11/6 MAX AMPS 102+3/118+6/101PMPS 145+2/97+3/58+4.5/61+6/73

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127966

Another green day for Max yesterday. Last night he was fed a lot. I went to bed at +6.75 with him at 54. I fed him a little mc at that point which he ate. Was that dangerous to have gone to bed then? I asked again at that time if it was time for a decrease. I know he hasn't dipped under 40 but he has been under 50 three times. However, that is over a few weeks. Maybe I should not feed any hc and just feed 9% the next time this happens and see what he does?

My back felt better in bed but the minute I lifted Max to take him for his BG test it started hurting again. He spent the rest of the night/morning once I went to bed under my bed. He is is the room with me as I type this.

Prayers and vines to all beans and kitties in need and may :mrgreen: visit everyone today!

AMPS 88 +1.75 148, +3 102, +4 92, +5.5 74 ,+6.5 70
PMPS 93 +2.25 68, +3 57, +4.5 56, +5.5 61, +6.75 54
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101

I suspect we will have a blue surf so I think I will stop testing although I am a little worried he could drop by +7 as he sometimes done. I don't think it will be a big drop though.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101

Nice blues for Max today. My understanding is that if you get 3 tests under 50 on the same dose, you reduce. They don't have to be within a couple of days. I hope your back is feeling better.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101

Hi Carla. Thanks for the visit. Because Max has been diabetic for a few days shy of a year and hasn't held reductions I was told to go for one time under40. My concern now is whether I am playing with fire when I stop testing with Max in the 50's at +6.5 like I did last night. If so I might need to take a reduction the next time that happens. Thanks for answering.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101

I think with a long term diabetic you can either choose 3 times under 50 or 1 time under 40 for a reduction. For newly diagnosed, it is 1 time under 50.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101

I don't know the perfect answer about leaving him last night, elise. You've got to sleep. He has a history of still going down later in the cycle, but he was pretty flat last night. I think i would just always leave food out for him when he's running in normal numbers like this and you need to sleep.

He's looking great - and an almost entirely green day yesterday! WOWSER! I wonder if today is his last-ditch effort at a bounce before accepting those green numbers as ok.

You're on the right track - this is the best his ss has ever looked. Looking back, it's comparable to 8/28ish when he had a lot of green then. Ironically, I think he lost control when you went to 2.4u after he got to 37. At that point he'd only had 2 days without yellow.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101

Max, you're looking fantastic! What a great job, Elise. Congratulations. (And please Max, let damamabean sleep easy, o.k.?)

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101PMPS 145

Julie, thanks for looking at his ss. I was scared last night because he was surfing the 50's and being fed hourly but my back was really hurting and I just couldn't get up again.I had to drag him out from under the bed for almost every test last night. I've been taking Advil every 4 hours today. It seems to help some but when I pick Max up and carry him it starts hurting more. Last night worked out okay but the more I thought about it the more nervous I got. That is why I was seriously considering a reduction but I as afraid to reduce as well and ruin the progress if that makes any sense.

Thanks for the visit, Marilyn. Hopefully he will listen and surf in the 60's or 70's and also has forgotten about the big B-----!! I can't but help think the other shoe will drop soon yet feel like we might be having a breakthrough.

Everyone, think green!!
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101PMPS 145

Elise

I'm so sorry about your back and I hope you feel better soon. That must have been so hard to have to drag him out and test when you had a hurt back.

The Roomp/Rand TR protocol discusses reductions as being called for when:
--kitty is in normal numbers for a week OR
--three times between 40 and 50 on separate days OR
--a drop below 40

Max has been a little unusual in that his drops between 40-50 have been pretty far apart and the last one was just to 49 on 11/3.

When I look at whether to give a reduction for a night last night, I consider whether I was working really hard to keep the numbers up or not. Also, you have to consider, at any time with any numbers, how are you feeling and can you keep him safe? If you feel you can't, then drop the dosd back until you are better.

You have a great sense for Max and his patterns. The protocol is a guideline and it isn't going to work for every single cat and some cats need a bit of modification of the protocol. Kirsten Roomp recognized this on Tilly's webpage when she stated

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way).
.

I hope this helps.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101PMPS 145

Thanks Marje. It wasn't that it was hard to keep him surfing but I was feeding him hourly and he surfed but didn't go up. My concern was going to bed with him in the 50!s and not testing for two hours without food. I've done it in the 70's before but not the 50's.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101PMPS 145+

Thank you...I understand. :-D just wanted to brainstorm with you.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101PMPS 145+

This sure isn't easy!! Thanks again Marje. You have given me lots to think about.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+2/136+3.25/118+4.25/107+6/101PMPS 145+

Max does look awesome!! I hope your back feels better soon.
 
Re: 11/6 MAX AMPS 102+3.25/118+6/101PMPS 145+2/97+3/58+4.5/6

Thanks, Deanna. I don't know how I hurt my back. The Advil seems to be helping though. I hope Mr. Max will surf it now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top