11/5 Harley AMPS 356, new meter +9 519

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Very Active Member
Harley has stalled in the pink area. Hopefully today, he will begin to come down. I plan to get a new meter today. Dropped it on the floor and both the front and back came off it. Don't know if that has ruined the accuracy of the thing.

Went to vet and had blood drawn for the IAA. Still don't think they feel this is necessary and maybe it isn't but at least I will know. I question how this will pan out since they ship through another party. Vet said they would pick up sample last night but not sure if they would ship today or wait until over the weekend. Seems like nobody listens. cat(2)_steam

Vet again mentioned chronic somogyi affect. Guess I have to do a bit of reading up on this. I told her that with his tendency toward ketones, I am not comfortable in decreasing the insulin just to see what happens. Luckily, she also agreed with this.

Hope everyone has a nice day.

Pattie
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29047
 
Re: 11/5 Harley AMPS 356

looks like harley and mocha are keeping each other company on the pink floor today ... I hope they both come down, but not to fast! Hopefully you get the test results you are waiting for ... have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 11/5 Harley AMPS 356

I agree with you about the lowering of his dose to test for Somogyi....as stated on the Tilly page:
under Phase 2: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

Be aware that experimental studies in human diabetics over the last 15-20 have rejected the existence of the Somogyi effect (sometimes also called rebound). In cats, no studies have ever been done which properly demonstrate that such a phenomenon exists. Therefore, adjust the dose as described above, focusing on the nadir: don't do so-called rebound checks, as they only lead to unnecessary (and unhealthy!) hyperglycemia.

Glad you are sticking with the Protocol...good for you!! good luck with the IAa test...hope you will get the results soon...
And about the broken meter: :o :shock: nailbite_smile ohmygod_smile :roll: :cry: :YMSIGH:
True progression of how I would have felt!
 
Re: 11/5 Harley AMPS 356

I have been reading a lot today about the Somogyi effect. Now am now more confused than ever, but the IAA test will let me know if Harley is truely insulin resistant.

Pattie
 
Re: 11/5 Harley AMPS 356, new meter 519

Bought a new meter today. Took test and got 519. Used old one plus back up and they were in the 300's. What do I believe?

Pattie
 
Relion. I called them and they are sending out the testing solution to see what is wrong. I just freaked out when I saw the 519. I should get the solution in about 7 days. Until then, which do I use?

Pattie
 
I would stick with the meter you've been using. It's more dangerous if Harley's numbers are, in reality, low than if the meter is artificially reading high. Have you ever had your meter tested against your vet's?
 
No never had it tested against my vets. Bad day for Harley. Very high bs. I have not updated ss but he went as low as 320 high as 413. This really bothers me. I hate to think of raising the insulin, but I don't know what else to do. He was very lathargic today -no ketones though. He has been sleeping by me except for now when I tested. PMPS 403, +2 375. I am going back to lay with him..I am sad about this.

Pattie
 
((((Pattie))))

It has to be so hard to be on this dose and not know why. At least having the IAA result will give you a direction, right? It will help you know where to go from here.

If this doesn't clear out by morning, I would probably increase to 10 units to get you back to a dose where you can measure on a line. It looks like Harley needs more juice, and it will be easier to measure. I know 10 units sounds like a lot. I had a huge mental block against raising Jazzy to 10 units, but it was what she needed so I talked myself into it. It worked out fine.
 
hi, pattie...

just wanted to say good luck with the new dose, and don't forget to take care of the bean, too...

we're thinking good number thoughts for you and harley.

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top