11/5 Morgaine PMPS 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good Day!

I reduced Morgaine's dose to 3.50 this AM. I have been overfeeding for several days now on the higher dose and was really surprised with her AMPS of 71 because I had to feed her at +5 last cycle and was sure she would be high this AM. She wasn't. I get the feeling she is getting more insulin than she needs so I want to see if she can handle this reduction. I know she hasn't dropped low but if I had not fed her at +5 last night she would have been in the danger zone. We shall see what happens. i can always increase if this isn't working. I have a couple of appointments this week and need her to be safe. Last night I went out with friends and was worried about her the whole time. Then this AM 71 after lots of food last night just floored me. She needs to lose some ounces and is now probably gaining them. Will weigh her this weekend.
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine AMPS 71 dose reduced

Binks has gained a little weight as well...
we were vastly relieved when the vet said she liked him at the new weight :oops:

good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine AMPS 71 dose reduced

one of the things that's so amazing about morgaine (other than the sea of blue and green awesomeness on her ss) is that she hardly bounces. even earlier (like august) it was like baby bounces. just amazing.

you're doing a great job of manipulating her, rosalie - one only has to see her ss to see it. *high five*
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine AMPS 71 dose reduced, atypical cycle

We are having an interesting cycle here. As mentioned, I reduced her dose. At +1 she was 77 so no food spike yet. I felt a strong need to give her a bit of HC so I did, about a tsp full with extra gravy. At +3 she was 58 and that surprised me because I was sure the HC should have raised her. So, I have fed her a HC lunch and will continue to test.
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine AMPS 71,+1 77,+3/58 atypical cycle

Keep in mind that at her higher dose, she has quite a shed... which could be the reason why you are still seeing these numbers even though you reduced her this morning. At higher doses, up to three cycles can be affected; that's why many of the experienced people look at "waves" instead of just looking at one cycle.

Hope she's coming up and will settle in a little. Good luck with the reduction and I'm glad you got to go out last night.

I'm FREEZING!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine AMPS 71,+1 77,+3/58 atypical cycle

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Keep in mind that at her higher dose, she has quite a shed... which could be the reason why you are still seeing these numbers even though you reduced her this morning. At higher doses, up to three cycles can be affected; that's why many of the experienced people look at "waves" instead of just looking at one cycle.

Hope she's coming up and will settle in a little. Good luck with the reduction and I'm glad you got to go out last night.

I'm FREEZING!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Yes, I thought of that and thanks for confirming that it could be that.

I love this weather! I am from New England and seldom experience anything close to freezing here though i am wearing my sweats with long sleeves. :smile:

Linda, what amazed me is that her dose is so high. With her numbers starting out in the high blues, I thought .5 unit would do the trick but we kept going up the dosing scale. I wonder if her high lipids cause her the insulin resistance and I do need a recheck on that soon. I am hoping we will be coming down to a lower dose soon. Maybe this is the start. Hard to know at this point. I do get a little nervous giving her such a high dose based on where her numbers have been.
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90 atypical cycle

Morgaine was 90 at +6 after eating a total of 3 oz 18% carb. divided into 3 separate servings. I am really finding this cycle surprising. she hasn't been over 100 since her last night pmps test. I know it could be the shed but I didn't even lower the dose by.25 since she was on a skinny 3.75. It is not her pattern so yes, I am curious where this is going. If she were not on such a relatively high dose I would be less concerned.

Any other thoughts besides the shed draining? Do i need to be concerned because of her higher dose?
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90 atypical cycle?

If you are concerned she might have a repeat of today's cycle, you can shoot a reduced dose tonight so you can get some rest. I know it's difficult for you to be up one night much less two. That would still keep some insulin on board but let her shed drain a little.

The other thing is that sometimes when they hit that magic dose number, they just come barreling down and earn reduction after reduction quickly. That happened to Gracie twice on lantus where she earned four reductions in a week. She isn't the only one.....Mocha, Lucy, Champ...

So it could be the shed OR it could be that she's hit a breakthrough dose and she's going to start pushing to earn reductions quickly. Oh crystal ball where are you????
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90 atypical cycle?

