11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misty&Bast

Member Since 2012
this morning AMPS was 146 I wll be home most of the day so I did shoot the .5
It keeps going lower ever morning (good?)
How low am I suppossed to shoot before I skip?
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 how low to shoot?

Misty

We want you to learn, with our help, to shoot any number above 50 as long as you have supplies, can be there to monitor, and are feeling well enough to do it....in other words, that it's safe. My recommendation is that each time you get a number that is more than meter variance from what you've shot before, don't feed, post and ask for help. If you get a +11, then you allow for plenty of time for someone to help you. I'm glad you shot this morning :-D :-D
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 how low to shoot?

Marje read my mind! The only thing I'd add is to take a look at those condos where you see people asking for help with shooting low numbers. It will give you a feel for the process and the variables that you need to consider. We all have gotten help with shooting low in the beginning.
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 how low to shoot?

I am a little confused- if the numbers are 40-75 aren't we suppossed to skip and if they stay that way for a week they are OTJ?
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 how low to shoot?

The range for normal BG is 50 - 120. I think there's a context for your question. You have to work the dose down to a small amount (e.g., 0.1u) and then when the BG stays in normal range for a week (or drops below 50), you start a trial. I wasn't sure if you were asking if you start an OTJ trial regardless of where the dose if you're test is in the range you noted.

If you look as Rhiannon's Shadow's SS, you'll see how she was progressively lowering the dose until an OTJ trial was begun. She wasn't skipping shots if she was getting green pre-shot numbers that were above 50.

Is that clearer?
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 how low to shoot?

Hi Misty, Nice shooting this morning. Sienne and Marje are right, most of us got help shooting low numbers. First you learn what it takes to be safe - supplies, time and ability to test frequently if needed. Some of us also sought sanity check or moral support to actually shoot the low numbers when the time came. When I balked, folks here were very willing to provide that hand holding when I needed it :-D Shooting low is part of the protocol to work the dose down hopefully to 0, and you do get more confident doing it after the first couple times.
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 how low to shoot? +3.75 57

I guess I misunderstood, too.....I'm glad Sienne clarified for you. Also...I'd recommend you look at Hoot's SS, too. He's now ready for an OTJ trial and you can see the difference between his SS and Bast's.

Paws crossed he will get there soon :-D
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 how low to shoot? +3.75 57

Hi Misty,

I just want to make sure we all understand your schedule/situation as far as when you are able to monitor Bast's cycles.

You work 5 days a week right? If I remember right, you test him at AMPS, then you are out the door to work an hour later? And also, your SO can give shots, but doesn't do tests right? Is he at work during the same part of the day? In other words, during Bast's AM cycle, when is someone home to test and watch him?

Then on the PM cycles, you are home the whole cycle? And usually you'd hope to be in bed by when, +3, +4?

Carl
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 how low to shoot? +3.75 57

Misty & Matt (SO) both work at my familys gift store. The store is open 7 days a weeks so our days off are varied. Sometimes we have the same day off together. Currently Fri & Sat nights are late nights at work but starting the day after thanksgiving every night will be a late night till christmas.

Since the store opens at 11am we try to do AM shot before I leave at 10:15 - Currently I am the only one doing shots or tests.
The store closes at 6 or 8 pm right now and will got to 9pm after thanksgiving. I try to pop home at lunch or a break to check Bast. But some days I don't get home to test him until +8 or +10.

Pm shot is 10:15 pm and we are up until usually 2am (+4) so I can get the early numbers at night. I try to get up early enought to get a +11 or +11.5

Did I confuse you yet?

I know we have some 16 hr days coming up so I have made arrangements to bring him in to work, but i can't do that everyday. (my mother loves her furry grandbaby but there just isn't room).

I hope to get him either regulated or OTJ by Christmas because I have to leave for 3 weeks.
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 +3.75 57 +4.25 71

ok- caught up the spreadsheet. the cable guy came and the cat hid so we had a little chase to get him so the +3.75 was 57 I put out fresh food and did another test at almost +4.3 which was 71.
I felt safe to leave to run to target (needed cat food!)
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 +3.75 57 +4.25 71

ok let me try to get it- slow today- LOL
reduce when they go under 50 more than once
shoot 50 or above (this still confuses me because i see SS sheets where they didn't shoot under 100) or shoot 50-100 only if you will be home to test.

when you are reduced to .10 doses (how do you measure that?) then if your numbers are 50-120 for a week or you go below 50 you try a OTJ test.

am i getting close?
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 +3.75 57 +4.25 71 +10 93

ok let me try to get it- slow today- LOL
reduce when they go under 50 more than once
shoot 50 or above (this still confuses me because i see SS sheets where they didn't shoot under 100) or shoot 50-100 only if you will be home to test.

when you are reduced to .10 doses (how do you measure that?) then if your numbers are 50-120 for a week or you go below 50 you try a OTJ test.

am i getting close?

