11/4 Milo PMPS 106 (stalled) +1.50/151

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=55694

I went to give Milo his shot tonight and his insulin (that I keep in the bos, in a coffe mug) was pushed to the back of my fridge and it it frozen!! Ugh I am so angry.. I was able to call in the perscrip and will be able to pick it up tonight at 8 PM, the old one was only month old so Im so happy to spend another 110.00 on a new one :cry: My question is... can I treat this as a long stall shoot him at 8:30 PM, and then slowly over days get him back to his 7 Am 7PM schedule? or should I just skip this shot??
Im so upset because Milos numbers are so great today he has been green all day and yesterday as well and I fel like we are on the right track, and I hate skipping grrrr
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 Frozen Insulin!

Since you ccan manage the 1.5 hour schedule change, thinking of it as a long stall is reasonable -

The one thing is when you stall it's recommended you don't feed - is that do-able?
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 Frozen Insulin!

You might want to factor in daylight savings time. Does the time change effect you? If so, you can shoot 30 min. late tonight and 30 min. late tomorrow night and Sunday AM you will be back on schedule. Or, if you want to move your time. if you shoot late tonight and do nothing tomorrow, you can shoot at the time you want on Sunday. (See the post on DST if I've hopelessly confused you.)

You might want to consider using the Solostar pens vs. a vial. Losing a pen is less expensive than a vial.
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 Frozen Insulin!

BTW - great PMPS. . .

Bummer about the frozen Lantus - are you getting vials? It's been a while for us but I believe the pens may still be a better value over time.
hopefully someone will chime in on that.
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 Frozen Insulin!

unfortunatly he started nibbling as I put the syringe into the vile, and then I noticed the freeze so he has eaten some. Yes we will have the time change, I will be home all weekend too. If I stall I will be shooting 1 & 1/2 hour late tonight. What are the pens?
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 Frozen Insulin!

I shot almost 1 hour late tonight, and that puts me almost right on time from the DST time change. Maybe, you'll only be off by 30 minutes when all is said and done.
The pens (normally) are sold in packages of 5 pens to a box. The pens are smaller than the vials, and so when you finally have to throw a pen out, it's not as much wasted insulin.
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 Frozen Insulin!

So since he has eaten I shouldnot give the stalled shot?
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 Frozen Insulin!

yes it was 87, but can I shoot even though he has eaten?
He is now 107
and do I need to be careful with new insulin?? being potent?
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

Yes, I dont mind shooting the low number, but he has eaten etc. so I was wondering if thats ok to go ahead now and shoot?
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

Is he a food spiker?
Will he eat again in a couple hours?
eta - you can stall a bit longer and see where he goes.
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

Was it at the regular shot time an hour and a half ago? If so, I'd do a new preshot test and if you feel confident shooting the number go for it.
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

I think I will go ahead and skip tonight, I hate to do it because he has had such great numbers for the past 2 days, but I think he is only a bit of a food spiker, and he has eaten at 7 PM, just tested again and he is only at 106, so there is no telling where his numbers are gonna do at this point....ugh Im not nervous to shoot this low, just worried its the food that has it at this number!
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

What about a reduced dose? Normally I wouldn't recommend a stall AND a reduced dose but you don't have any choice on the stalling and if you have fed him ....a reduced dose might be something to think about.

HOWEVER, having said that, if you fed him at +12 and he's up now, I might do as Sandy said and stall another 1/2 hour (two hours total) and if he's up more, I'd give him the full dose.....and absolutely test at least at +1 and +2. Again, if you are worried he might not be coming up, check him at +.5.
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

Thats sounds good i will do a reduced dose but I have to do it now because Im already at +2/106, and then work the stall back over the weekend and take the time change into consideration.
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

Good catch, Sienne. I was just checking to see if she shot ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

OK Ill change it and I did shoot a reduced dose.... thanks again all
 
Re: 11/4 Milo +12/87 +1.50/107 picked up new insulin shoot?

Try wrapping your insulin in heavy paper or an insulating neoprene (or other insulating material) sleeve before putting it into the 'fridge. That will keep it from getting zapped by anything your 'fridge wants to do. I keep mine wrapped in a little bubble-wrap pocket and put the whole thing into a small cardboard box (which provides additional insulation).

Good luck tomorrow,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top