11/5 Ming PMPS = 427 (AMPS = 270, +2 = 257, +4 = 236, +8 = 389)

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...434-dose-increase-tonight-2-392-4-367.205935/

AMPS = 272. Then I waited 15 minutes just in case because I have to drive my grandma to the airport and check her in. He was at 270 15 minutes later.

I fed some MC food with a tsp of the FF gravy. I just don't know when I'll be back and since I can't test... I don't want to risk it. I'm leaving the house in half an hour and hopefully I see that he's going up and not down :smuggrin: (and then down after 2 hours of course, Ming! Get with the program!)

Wish Ming luck :bighug:
 
Great start to the day. :) Little early to tell if it’ll be flat yellow yet. Personally I wouldn’t have stalled for a high yellow, and over time you should be fine with it too. On this forum we suggest anything over 150 is OK to shoot, provided you can monitor. Good thing you live close to the airport.

BTW, looking at your SS, 7% food is not MC, just a bit higher LC food. A good choice if you were worried.
 
Replying in today's condo:

Yes. We had her down to .25 units. With the start back on steroids we are now at 1.25 units. Steroids we believe caused the kickoff to the diabetes to begin with over a year ago. But, that said, they have helped her with everything. She's a happier cat. Still working on weight gain but, we will take it one step at a time.

I'm glad the pred is working for Phoebe :) I hope it's working for Ming. I asked my vet in my email yesterday if she thinks it would be beneficial to just even out his pred doses. Right now, Ming is getting 2.5 mg at AM and then 1.25 mg in PM. I see cats here get 5 mgs a day and even 10 mgs a day so... I'm not opposed to evening Ming's dose out to 5 mgs a day.

Tell your mom, she wouldn't give insulin to any patient without testing first. Why wouldn't we test our furbabies? Vets do not get alot of teaching on cat diabetes. It's more an overall look at it. And a very small amount.

I think my mom knows. She was even for it before I spoke to my previous vet and he shut it down. I think she was just more frustrated/annoyed/wary of me because I was going ahead and going against vet's suggestions. And we had a few arguments where she made a point that I don't have years of schooling but the vets do. Of course, that was hard to argue with. But I know showing her the numbers recently has probably turned her around to it. Plus, when we spoke to the IM specialist, she told me there was NOTHING I was doing that was causing his pancreatitis (but in the back of my mind, I still think these high numbers aren't helping him heal at least...)

She probably got more knowledge in her diabetes classes in nursing school. I know we had a whole semester on it. People here deal with it 24/7. Eat, breathe, sleep diabetes.

Yes! I remember when Ming was first diagnosed and she questioned why we could ONLY feed Ming two meals a day when human diabetics always have to eat for one reason or another. But you know, she probably had the mentality that she's a human nurse and not an animal nurse and doesn't have years of vet medicine to back herself up. She's an (early) retired RN so maybe she feels rusty. She retired because there was no one to look after us kids and my dad and her made the decision that it was okay to stick with one income until we grow up. And my mom didn't want to hire a nanny. I've been encouraging her to go and possibly work in the medical field again - maybe as a MOA or medical translator. Something. All that knowledge... put to waste lol

FYI I am what you would call a testaholic. In the beginning I just had to have the data to learn her reaction to it all. I've learned to test not so much because I see the trends and patterns. Knock on wood. It will all be second nature to you soon. Good job with your furbaby. We know you love her, because your here willing to learn. :)

Haha, testaholic! That describes me right now. I'm glad to know it gets better and we don't have to test so much. It felt so weird last night when I SLEPT. I don't think I really slept for a week. And thank you :)
 
Great start to the day. :) Little early to tell if it’ll be flat yellow yet. Personally I wouldn’t have stalled for a high yellow, and over time you should be fine with it too. On this forum we suggest anything over 150 is OK to shoot, provided you can monitor. Good thing you live close to the airport.

BTW, looking at your SS, 7% food is not MC, just a bit higher LC food. A good choice if you were worried.