You reduce when they go under 50 just once. There are exceptions to that (like if they go under 50, then you reduce, and the very next cycle they go under 50 again). If that happens, you ask for advice on the 2nd reduction, but let's cross that bridge only if you have to.

The "shoot 50 or above" - yes, but.... That is routinely done by caregivers who have lots of data collected. In the beginning, new members are not encouraged to shoot double digit numbers, because there isn't data sufficient to make that call. There are people who are not comfortable doing that, and that's perfectly understandable. Every person has their own level of comfort, and their own "line in the sand". And the people here will always defer to what the person holding the needle feels comfortable with. The more often you shoot lower numbers, the more comfortable you would be doing so. Whether you can be there to test is critical in making that decision.

There are "tricks" that people can share on how to measure .1u. I've never done it, but lots of people here have. When you get to that point, then what follows is like you said. A week in normal numbers, or a test under 50, and you try an OTJ test.

Carl
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 +3.75 57 +4.25 71 +10 93

All the numbers this cycle are great! Good job catching the 57 and feeding a bit to stop the drop.

Carl
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 +3.75 57 +4.25 71 +10 93

Carl explained it very well. We say shoot low to stay low but it has to be safe and that means you have to there to monitor.
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 +3.75 57 +4.25 71 +10 93

Misty & Matt (SO) both work at my familys gift store. The store is open 7 days a weeks so our days off are varied. Sometimes we have the same day off together. Currently Fri & Sat nights are late nights at work but starting the day after thanksgiving every night will be a late night till christmas.

Since the store opens at 11am we try to do AM shot before I leave at 10:15 - Currently I am the only one doing shots or tests.
The store closes at 6 or 8 pm right now and will got to 9pm after thanksgiving. I try to pop home at lunch or a break to check Bast. But some days I don't get home to test him until +8 or +10.

Pm shot is 10:15 pm and we are up until usually 2am (+4) so I can get the early numbers at night. I try to get up early enought to get a +11 or +11.5

Did I confuse you yet?

Nope, not confused!

Knowing all of that is going to help people to help you.

Basically, you shoot the AM shot, and then you aren't going to be able to test until +8 or +10 during the AM cycle unless you can run home at lunch.

On the PM cycles, you'd be able to get the important +2 or +3 tests, which can tell you in advance if you're going to have to test often at night. If those numbers aren't a big drop, then maybe you can set an alarm for a test around nadir? And then you'll be able to test before the AM shot so that you can see if the number is rising when it's time for the morning shot.

What it comes down to is that you will tend to be conservative during the day, and can afford to occasionally see "low" numbers at night. Now all we have to do is instruct Bast to cooperate with that!

Carl
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +2 86 +3.75 57 +4.25 71 +10 93

I think I got it!
LOL
right now I don't want to shoot too much under 125 because he likes to do the 100 drop in the 2-4 hour mark. But if I was home all day i might.

I think I am just to green to go real low (I can't believe it will be 2 weeks tomarrow sice he came home from the vets)
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5

i posted today i didn't want to shoot at under 125 and now he is =12.5 111
what do you think?
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5

Hi Misty,
Got your PM so took a look...

I think exactly what I said earlier:
Every person has their own level of comfort, and their own "line in the sand". And the people here will always defer to what the person holding the needle feels comfortable with.

If Bast is under your line in the sand, then go with your gut. In fact, always go with your gut.

You're other option, which you've done before I think, is to stall without feeding, then shoot when he gets above that line. You know that will affect the timing of shots going forward. It's your call, which you know of course.

I am not sure who will be online, if you decide to give the shot. Because I can't be, I'm not going to advise you to shoot and then leave you "hanging".

What are your thoughts?

Carl
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5

well he was at 111 still at +12.45 however I know he was sleeping all day and didn't eat much.
I started making food and he came out of the bed so I decided he was hungry and shot (figuring I might be up all night)
Well FATE decided for me-
My FIRST fur shot ;-( he twitched and I don't know how much he got)
so I guess that is my answer.
I just left him eating

LOL such a roller coaster
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5

Not funny, but yeah, LOL on the fur shot. Happens to everyone eventually! Definitely a roller coaster. :smile:
Did he eat okay?

Carl
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5

he is eating ok
he probably misses my SO he has been gone for a few days at a renfaire selling in our booth.
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5

You know on a possible fur shot, you just have to "live with it" because you have no idea how much insulin might have made it "in", right? So you can test at some point (+3?) to see if he drops any, but you could just see flat or rising numbers till the morning shot. The insulin depot will still be there, so he won't be totally "without" insulin this cycle. It's not like you have to start all over due to one fur shot.

Carl
 
Re: 11/4 Bast AMPS 146 +3.75 57 +4.25 71+10 93 +12 102 +12.5

thanks
i am such a fuss!
Have a great night
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top