between dose adjustments, I don't think you have to worry about his dose being too large. You've basically done all of those things. The way to know for certain is to test more, but I know you can't test at night. He is having relatively normal cycles - few cats have perfect cycles all the time. He does have curves, he does get into blue and green nadirs. On Nov. 3rd he had a nice long blue surf!

All of that is normal and would support you being at a fairly appropriate dose. If i were going to do anything, I'd increase the dose by 0.25u, but I would only do that if i were able to get more night cycle tests. Without those, i think you're ok staying at this dose.

There aren't any comments about him on the US numbers page - i'm not sure if they're on the other ss and just not transferring over. It does help to have some comments about vet visits, overall demeanor, appetite, any meds, etc., on the comments section of the ss. But - you're saying here in the post that he's acting fine - I think that helps to confirm that his dose is fairly good.

Nice to see you & Bailey, Diane! :-D
 
I agree with Julie that I don't think Bailey is getting too much insulin. Where I disagree is that I think you're holding the doses for too long. Bailey has been at the current dose since October 25th. With nadirs under 200, you hold the dose for 5 days. You may need to stick with the protocol and see if increasing a bit more frequently gets you the results you're looking for.
 
Thank you Julie & Sienne for answering my plea for help! and giving me your valued advice,it is very much appreciated.
You have given me the confidence I needed to up his dose tonight,fingers & paws crossed that it will kick the horrid pinks into touch,I didn't realise how lucky we were for those 5 months when we saw only yellows,blues & a few greens!! Many thanks. Diane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top