11/4 Pumbaa AMPS/170 +4/186 +8/67 +8.5/82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I know what's going to happen...once I have all the time in the world to test Pumbaa regularly, and don't have to be in three places at once, his numbers will go up. Hahahahahahaha!
 
Thanks, Sheila...I fixed the date.

His PMPS will be interesting. I think I'm going to pray for a bounce tonight. *LOL*
 
Beautiful numbers....Why is it they always pick exactly the wrong time to finally get to green?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Sheila, btw...Cami's numbers are beautiful. Is she getting along better with the other cats now?

One of these days I'm going to find time to catch up on the various posts.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Why is it they always pick exactly the wrong time to finally get to green?
Manipulative little buggers just want to make sure we all know exactly WHO runs the house. *LOL*
 
Suzi, Cami is getting along somewhat better. She still has a hissy fit if one of them comes near when she is wanting, or about to get, food. There have been some swats exchanged, mainly between her and Beau.

I think she is marginally calmer and marginally aware that she is not going to starve and that I am going to take care of her. She is starting to associate treats with testing, but is not ready to give up on fussing the entire time.

I think her coat is looking better - shinier and maybe the undercoat is starting to fill in. I'm sure she has gained weight, but I don't have a way to weigh her accurately.
 
Glad to hear that Cami is getting along somewhat better! I've heard of dogs guarding resources like food and bones and toys...do cats do that, too? Cami will, one day soon, become more than marginally aware that you are always going to feed her and take care of her. :)

Do you have a digital bathroom scale? If so, I just weigh myself holding Pumbaa, then weigh myself not holding Pumbaa, and subtract the difference.
 
Yeah, I can do that, but I am betting her wt gain is in the fractions of pounds less than .5 lb (which is the only increments my scale does).

Yeah, cats guard their food. When I feed her she immediately starts growling until I walk away. If I happen to walk past her , she growls again. She also does that thing where she shoves her face farther into the dish and chumps it down as fast as she can.

She "doesn't play with toys", or so I have been told. Not much that was told to me has been true, so we will see.
 
Sheila, do you still think she has hyper-thyroidism in addition to the FD? I hope not, but if she does, at least the hyper-thyroidism is treatable with a pill.

I saw you posted recently about wondering how much food to give Cami. When Pumbaa was first diagnosed, I just kept refilling his food dish and let him eat to his heart's content, since he had gone down to 8.7 lbs. and was skin and bones. But after maybe about 1-1/2 months on the insulin, he stopped hoovering up all of the food in sight and went back to frequent grazing. This morning, the two boys didn't even finish the one can of food they split at main meal times. So I would say, if you can, just give Cami as much food as she can eat in a day, but in regulated portions so she never feels like she's going hungry, but also doesn't feel bloated/Thanksgiving dinner stuffed. Easier said than done when you are also regulating Beau with his diet controlled FD.

I can hear the growling. *LOL* I had a cat who hated when I would babysit my sister's cats. Sweetie would walk around corners shaking her head and growling in advance to warn others she was coming through! *LOL*

Suze
 
Hi, Suze, hope you have a good night with Pumbaa tonight. I've posted about Max over in TR. I am able to keep him comfortable, at least. Today seemed bad, but he's having a good evening tonight. Apparently, they do better in the evening when things are going this way. I'm trying to wait until my husband gets home to "bupe" him again, but he seems to have responded well to the Pepcid now that it's in his system.
 
Yeah, I think she may be hyperT. I'm going to wait another week or two to bring her in. She just bit me, by accident, while I was giving treats - got me in that space between the nail and the finger, on the side. Hurts like hell. Plus, she peed on my bathroom rug again when I was gone for the afternoon. I'm not sure what that is about. It's like she is mad because I am not there to feed her. Meanwhile, she has eaten everyone else's food and the other cats are starting to get upset. She is particularly growl-ly tonight for some reason even though she was eating non stop since 7pm. Ariel, who has been very curious up to now, looked like she was going to go for her a few minutes ago - the whole ears back, tail twitching, circling, etc.

I just don't know why she won't calm down and stop all the hissing and growling. I am doing everything I can to give her a welcoming, safe and comfortable home, but she is still so "negative" about everything.

So - bad day.
 
Sheila, I'm so sorry to hear that Cami had a bad day, and bit you (be careful of infection, okay?) as well. :(

From what I understand, cats pee and poop in odd places to show displeasure about something. (As well as turning over garbage cans and shredding TP for the same reason. I've been "punished" like this many times...even in a one-cat household.)

To me, Cami still sounds very insecure, as you are her lifeline, so when you aren't there, she gets worried and acts out. Is this a trend you have seen?

Just keep doing what you are doing, to make sure Cami knows she is safe now, and loved now. It isn't your fault when there are days like this!

Maybe Ariel, et al, need to stand up to Cami and put her in her place, finally. They've been patient with her all this time. :)

I hope tomorrow is better for your entire household! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Here is hoping Cami was good today and didn't leave any surprises of displeasure around for you :-D

I hope the finger is doing good.
 
Stranger checking in...

Hi! Sounds like Cami is still having a hard time trusting those around her. Maybe time for a little disciplining when she grumbles? I'm transitioning a foster as well, and she's not so warm and fuzzy sometimes. My little spray bottle, set to spray across the room, so it's not ME that's doing it (yeah, right!). So if she sees the cause/effect (grumble/get sprayed), perhaps she'll make the association? Or, like my Peaches, he just opens his mouth to catch the water! :lol:

Worth a trial for a few days and see if it helps. "Mr. Green Bottle" has been very effective with MOST of mine!

Good luck!


OOPS! Sorry, I guess this should've been on Sheila's not Pumbaa's thread!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top