11/6 Chewie AMPS 222/ +3 121/ +6 106/ forgot PMPS/ +1 141

Virginie & Chewie (GA)

Member Since 2022
Last post

Happy Sunday everyone! :cat:

Chewie woke everyone up howling like a banshee at 6am today, so I had to give her a snack (it was her +9). Unclear whether that influenced her AMPS. She is getting so much grumpier about getting her shots and so much pickier about her food, my last marbles keep threatening to jump ship o_O I miss the ravenous, docile cat (but then I feel bad because she was that way only because she was sick). Ahhh, cats. Sigh.
 
I was told to give a small snack at +9 both cycles to try and get lower pre shots, so I don't think that had anything to do with the AMPS , it was still withholding food 2 hours before Pre shot
 
The only time you give a small snack at +9 is when your cat is on itty bitty doses (think 0.25 units or less) and clearly on the road to remission. It can stimulate the sputtering pancreas to kick in.

Chewie is not in that category (yet). We suggest to brand new people that they withhold food for 2 hours before preshot, so as not to influence the preshot value and so you know it's a safe number to shoot. Once you have a handle on how your cat uses the insulin and food, and have a few +1 tests, it's not so much an issue of influencing PS that you worry about. Rather, it's more the possibility of shortening duration (and thus resulting in higher PS). After nadir, the insulin is starting to wane. Adding carbs after nadir can make the insulin effect wear off even faster. Someone gave me the analogy of a car slowing to a stop with the foot off the gas. Adding carbs after nadir is like pressing the brake pedal, stopping the car early.

You've been on this dose for quite a while, and it doesn't seem to be doing it any more. I called it "the dose going stale". You might want to consider an increase to 8.5 units.
She is getting so much grumpier about getting her shots
Have you put Levemir into the future plans?
 
The only time you give a small snack at +9 is when your cat is on itty bitty doses (think 0.25 units or less) and clearly on the road to remission.
Or when she is screaming bloody murder at 6am and your dear, patient boyfriend starts reconsidering his life choices o_O

Adding carbs after nadir can make the insulin effect wear off even faster. Someone gave me the analogy of a car slowing to a stop with the foot off the gas. Adding carbs after nadir is like pressing the brake pedal, stopping the car early.
That’s a great analogy, thanks for explaining. I typically give her the last snack of the cycle at +7 tops.

You've been on this dose for quite a while, and it doesn't seem to be doing it any more. I called it "the dose going stale". You might want to consider an increase to 8.5 units.
Ok, I will give it a couple of days - should be hearing from the vet regarding the acromegaly test tomorrow or Tuesday.

Have you put Levemir into the future plans?
It’s definitely not the insulin stinging that is the problem. Half the time the shots go great and she doesn’t even flinch. I think it’s more an issue of the skin itself being more sensitive, and in some places it feels thicker when I insert the needle. I also need to more diligent in clearing the room of all other cats, as she tends to be way more on the defensive when they are around (all they want is a lick of churu). She is also grumpier about ear pokes, and all of this is definitely much more in line with her personality before her diagnosis. She never was a patient cat.
 
True confession, Neko almost always got a+9 snack in the AM cycle, cause that's when she historically had dinner, pre FD. I just made sure the snack was as low carbs as possible. One other thing, when I switched to Levemir, her nadir was typically +9 to +12, so feeding then had no impact on her cycle.
 
Honestly, sometimes rules just aren’t compatible with real life… I am so sleep deprived that tonight I forgot to test her preshot and only now realized it… also forgot her insulin shot after her dinner and did it one hour late… I’m a mess. The cats have been taking turns waking me up and clearly my brain is suffering. Need to prioritize sleep for a bit, that is always so hard. Sigh.
 
It’s definitely not the insulin stinging that is the problem. Half the time the shots go great and she doesn’t even flinch. I think it’s more an issue of the skin itself being more sensitive, and in some places it feels thicker when I insert the needle. I also need to more diligent in clearing the room of all other cats, as she tends to be way more on the defensive when they are around (all they want is a lick of churu). She is also grumpier about ear pokes, and all of this is definitely much more in line with her personality before her diagnosis. She never was a patient cat.

I was having that problem with Biggie a few weeks ago, though his was a combination of problems b/c I do think the cold insulin was stinging. But when I’d insert the needle (tiny, short 31gauge) his skin felt really tough and didn’t go in smoothly like it previously did. I think that is from the scar tissue that starts to form. And they say injecting into the scar tissue is pretty painful (and absorbs the insulin less, too). He’d start flinching and running off mid-shot, which he never did before. So I started trying to find more places to inject and that helped a lot. I also use a headlamp so I can see better and don’t have to spend as much time inspecting for parts in his fur. I also started to get a lot more nervous about injecting because I knew it might hurt him…so I started singing to him to calm him (and me) down.

Hopefully you’ll both get back to your routine and things will go smoothly.
 
Thanks @Jackie and Biggie that does make me feel better, although I’m sorry you're having the same issue with Biggie. Tonight I injected in an entirely new spot lower behind her shoulder blade, and she didn’t move or even stop licking her churu, so I think you are right, it must be painful when we inject through that thickened skin. I will make sure to roll the skin and see if I can feel the thickness difference. I too use a headlamp so I don’t have to spend too much time messing with her fur and deciding where to inject. Singing isn’t a bad idea, I will give in a try tomorrow morning! Thanks for the support :bighug:
 
Thanks @Jackie and Biggie that does make me feel better, although I’m sorry you're having the same issue with Biggie. Tonight I injected in an entirely new spot lower behind her shoulder blade, and she didn’t move or even stop licking her churu, so I think you are right, it must be painful when we inject through that thickened skin. I will make sure to roll the skin and see if I can feel the thickness difference. I too use a headlamp so I don’t have to spend too much time messing with her fur and deciding where to inject. Singing isn’t a bad idea, I will give in a try tomorrow morning! Thanks for the support :bighug:
Thanks, @Virginie. Knock on wood, things have been better. So far it’s really just trial and error and attempting spots I think I haven’t done too recently. If it feels tough, I just pull the needle out quickly and try another spot. I definitely understand the stress of this, hoping it gets easier soon! I’m glad tonight’s injection went smoothly! Have a good night. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top