11/4 LB Amps 112, +3 83, +6 83 Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anyname

Member Since 2010
This morning I dropped from 1.5 units to 1 unit coz of low amps reading. I fed half tin of FF after +3 other half at +6. Is this newest drop an indication that LB should be on 1 unit now? Doesn't seem like the protocol. I don't want to be feeding him extra food to keep his numbers up. He too heavy and I want to get his weight off - first time for years that he's not wanting to eat all the time so dont' want to be forcing food his way if he's not asking for it.
 
"Normal" numbers for non-diabetic cats range between 40-120.

Numbers in the 80s are fine. When Cosmo was OTJ, his numbers were in the high 50s to about 70.

We went OTJ really quickly, but I know some shoot small small super small doses with preshots in the 80s. LB isn't eating as much b/c now that he's got enough insulin in his system, his body can metabolize food better.
 
I just want to know if it's ok to go so quickly to 1unit when he's only been on 1.5 for one and a half days? Plus he was only on 1.75 for 2 days - so he will go from 2 units to 1 unit in a week. Is this too fast? Last night he pee'd in my swimming bag again. D'oh, we try to remember not to leave them on the laundry floor. He has two litter boxes to choose from but has occasionally preferred our swimming bags. I'm wondering if it could be that his numbers go too low over night and gets confused as he's SUCH A GOOD BOY normally.
 
Anyname said:
I just want to know if it's ok to go so quickly to 1unit when he's only been on 1.5 for one and a half days? Plus he was only on 1.75 for 2 days - so he will go from 2 units to 1 unit in a week. Is this too fast? Last night he pee'd in my swimming bag again. D'oh, we try to remember not to leave them on the laundry floor. He has two litter boxes to choose from but has occasionally preferred our swimming bags. I'm wondering if it could be that his numbers go too low over night and gets confused as he's SUCH A GOOD BOY normally.


There are no rules to how fast you can decrease doses. If LB is throwing numbers demanding a decrease (nadirs either in the 50s or below, depending on how long he's been diabetic and if he's been OTJ before), he gets a decrease. You can refer to the protocol too.

If he's got numbers in the 80s on this dose, then keep the dose. If his nadir starts creeping upward, then i'd see if someone here would suggest a dose increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top