11/30 Tiny Solè +6:124, +10:80, AMPS:134, +5:115, +9:92, PMPS:126

Tiny's BG is staying within normal IDEXX range throughout the cycles (IDEXX reference 72-175) but we often use 70 to 150 as our goal reference range. That said, Tiny is still in great shape. I don't think I would reduce now. I'd hold the dose for 7 days (she's at 4.5 now) and if she doesn't dip a little further between now and then you could take her back up to 0.5u (or if you have calipers you could try something in between a quarter and half) and see if that brings the numbers down a bit more. I think if your goal is to get Tiny into remission, you'll have to lower your reduction point a bit.
 
if your goal is to get Tiny into remission, you'll have to lower your reduction point a bit.

Yes, it's looking that way, so I'll hold the dose a bit longer...three more days, correct?...then I'll increase a bit more, not quite to 0.5, but almost and see where she goes.

Anyone have a visual for me? I'm using BD needles right now.
 
You can either draw up 0.5u and then push out a drop or two until you are just above the 0.5u line or you could use calipers and then the world is your oyster as far as finessing doses. I'd lend you mine and my light box if only you were a bit closer! :p
Might be an idea to use the coloured water technique. Consistency is more important than bang on accuracy. Draw up the required dose of coloured water in a used syringe and use that as a comparison when drawing up the insulin.
 
I think it's 2 more days to hold the dose (that'll be a week). :)

I tike the colored water idea - good one.
I have a calipers! ...I've been eagerly anticipating the day I needed and could use them, and my light box lays in waiting. I'll prepare so in two days well give it a shot! ...literally! :joyful:

Grazie! ❤ Although, maybe I should not angst over accuracy and go back to the .5. Well, I've got two days to think about it. We're sooooooo close!
 
Last edited:
When I was weaning Menace off the juice, I did 0.5, then 0.33, then .025, and finally 0.1 or at least what I perceived to be those doses based on my measurements. I wanted to be sure to ease her down slowly and not rock the boat too much all at once. Those small doses were the bain of my existence until I got the calipers and lightbox.
 
When I was weaning Menace off the juice, I did 0.5, then 0.33, then .025, and finally 0.1 or at least what I perceived to be those doses based on my measurements. I wanted to be sure to ease her down slowly and not rock the boat too much all at once. Those small doses were the bain of my existence until I got the calipers and lightbox.

Do you remember the digital numerical equivalent of those doses? ...asking for a friend...
 
Sorry Joanne. I was out all day yesterday at a Special Olympics Curling competition (we failed miserably :() and just catching up now.

There is a thread HERE that gives you some starting info re: using calipers. THIS has some measurements including mine. I can break my numbers down for incremental dosing for you if you measure the same way I did but you really need to check and see how close your measure comes out to mine to be sure you are using the same top arm of the caliper positioning that I did. Everyone who posted didn't measure from precisely the same point at the top of the barrel. It really only takes one measure of the syringe and then it's just a math equation and consistent use of the same point on the syringe to line up the top arm of the caliper when drawing up doses. Your dose will be a consistent approximation rather than an exact fraction of a dose. Each of us seemed to find a bit different spot on the syringe barrel we were comfortable using to measure.
 
Back
Top