11/6 Shasta AMPS=295 +1=298 +1.5=299 +13=202 +15=332 +17=305

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Member Since 2012
11/5 Shasta

WCR: All Ps in place. Appy is good this morning. Snuggles at bedtime and again this morning. Her numbers are high this morning because I left out a little too much snack over night. I got a ketones test this weekend (rare occurrence) and it was negative.

Ok, so it's official...I'm worried about her water intake and pee. For the past month, she's been drinking more water than usual, but her pee tally/frequency (as well as size) had not changed. The past 2 days, she is still drinking lots of water, but only peeing twice in the day. To recap: the past year (or so), she was drinking a small to moderate amount of water (~ 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of water a week) and peeing approx. 3 times per day (medium size piles). As of the past month: she is drinking approx. a full cup of water every five days or so and peeing 3 times a day...until the past two days and only twice each day. Sorry if that's confusing. Anyone with some good speculations? Guesses? Advice? Her fuds intake has been mostly the same. She's been eating a bit less the past week, but I think it's because of sinuses...watery eyes, sneezing, rubbing eyes, etc.

I'd appreciate any advice/help/suggestions. THANK YOU!

I'm off to a faculty meeting. blah. :YMSIGH: Happy Wacky Wednesday, LL! Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins! Blessings!

~Deborah & Shasta


AMPS=295 (4% FF Chopped Grill 1oz, 1/4 tab K & miralax)
+1=298
+1.5=299 (3% FF T&G 1oz & Cosequin, 5% FF Chunky Chicken, 12% FFEMF Chicken)

+13=202 (4% FF Chicken 1oz, atenolol, squash)
+15=332
+17=305 (3% FF T&G 1oz & zobaline)

Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 4
Poo piles - 0 :shock:
 
Re: 11/6 Shasta AMPS=295 +1=298 +1.5=299

Morning Deborah,

No advice on the pee issue, but wanted to stop by and say hello. Glad to hear that Shasta is feeling good and ketone neg (yippee!)

Hope you have a good day and get some helpful advice.

Jane
 
Re: 11/6 Shasta AMPS=295 +1=298 +1.5=299

I wish I had some great insight, but nothing comes to mind. I will be watching to see what others say though. Negative ketones is a good thing. Good news on the good appy and the snuggles. Have a great day Deborah!
 
Re: 11/6 Shasta AMPS=295 +1=298 +1.5=299

I don't know about the water/pee issue. I think several things can cause excessive thirst. Maybe you should get some bloodwork done. B/W would at least give you some peace of mind in knowing what you're dealing with.

I'm glad Shasta had a good appy this morning and the ketones are negative.
 
Re: 11/6 Shasta AMPS=295 +1=298 +1.5=299 +13=202 +15=332

Thanks Jane, Melissa & Carla for checking in on us today. I had a brain fart tonight...a pretty big one. After my students' rehearsal was over at 5:00pm, I started working on my music software program, inputting music. I have so much music to input that it will take me FOREVER to do it (and I even have students helping me.) Anyways, I kept working and working and all the while I was thinking about Shasta's PM shot. I left about 10 minutes late, which would have put me 10-15 minutes late on her shot. As I was pulling out of the school parking lot, I realized that I had a chiropractor appointment in 15 minutes. CRAP! I could have raced home, test/shoot/feed, raced back to chiropractor (literally across the street from school) and I would have been late. OR...skip Shasta's shot and go straight to chiro. That's what I did...hence the +13, +15, etc. :sad:

Needless to say, Shasta was VERY happy to see me as she was starving. So, here's the weird thing...I know that the glucometers have a 20% variance, but here's what I first got at +15 - 436; I retested because even though I skipped her shot...RED is just not acceptable for Shasta! Second re-test came back 361 and just for s**ts and giggles, I tested a third time...332. Over a hundred point difference from the first test to the third retest within the matter of seconds. Not normal, right? Or maybe I should say...not ok, right?! If that's the variance, what I am I doing to her when she's registering in the 60s?

Anyways, she's irritated that I'm working on the computer and not playing. We did play and she ripped my finger up...but at least she was cute. :roll: :-D I'm not feeling great, so I'm headed to bed. My classroom is freezing and it's 80+ degrees outside, so my body is having a really hard time with the back and forth temp. Maybe rest will help me. Hope everyone is doing well. Good night.
 
Re: 11/6 Shasta AMPS=295 +1=298 +1.5=299 +13=202 +15=332

I think anytime the water/pee ratio is off, it's a good idea to get some bloodwork done to check for early kidney problems, especially since so many of our sugarkitties have kidney problems too

I think it would ease your mind some to have Shasta get a good look over by your vet.

Hope you find out there's nothing wrong and you're just being a paranoid mamabean!
 
Re: 11/6 Shasta AMPS=295 +1=298 +1.5=299 +13=202 +15=332 +17

Hey, Deborah -

I stopped by b/c I wondered about the +13, etc, but read your note about it. Sorry about that.

The different meter readings...Just spit ballin'...well, 20% of higher numbers is more than 20% of the lower numbers. 20% variance on that (361) would be (433.2), so pretty much the same as the (436) you got. Maybe she was stressed because of your absence, delay of food, whatever and the (332) you got was her calming since you were home? Or, maybe the (332) was a wonky read? I once had questions about my meter and was told to test myself to see if it seemed a reasonable number. Do meters peter out?

The drinking/pee issue...still spit ballin'...are you giving her any meds that could dehydrate? A week or so ago I posted my concerns about Hershey's increased water consumption. I later wondered if it was related to his appy being down (so not getting the water I add to his food) and the Miralax, which pulls water to do its job. When was the last time she had bloodwork/urinalysis done? It's probably not a bad idea.

I hope you have a peaceful night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top