11/5 Flat Jack AMPS 94, +4 76, +8 81, PMPS 88, +2 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Today got away from me as far as posting for Jack. (Whispering) I think a otj trial may be in order for Jack soon. :D He is happy as a lark and playing with other kitties so much it makes me happy. He really was as sad as I am about Scooter passing but he is coming around. All his P's are in order and he would gladly welcome back sunbeams even if the snow comes tonight.

I think I may have a sticky or two to read tomorrow for a refresher. Good thing I am home most of the day.
 
I was just thinking I've been seeing Flat Jack all green and wondering when I'd be reading about yet another trial. Looks like in a few days. :):D
 
Looks like one more day at this dose and you can try reducing to 0.1u and see if he'll hold the reduction. :D

Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.
 
Looks like one more day at this dose and you can try reducing to 0.1u and see if he'll hold the reduction. :D

Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.



    • Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission.


Thanks Julie I wasn't sure what to do next and now I am!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top