11/4 Red AMPS 67 skipped dose. +14 70 +19 76 PMPS 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

kathpj

Member Since 2012
Red's Condo

Hi everyone,
I am sorry had to have time out yesterday. I was soooo tired on Fri night and the pressure of what I have taken on started to show. I have (as I suppose everyone does) a very busy life, 4 kids, full time med school study, work and a husband who quite rightly pointed out that I had become obsessive!!!
Saying that Red's numbers look like they are still surfing away. The decision not to shoot yesterday am was because I had to be out most of the day. Would I have been advised to shoot at 83? And this AM he was 67 so did not shoot.
Is the advice for my husband to shoot 0.25 while I am away next week?
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67

He's doing really well for so many skipped shots. I'd put a "Skip/Dose Question" note in your subject line.

Yes we do get obsessive, but it is looking very promising for Red to go off insulin and hard work now often pays off later.
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67 skip/dose

When do you leave to be away? I don't see a link to your last condo, to read what was discussed previously.
I agree with Ann, Red's numbers are looking very good.
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67 skip/dose

I should have added link to last condo. Fingers crossed.
I leave tomorrow AM after his shot.
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67 skip/dose

If you're needing to skip shots for safety reasons and at this point you don't have a great many days worth of data, we usually suggest that you lower the dose so you can shoot twice a day. I think lowering to 0.25u is a wise decision on your part.

Will your husband be able to test? Will you be guiding him or is he interested in logging in here if he needs any help?
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67 skip/dose

He will be testing preshot, but will not be able to test consistantly or hourly inbetween.
I can advise him with my limited knowledge! and also I will be getting my daughter to update the ss daily. I will try to put a condo up once a day and link it to the prev days that they can add to if poss. I would be greatful for any advice you can continue to give, while realising it might not be an ideal situation!
Red to be alive at the end of that week will be a good outcome for us, getting him back on track if nec, can be sorted later.
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67 skipped dose. +14 70

Hi Kath Boy you do have a lot on your plate. I'm sure, with your guidance, your DH will do fine. Tell Red congratulations on doing so well after missed shots. Too bad you can't get some clinical credit for taking car of Red to include drawing blood. How many MDs do you know that draw blood from their patient and chart the results on an hourly basis. :lol:
Have a great day and enjoy your trip.
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67 skipped dose. +14 70

Kath --

We can work as a team. If you post, you will certainly get feedback that you can relay to your DH or DD. If they even just read the Board without logging in, they will be able to read our replies to you. There are a number of people who have done this sort of tag team with family who are caring for their cat. It's everyone's goal to keep Red safe.
 
Re: 11/4 Red AMPS 67 skipped dose. +14 70

We will be happy to help you all out while you have all this going on Kath!
 
Sorry to 911 but Red had no shot this am. Is 15 mins late for his PM shot and I have just tested him at 76. Please can someone advise me what to do??
Thank you.
Kath
 
Hi Kath. I'm sorry I'm not qualified to give you any dosing advise. Have you tried sending a PM (private message) to Sienne and/or Marje? They might be set up to get an email whenever a PM is sent from the board. Have you fed Red anything and if so when, what and how much? That will be information that will help who ever gives you advice.
 
Kath As I said I'm new to this as well but have gone through some low numbers with much help from folks on the forum. Have you tested Red since your AMPS test? If so what was the reading and what time ie +1 or +1.5 etc.
 
Hi Kath, normally we don't feed for 2 hours before testing for shot time, because the food could influence the number. So if your PMPS is 7PM, Red shouldn't get food after 5PM. His shot time should be just after his main meal. Do you have any flexibility in delaying Red's shot an hour? If you delayed an hour tonight, would you be OK being an hour later at night? I don't give dose advice either. You could also try PM'ing Jane, as she might be getting up soon. Marje would only be up if her cat was keeping her up.
 
Thanks I understand. Have decided to skip as injecting him now completely throws all my timings out and will make it impossible for next week when I am away. I will test again before i go to bed. For the morning, just in case he's not come up, If over what number do I give the new 0.25 dose???(the reduction for the next week when I am not around).
Thanks
 
Kath I pulled the numbers from your spreadsheet and put them below. This will give a quick overview to whomever can give dose advice. They don't have to take the time to pull Red's spreadsheet. When you have time try to remember what and how much Red was feed at each time and enter it next to the test results for that time frame. Again it helps speed things up since they don't have to ask that question.
This is recap of Reds test results since 11/03/12
RECAP 11/03
AMPS 83 Skipped Shot
+5/90
+8/88
PMPS 102
+2/81

RECAP 11/04
AMPS 67 Skipped Shot
+2/70
+7/76
PMPS 76 No shot waiting for advice
 
Please post the test results before you go to bed. Check your condo as soon as you get up to see if someone with experience has replied to your dose question. Approximately how long will it be between this last test before bed and Red's next test?
 
Another terminology thing that will help people reading your post. Could you change your first subject line to be AMBG. The PS indicates that you shot, but you didn't. Then your PMPS is really a +24.

In the morning, post your dosing question before feeding Red. So at +35 I think that would be or whatever an hour before feeding time is. If Red is still in normal numbers at that time, I suspect the wise ones might lower the dose yet again.
 
Hi Kath,

Yes, in the morning you should use the new dose of .25u as Sienne advised. Hopefully that will enable Red to get 2 shots per day.

Have a good night. I'm off to bed now.

Melanie & Racci
 
Hi Kath,
Had I seen it last night, I would have advised skipping.
What did you see this morning? The reduction to .25 makes sense to me and hopefully will allow you to shoot 2x a day.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top