Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)
Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127916
Hi Everyone,
I was out hiking all day (climbing Jenkins Mountain), so Rusty and Edward had a nice day together. Rusty lounged on his perch in sunshine(!), they had a good combing, went outdoors briefly, Rusty ate most of his fuds, and when I got home and tested him at +9 his bg was 40! Last night, at bedtime, his bg was 44 and that was the fourth number under 50 on this skinny 1-unit dose, so this morning he got a reducie to a fat .75 unit (1.34mm on the digital calipers, Terumo syringe). (I hesitated about the reduction because he has been having moderate bounces on this dose.)
With numbers this low I don't think Rusty is having a pancreatitis flare, so when we go to the vet tomorrow he will just have the usual blood work and urinalysis. Mainly I want to discuss his weight loss (a pound since April), have the vet listen to his breathing and congestion, have his claws trimmed, have her look at two spots-- beneath his left ear and on the left side of his neck-- that he has been scratching until they bleed (this was an issue last year at this time and the vet thought it might be a middle-ear thing; it went away). So our appointment is at 9 A.M. Rusty hopes that some of his pals will be waiting for him when he gets home so that they can get ready for the Full Beaver Moon Party, tomorrow night. He wants to have it on the Beaver River.
Jenkins Mt. was the first climb I have done since I tore my MCL climbing Ampersand Mt. in extreme icy conditions last February. That knee has gotten better, but I banged up the other knee in my bike crash about 6 weeks ago. It is still a bit swollen, but I put an Ace Bandage on it and had no problems on the hike/climb. In fact, my knee and leg muscles feel better than they have since the crash. Yay!!
Off now to visit condos. Continuing to send healing vines to all in need.
Ella & Rusty (on duty in the Lagoon)
Hi Everyone,
I was out hiking all day (climbing Jenkins Mountain), so Rusty and Edward had a nice day together. Rusty lounged on his perch in sunshine(!), they had a good combing, went outdoors briefly, Rusty ate most of his fuds, and when I got home and tested him at +9 his bg was 40! Last night, at bedtime, his bg was 44 and that was the fourth number under 50 on this skinny 1-unit dose, so this morning he got a reducie to a fat .75 unit (1.34mm on the digital calipers, Terumo syringe). (I hesitated about the reduction because he has been having moderate bounces on this dose.)
With numbers this low I don't think Rusty is having a pancreatitis flare, so when we go to the vet tomorrow he will just have the usual blood work and urinalysis. Mainly I want to discuss his weight loss (a pound since April), have the vet listen to his breathing and congestion, have his claws trimmed, have her look at two spots-- beneath his left ear and on the left side of his neck-- that he has been scratching until they bleed (this was an issue last year at this time and the vet thought it might be a middle-ear thing; it went away). So our appointment is at 9 A.M. Rusty hopes that some of his pals will be waiting for him when he gets home so that they can get ready for the Full Beaver Moon Party, tomorrow night. He wants to have it on the Beaver River.
Jenkins Mt. was the first climb I have done since I tore my MCL climbing Ampersand Mt. in extreme icy conditions last February. That knee has gotten better, but I banged up the other knee in my bike crash about 6 weeks ago. It is still a bit swollen, but I put an Ace Bandage on it and had no problems on the hike/climb. In fact, my knee and leg muscles feel better than they have since the crash. Yay!!
Off now to visit condos. Continuing to send healing vines to all in need.
Ella & Rusty (on duty in the Lagoon)