I didn't really stall. I just tested 15 minutes early because I had an itching feeling haha. But good to know! I would've shot at that number no problem if I was staying home. But good to know that it's usually okay to shoot over 150 with monitoring!

Oh good darn, I remember Sandy or you clarifying the numbers and I forgot. Thanks for the reminder :)
 
Last edited:
Higher LC won’t “bite you in the butt”. I often did it if I needed a little cushion. A small spoonful of gravy should similarly be OK.
 
Hi there :cool:

I’m just catching up-that was one ugly AM cycle 11/04. Glad you increased and happy to see a sunny yellow start for today.

Good job keeping up with the ketone testing. Very happy no ketones have been detected.
 
The Petsafe 5 has a small compartment under the rotating feeder where you can fit an ice pack. I just picked up the smallest soft sided gel pack at Canadian Tire, and folded it to fit, then froze it. I had two, so one was always in the freezer ready to go. There are special purpose built cool packs for that feeder you can get on Amazon if you want to spend the money. You can also put an ice cube on top of the food. It will melt providing water, and keep the food cool.
 
+8 = 389

No flat yellows today. But if pattern proves true, he’ll lower himself soon. I’ll be going out to get him his diarrhea meds and humulin R.

Vet wants to reduce his pred dose and even it out. So he’ll get 1/4 of a tab (1.25 mg) every 12 hours. I thought she’d want to increase it to 2.5 mg every 12 hours so he’d get a full dose but ok. I suspect if he does have a little panc, she’ll increase his dose? She thinks the pred is making him higher during the day. I think it’s just him bouncing. What do you think?
 
Last edited:
I haven't seen many people use pred for p'tits, mostly for other issues, and then it's usually just given once a day. Ming hasn't been consistently higher during the day or at night. I don't think the pred is influencing that big a change. I presume you haven't changed how he's been dosed the pred the last week? He was lower during the day a week ago.

A favour to ask of you, could you remove some of the feeding comments from the cells in the SS and move them to the Remarks section. With a lot in the + cells, it becomes hard to see a lot of the SS at once. You can do something like a * in the cell to donate feeding, then the details in the Remarks. For example, at +4 just put a * and in the remarks move the detail and add @+4. Ditto when doing fluids, just have "fluids" in the cell, and details in the Remarks.

You are probably seeing a little New Dose Wonkiness now with the drift upwards today. Time to ease off the testing until PMPS time.
 
I agree, @Wendy&Neko. I haven’t changed his pred dose aside from the timing because we’d stall, etc. I kind of told her that but ultimately decided not to further discuss it. What do cats usually have for p*titis? The thinking was to put out the little flare ups/inflammation that might/will happen in the future.

I purchased Humulin R at the pharmacy today so I have that on hand now :) it was $30. Inflation!!

And ok! I shall go fix my SS :)
 
PMPS = 427

Edit: I wanted to buy the 3 ml cartridges from the Superstore pharmacy but they only have the 10 mL vial. And I have this thing where I would rather pay more at the pharmacy than have to find a good time to ask a doctor to prescribe me more Lantus and ugh... I know it's not a big deal but it's so... exhausting. I'll go visit some other pharmacies and see if they have the 3 mL cartridges and if not, it's the 10 mL vial that I'll get. I just don't want to risk not using all of it and having to chuck it even though I know it'll last long enough BUT ANYWAY.. that was just me blabbering away about my FWP. My issues sound so dumb when I type them out lol :mad::rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
My local Superstore wasn't the greatest for insulin supplies in stock either. Safeway and Save On Foods much better. Also great at getting things in next day for me if stock was out. London Drugs was also reasonably priced for diabetes supplies though I never priced insulin there.
 
+2 = 23.4 / 421

I'm guessing I can sleep okay tonight but will definitely get a +6 reading.

Haven't gotten the chance to test for ketones today. I hope to catch him tomorrow or tonight sometime. I'm going to give him 100 mL SQ fluids now too because I saw him drinking water this morning again.
 
Back
Top