11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295, +3 285, PMPS 339, +2 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
Last Post

WCR: All's well. She's happy and purry. Napping now.

Her numbers have been holding steady with a dosecrease of 3 units. Not sure what's going on, but her vet said to hold the new dose for 5 days, then do a curve, so that's the plan.

I tried all day yesterday to get a ketone check, but I had no luck.
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295

glad you're back, but sorry it's because you need help with Magnolia. :sad:

You know me, I wouldn't sit for *too* long on a dose if it is not working. Magnolia needed a higher dose to get her breakthrough before, so it wouldn't be that odd for her to need a higher dose again. Keep plugging away, be methodical, and she'll get back to her trusty nice numbers.

Do you have any other numbers leading up to the start of the new spreadsheet?
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295

Hi Libby!

Her numbers (AMPS, PMPS and spot checks) have been 250 to 350, consistently for the past 5 months. Her dose was increased slowly, .25 increments, until we reached 6.5. She sat at 6.5 for a few weeks before I took her to the vet, because her LB action changed...lots of pee. But no UTI.

Thinking that maybe we missed her good dose, we decreased her to 3 units as a way to start over. I thought 5 days seemed like an ok place to start, especially if we missed her dose. It will give her some time to adjust? What do you think? I also started shooting in her leg instead of her scruff. Two big changes. I think it's interesting that we went from 6.5 units to 3 units and her numbers have hardly changed at all.

I haven't updated the SS with the earlier numbers, because the numbers were so consistent, no drops, always above 200. With each increase, the numbers stayed the same, although I was away and DH wasn't keeping up with spot checks as much as he should have. I have the numbers from her tester, but not the corresponding dosages, as far as when she was increased. I could put a few more in...the past few weeks when I know she was getting 6.5, if that would help.
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295, +3 285

Magnolia has the cutest markings!!

good luck with the increase...

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295, +3 285

Thank you Celi. She thinks she's a pretty girl too. ;-)

I updated the SS with the numbers from the past month. The spot checks were few and I feel terrible about that. I'm staying put now, so I'll be able to get good checks on her and get her numbers back under control. I can really keep up on her. Except for ketones because this b#@*# absolutely refuses to let me get any pee. I tried stalking her. I tried putting plastic wrap under some of the litter. She's got very strong bladder control, she just holds it. I tried hiding in the basement but I was too late. 2 days into it, she wins. I'm just watching her clinical symptoms. Defeated by a 9 pound kitty...
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295, +3 285

has anyone mentioned the Tidycat Breeze box to you?

binks and i got a tip from Ann to not use the pee pads...and it works great...

also, there are some great coupons available that cut the cost substantially

http://www.breezeforcats.com/
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295, +3 285

Hi Sara!!

Magnolia is gorgeous!! Sorry you have to be here. I remember reading on Binks condo that Jill said that for cats that have been OTJ and have come back from the falls, that you want to be fairly aggressive on the dosecreases.
So I'm not sure I'd wait five days. And I think that is what Libby was saying as well. I'd probably look at raising her every 4-6 cycles if she isn't doing much. IMHO ;-)
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295, +3 285

Hi Sara!

Weezer and I are new, so I wanted to stop by and introduce ourselves. I look forward to seeing your posts every day. I hope you get your dose worked out. It's always something, isn't it?
 
Re: 11/5 Magnolia AMPS 295, +3 285

Thanks for stopping by Linda and Marjorie! We'll be seeing you around.

And thank you so much for the breeze link! I will look into it. So...using this system...I will be able to get a clean urine sample? Wow.

I'm going to hold her dose for now, until Monday, just so her vet feels like I value her opinions, because I really do. We followed the protocol, we were pretty aggressive and were up to 6.5 units up until last week, so I'm going to see what happens a little slower for now. I'll do a curve on Monday and go from there. I think the concern is that there is an underlying problem causing the higher BG's and we want to be 100% certain we have the right dose.

Goodnight LL. Thanks so much for all the input!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top