11/5/13 Monet AMBG 118 PMBG 152 (AlphaTrak 2)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonetsMom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=107521

Morning everyone...

Monet got a good BG reading this morning ...it was 118. He still continues to behave like his normal sweet self !
It amazes me how he comes to me wanting to have his little pricked ... the power of food .... Right ! :lol:

Syringes with 1/2 unit markings should be coming tomorrow ! In the meantime Monet' has not had any insulin since last Friday AM (.25). I now have him totally on Weruva wet cat food and I chose the 3 chicken flavors with lowest carb content but high in protein, low in fat and Phos. I really think the food has made all the difference for Monet ....thanks to you guys, of course !

If his numbers continue to stay under 150 (AlphaTrak2) do you think I should hold off on the insulin and see how he does ???

Hope all have a GREAT Tuesday and all kitties get good BGs....
 
Re: 11/5/13 Monet AMBG 118 (AlphaTrak 2)

I think it would be fine to hold off if you are very consistently seeing the BG around or below 120 on the AT. Let's see how he continues to do.

IMHO, I would want his numbers lower then 150, if he were my cat, before attempting an OTJ trial. If you presumed the 150 on the AT was equivalent to 120 on a human glucometer, then you are at the upper end of normal. You want to be sure he stays in remission and so we like numbers to be lower then the upper end of normal.

We usually recommend members start an OTJ trial when the numbers are consistently below 100 and the kitty earns a reduction from the lowest dose the CG can draw.

If three is any way you can try a food trial, it would be helpful. Is it possible to feed him a meal three hours before you normally test his BG in the morning? I think you said you couldn't do that in the evening due to work? I'd just like to see if he can bring his AMBG down with food?
 
Re: 11/5/13 Monet AMBG 118 (AlphaTrak 2)

Hi Marje and Sweet Gracie...

You guys are so knowledgeable ! I definitely do not want to do anything that might jeopardize Monet going into possible permanent remission.... So, if his numbers on the AlphaTrak were consistently below 130 that would be a more comfortable time to consider OTJ trial ....right ?

I can do the food test by feeding him 3 hours before the AM testing... I will set my alarm to get up and feed him tomorrow morning 3 hrs prior to testing... Monet will love that - food - Rise' not so much :lol:

Thanks for your help and support
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top