11/30 Trixie PMPS 67+2 77 +4.25 45 +5.25 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Trix earned another reducie last night, and pulled another double-dip this morning - she was at 88 when I tested her at +7 last night. Normally, I wouldn't do back-to-back reducies, but after looking at Trix's non-stop green trend and low AMPS this morning coupled with Libby's input, I did reduce her to 1.75. Hopefully that wasn't too much of a reducie, given she just had a reducie yesterday morning, too. But with last night's drop to the low 40s despite a BCS and two reduced shots and today's double-dipped low AMPS, I figured we'd give it a whirl. If it doesn't stick, you all know I won't hesitate to take her back up! She has barely left the lagoon since 11/23 now :shock: ...

DH is home today to keep an eye on things.

On top of all the extra action from Trix, Frankie is in "rattle the bedroom door half the night" mode right now...argh, little girl, the beans need SOME sleep! Time for me to get ready for work. The store was nice and steady yesterday - we can't hold a candle to the likes of Walmart (ick and shiver!), but we had a pretty good Black Friday. Today is Small Business Saturday, so we kicked up our special sale event just for the day. Get out there and Shop Local, Shop Small!!!

Have a great day, LL!

Amy
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 - Dose thoughts ag

I'm in the middle of getting ready for work so I'm in a rush...and I know we don't like to speculate too far out, but often there isn't anyone around for our PS questions. Does anyone have any thoughts about these numbers and what I should possibly do with this evening's shot?

I'll try and check in as I can during the day. DH will continue testing and supplying gravy as needed. I appreciate any thoughts and analysis!!
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 - Dose thoughts ag

Holy poop Trixie! What are you up too?? Oh Amy, I'm so glad dh is there to keep an eye on things. You gotta be pulling your hair out by now! nailbite_smile This looks like a stunt Twice would pull, so I'm so curious to see what others think. Maybe her shed needs a little draining? Wowzers.
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 - Dose thoughts ag

Hi Amy,
I think the lagoon now has a Meisterin!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
If you are thinking of taking another reduction tonight, keep in mind that Trixie's shed is still "working" at the old dose(s). Maybe skip a shot to deplete the shed?? Maybe hold the present dose to see if she will settle in to it?? I don't know what I would do!!

Have a great day at the store. We do almost all our shopping locally, and all the businesses are small!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 - Dose thoughts ag

WHOA Miss Trix :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Thats low enoigh :o nailbite_smile
No dosing advice from me but good luck with whatever you decide.
Have a great day at the store today Amy!!
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 - Dose thoughts ag

Trixie's numbers have certainly changed. I suspect that the 39 may reflect an overly full depot. What I would suggest is to see how easily you can bring the numbers up. If you're having a hard time, you may want to reduce a bit further. It's not all that unusual if a kitty is speeding down the dose ladder that you may need to take back-to-back reductions.
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 +4.5 55- Dose agai

Quick update from the store, but people are roaming! One shot of HC brought her up....she does tend to respond well to gravy, but DH will continue testing to make sure she stays there.

Thank you for the feedback and thoughts - and for giving me a bit of a confidence boost! Trix has pulled some interesting tricks over the years, but this run of greens and repeated lows is kinda new territory for us - I'm starting to feel like a newbie again!

I'll continue checking and updating as I can, but hopefully the store will get too busy!!
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 +4.5 55- Dose agai

I hope Trixie keeps surfing safely and doesn't give DH any trouble. Good luck on your dose decision tonight.
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 +4.5 55- Dose agai

Hi Amy. Congratulation on the reductions. Best to take the reduction, as you said you can always increase it. Trixie is looking good. Got a chuckle when I read how Frankie rattled your bedroom door 1/2 the night. They sure know how to let you know what they want. :lol:

Have a great day Amy.
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 +4.5 55- Dose agai

Hi Amy,
:shock: Trixie is keeping you busy!!!
I'm glad she's working the juice so well!
Good luck with whatever you decide with the dose.
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie AMPS 57 +1.5 69 +3.75 39 +4.5 55- Dose agai

i would agree that the 39 might be more representative of the previous dose than the dose you gave this morning. i was the queen of taking dose reductions too soon. in general, the standard is to take a full reduction if the cat is in the 30's.

here is the part from the Tight Regulation sticky regarding it:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

what this doesn't address is a 39 in the first cycle following a dose reduction where the previous dose is likely influencing the numbers. i would take that into consideration. so perhaps my tactic would be to see what the rest of this cycle is and if i felt tonight, based upon the rest of today's numbers, at preshot time that i really needed to take the recommended reduction, go ahead and do that, but then re-evaluate by tonight's tests if that was necessary, or if you just need to drain the shed a little bit more and return to the newly reduced-to 1.75u dose tomorrow sometime. it's a little bit tricky - but you are an experienced caregiver, Trixie is a long-term diabetic, and i think you'll be able to apply your judgment to this and decide what to do in her particular case.
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie PMPS 67

Trix did surf safely after her one shot of gravy, but she also did double-dip again - she was at 80 at +7. I did reduce her yet again this evening to 1.50, mainly based on that 39 and her PMPS/double-dip had a bit of an influence, too. I have to admit, though, I don't if I consider this a BCS or a permanent reducie. These cycles are kind of uncharted territory for us, so I am playing it by ear a bit. If I see steady or rising numbers, I very well might take her back up to 1.75 again tomorrow morning, after her shed has had a chance to train a bit. We shall see...she's keeping me guessing more than usual right now!
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie PMPS 67+2 77 +4.5 45

...and we are back in the 40s yet again, despite repeated reducies! Boy, she sure likes her FF Gravy Lovers sooooo much more than Wellness!!
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie PMPS 67+2 77 +4.5 45

i keep thinking we know who is leading the dance! go trixie!

how does she seem overall, amy? is she perky and her usual self?
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie PMPS 67+2 77 +4.5 45

Yup, she seems like her usual self, Julie. She's generally a pretty mellow cat to begin with, but nothing has changed in her behaviors, at least not that I've noticed.
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie PMPS 67+2 77 +4.5 45

Wow, Trixie is on a mission to stay pretty in green :mrgreen: :o I hope she surfs safely for you and you can figure out a perfect dose! Have a great night :-D
 
Re: 11/30 Trixie PMPS 67+2 77 +4.5 45

Oh my!!! GOOOOOO Trixie! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool: :cool: :cool:
 
Wow Trixie!! She knows how to get the good stuff! :mrgreen: :-D

Good luck with the reducie or BCS, which ever it turns out to be :-D And with finding the best dose for her Amy~
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top