? 11/6 Pudge sick im worried.. wont eat at all AMPS 168 +2 134 +3 81 +4 78 +5 80 +6 84 +6 86 +9 90

kitten68

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-105-5-82-6-91-room-to-increase-a-bit.295465/

this baby has been having vomiting. at these numbers i cant give shot.. cuz he doesnt want to eat at all. last meal was around 3 pm.. tried feeding last meal prior to PS (around 5:30 or so) and didnt want it. uh oh.

he got his flea treatment after 1.5 mo of missing dose this afternoon (accidental.. just kept forgetting, a lot happening.. hes also indoors now) and never had a problem before but i think thats what this is again…. :( :( :( awful!!

just going to try get him to eat tonite.. i know i should have shoot, but i cant if he wont eat.. before he would eat pretty soon after. hes not eating much at all this time. did get him to take a few bites. just going to try to get him to eat. im worried.. any advice appreciated. :(
 
i know i should have shoot, but i cant if he wont eat.
Yes you can shoot. Even cat undergoing anaesthesia who cannot eat, can get a half dose. A token dose should be OK. The Lantus doesn't take effect for a couple hours, so you have time to get him to eat before the Lantus starts lowering his numbers again.

So he went 2.5 hours without food then didn't want to eat again? That's not an emergency. Do you have some food or treats he normally loves? Will he eat a bit of that?

Since you skipped, please check for ketones.

Please remove the 911. We save that for medical emergencies.
 
Hi. Sorry, Pudge isn't feeling well and not eating. I hope Pudge feels better soon. Sending prayers and hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:

When I have a hard time getting Butch to eat, I try Beech Nut baby food chicken & broth or beef & broth (warm it up a little). Also, I have sprinkled grated cheese on his cat food.
 
Yes you can shoot. Even cat undergoing anaesthesia who cannot eat, can get a half dose. A token dose should be OK. The Lantus doesn't take effect for a couple hours, so you have time to get him to eat before the Lantus starts lowering his numbers again.

So he went 2.5 hours without food then didn't want to eat again? That's not an emergency. Do you have some food or treats he normally loves? Will he eat a bit of that?

Since you skipped, please check for ketones.

Please remove the 911. We save that for medical emergencies.
tysm for saying :bighug:; sorry about the 911.. if there is a next time.. half the dose? what is token dosage? but what if he just wont eat? o_O What happens this instance?….

been monitoring him.. hes eaten some good food and kept it down. because he didnt want to eat this time i didnt because last time he wanted to eat pretty quickly and was ready to.. :blackeye: i wasnt sure. and right no the last time he’d eaten (3 pm) and the time then was around 8:30.. also i try to give food every 3-5 hrs if can.. he always eats these snacks. :/ and will make sure to keep well fed tonite..
 
Hi. Sorry, Pudge isn't feeling well and not eating. I hope Pudge feels better soon. Sending prayers and hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:

When I have a hard time getting Butch to eat, I try Beech Nut baby food chicken & broth or beef & broth (warm it up a little). Also, I have sprinkled grated cheese on his cat food.
thank u sm!!.. :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::bookworm::coffee: hmmm……. some great ideas. His appetite is excellent most of the time (really thankfully..), but some sound options :cat:..
 
Last edited:
When Neko wouldn't eat right away, I gave full dose if I knew I could get some food in by the time the insulin onset. I'd aim for at least 2/3 of her cycle food. And syringe some if needed.
 
When Neko wouldn't eat right away, I gave full dose if I knew I could get some food in by the time the insulin onset. I'd aim for at least 2/3 of her cycle food. And syringe some if needed.
great to know :bookworm::coffee: thanks.. so u shoot for getting in 2/3 of the food to be given of the cycle? thats what i try to do generally too.. :cat: right i go off how it appears/feels too.. today i really wasnt sure. ugh.. but understand.

PS. have u heard of flea treatments making kitties sick initially? ugh.. we need it for his mite tendency and bugs.. :(:blackeye:
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-105-5-82-6-91-room-to-increase-a-bit.295465/

this baby has been having vomiting. at these numbers i cant give shot.. cuz he doesnt want to eat at all. last meal was around 3 pm.. tried feeding last meal prior to PS (around 5:30 or so) and didnt want it. uh oh.

he got his flea treatment after 1.5 mo of missing dose this afternoon (accidental.. just kept forgetting, a lot happening.. hes also indoors now) and never had a problem before but i think thats what this is again…. :( :( :( awful!!

just going to try get him to eat tonite.. i know i should have shoot, but i cant if he wont eat.. before he would eat pretty soon after. hes not eating much at all this time. did get him to take a few bites. just going to try to get him to eat. im worried.. any advice appreciated. :(
Have you ever tried syringe feeding? That is always my backup when he needs to eat but doesn't feel like doing it on his own. It has been a lifesaver when he goes low. Good luck and I hope he feels better soon.
 
What flea treatment are you using?
Revolution, and not cheap either.. :arghh: he might just be more sensitive rn cuz hes dealing w this.. im debating seeing how he would do on the next dose.. maybe just needs to get used to it again? i can make sure isnt also just concentrated in one spot.. :bookworm::coffee:
 
Have you ever tried syringe feeding? That is always my backup when he needs to eat but doesn't feel like doing it on his own. It has been a lifesaver when he goes low. Good luck and I hope he feels better soon.
No! but will keep in mind if need.. how does that work? :woot::blackeye::coffee: and tysm! hes much better :cat::cat:
 
No! but will keep in mind if need.. how does that work? :woot::blackeye::coffee: and tysm! hes much better :cat::cat:
I just purée the food with a little water in a blender. Then I have 20 ml syringes that I fill and squirt it into his mouth. Takes a little practice but it gives me peace of mind to know I can always get food in him.
 
Revolution, and not cheap either.. :arghh: he might just be more sensitive rn cuz hes dealing w this.. im debating seeing how he would do on the next dose.. maybe just needs to get used to it again? i can make sure isnt also just concentrated in one spot.. :bookworm::coffee:
If he is indoors does he need flea treatment anymore? I have not done flea treatment on my current kitty for 16 years.
 
If he is indoors does he need flea treatment anymore? I have not done flea treatment on my current kitty for 16 years.
aw yes for sure :bighug::arghh: and he gets mites easy.. those are not a fun time. mostly he gets it for those.. fleas stink too tho. he was anemic one year cuz we stopped treatment and just to see how would do and got ate up.. he still goes out sometimes to sit in the sun w me also etc. :cat::coffee:
 
Back
Top