Marje, that is what concerns me. she is on a hefty dose for a kitty who was never too high to begin with. I fear that she will drop too fast if her pancreas has decided to wake up and do it's thing.

How much would you advise I reduce the dose. we are at 3.5 as if this am cycle.
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90 atypical cycle?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
It is very possible.......


And how would I handle that? just keep testing and feeding and lowering the dose. Would I lower the dose by .50 rather than .25? All these questions!
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90 atypical cycle?

Sorry that I gave you a quick answer and scooted.....something came up here at home that I had to deal with.

If Morgaine has not failed a reduction when you've done .25u reductions, then when she earns it, I'd give her the .25u reduction and follow the protocol. And yes, you just have to test, feed, manage the curve and give the reductions when she earns them.

I would not take her down .5u as you could miss her next fitting dose and stall her out. If you stall her out, then frequently you have to take them back up per the protocol until they reach another breakthrough dose.

Since we don't really know what Morgaine intends to do, for now, I'd stick with the protocol and do as described above. The cycle today may seem "atypical" but cats are cats and just when you think you have their cycles figured out, they change. There's also the possibility that Miss Morgaine has just decided to pass liver training school and just starting throwing you nice green cycles.

However, having said that, like I said earlier, if you are worn out and she looks like she might give you another night where you are up late and you can't do it, then just shoot a reduced dose tonight (make sure you monitor her to know she's coming up), and then start back over with her 3.5u tomorrow morning. Sometimes you have to do that for your own health.

Of course, others may also have input and if you want some other thoughts, I'd change the subject to just "dose ??" or something like that. Lots of good thoughts in LL to consider!
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90 atypical cycle?

i think i wouldn't worry too much about the atypical cycle today, and i also wouldn't hesitate to do a 1/2 dose or something if you are worried about her going low tonight. she does have a shed that will keep on giving tonight. if you do that, it might take a few days to get her back on track, but it's always better to have them too high than too low.

if you can get up and monitor, then reducing by .25 seems reasonable. i think everything marj said sounds like a reasonable plan. the question comes down to can you monitor tonight?
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90 dose ??

Thanks Marje and Julie. I am going to leave this question mark up for a while and am about to test her again.

I can stay up and moniter if need be. I just nap in between but I will see where we are in a few hours. Maybe she has come up and I can proceed with protocol without any problem. Just really concerned about how much food it is taking to keep her from dropping. I just ordered a case of HC from Amazon, in case we are playing this game for a while. I have plenty here until it arrives. At least the HC is lower in fat than what she is eating now, much lower.

And, she remains in the 80's at +8 even with all this food.
 
Re: 11/5 Morgaine+1 77,+3/58,+4.5 83,+6 90,+8/83 dose ??

So morgaine was 127 at PMPS and i gave her the 3.50 dose. Will see where she goes the rest of the night. Just took a nap in case we have to stay up.
 
julie & punkin said:
are you saying you're giving her high carb food every day to keep her from going too low?
No, I just want to be sure I have enough in case she needs it. I don't drive anymore so cat food gets ordered by the case and I will have it on hand if she dips into the lower greens. I would not give Morgaine HC food on a regular basis. I wasn't sure and am still not sure what her little body is up to but I suspect we will be stocked with HC for a long time. :lol:

Hopefully Morgaine will settle into this dose for a while or whatever dose she needs and I can feed her her regular food. I need to get her to a dose where she isn't requiring as much as she has been eating these past few days. Otherwise we defeat the purpose as her weight is part of the problem and has been for quite some time. She got very heavy, 20 pounds, and was put on Hill's R/D. She lost 5 pounds and was dx'd with FD. I changed her food and her triglycerides went sky high and then her BG went out of control as she spent 1 year diet controlled. So, we are balancing things with lower fat foods and slightly higher carbs than I prefer, 6-10%. She has been losing weight very slowly until now. Trying to manage her numbers on the 3.75 dose required overfeeding too many calories.

ECID sure does apply, as you well know, Julie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top