11/30 Tinkerbell pmps 326 - Ketone meter ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Anybody think I should give her a dose crease up to 1u in 2 hours when she gets her shot, even tho I don't have a lot of mid-cycle data yet since she has come back from the Falls?

EDIT: Never mind, I see from her SS she has only been on this dose 5 cycles, I would need to hold it for 6 b4 doing anything. So if a dosecrease was warranted, the earliest it would be would be tonight's shot.

SS is updated with this new "start over" data.
 
Re: 11/30 Tinkerbell amps 413 - Dosecrease?

What a HORRIBLE #!

This was her 6th dose since she started back on Lantus after coming back from the Falls.

There is no question in my mind that she needs a dose increase with tonight's shot, up .5u to 1u, but I would like some feedback from the rest of you b4 I make any final decision...you know, it's that self-doubt thing. Maybe I should even take her up a whole unit to 1.5?

I don't have much mid-cycle data yet and won't get any til Sunday, but she is so dang high!

Everything else w/her seems fine, she eats like a horse, is energetic, loving, totally Tinkerbell. Except for these #s.
 
Re: 11/30 Tinkerbell amps 413

Hi Desi,
I think the protocol states that the initial dose should be held for 5-7 days, but occasionally the situation may call for an earlier increase (hopefully someone who is more knowledgeable than I will come along to help you decide). You need time for the shed to fill and for the dose to settle in. But you also need to have some mid-cycle data. The high PS numbers may reflect a bounce from low mid-cycle numbers. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the preshots. If you base your dose on the preshots, you are asking for trouble, since you may be setting up a perpetual circle of high -->low --> bounce to high --> low. This is NOT what you want for Tinkerbell's body to have to deal with. Please read the Sticky on the Tight-Regulation Protocol. When you get mid-cycle readings and can determine how low Tinkerbell goes, then you can follow the protocol and increase by the proper amount at the proper time. I don't think anyone here would ever recommend that you increase a dose by more than .5 of a unit. The usual increase amount is .25. If you start increasing by leaps and bounds you run the risk of going beyond Tinkerbell's effective dose. Amounts of insulin that are too high can produce high readings, too, and can wreak havoc with the kitty's system (Stu was almost killed by his vet overdosing him, because the vet would raise him by 1 or 2 units a week; I didn't know any better then and followed the vet blindly; I was also shooting blind.) So stay calm, read the protocol, and wait for one of the experienced dosing people to advise you.

Hope all is well otherwise. I haven't read Tawny's condo yet today,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/30 Tinkerbell amps 413

Thanks, Ella. Everything you say I agree with, which is why I am hesitant to raise her dose already (1) she has not been on it that long & (2) little to no mid-cycle data. You are right.

I have not reviewed the protocol for a couple of years so I will go back and do that today. I had forgotten about holding an initial dose for 5-7 days.

I, too, wondered about these high #s being rebound. The one day I did get data, the first day back on Lantus, she dipped into the yellows @ nadir. So if her body is not used to that, rebound makes sense. And her shed would likely not be full yet.

I will plan on holding this initial dose for 5-7 days per the protocol, and getting more mid-cycle data Sunday when I can be home all day.

Like Stu, Tinkerbell had a vet increase her dose 3 units over a less than 2-day period shortly after she was first dx'd, against my specific instructions (she was being boarded there). When I got back and picked that cat up and they told me they had upped her dose from 3.75u to 5u in 3 shots, I like to blew a gasket. I had left very clear specific instructions for them to not adjust her dose under any circumstances at all but that if they felt it was absolutely necessary to call me on my cell first. And they agreed. But they never called, just did what they wanted, and when I got back, I was livid. I remember posting about it, the whole board was mad right along with me at the time!

Thanks for the pep talk! :smile: It's definitely time to re-review the protocol again!
 
Re: 11/30 Tinkerbell amps 413

Come on Tinkerbell. Please, come down. Nice and easy, girl.
 
Re: 11/30 Tinkerbell amps 413

Jill told me to be VERY aggressive with Binks when he returned from the falls.

well, with his dosing :lol:

I think Marjorie may have posted the link...but if you need it let me know and i'll find the condo...
 
Re: 11/30 Tinkerbell pmps 326 - Ketone #s ?

pmps much better than amps! I have decided to hold the .5u dose for the 5-7 days until I get more data. Or change my mind again!

She eats like a horse.

I have a blood ketone meter now (I am so very sorry for the loss of your beautiful Boo, Heather...thank you for the gift of her ketone meter), so I tested Tink tonight and her reading was .1. I think this is a good thing? But I am a medical moron, I really have no idea what this means. Could somebody please explain to me what the readings on a blood ketone meter mean? In kindergarten language?

Cuz on Tawny's vet discharge pprs from her ckup Monday it read "Urinalysis showed ketones 2+" but they sent her home. Last night I tested Tawny and it read 1.4. Tonight she was higher, but she ate LC wet all day (more on this in her condo here: 11/30/2011 Tawny's Condo).

I have read the insert that came w/the blood ketone meter strips and also re-read the sticky on the protocol today and read everything on the link from there on DKA. I'm just not sure what it all means & what I am supposed to do about what it does mean.

I don't have a problem w/the pee-on-a-stick ketone tests, the chart on the bottle makes it a no-brainer. And that's just what I need: a no-brainer explanation on how to interpret the blood ketone meter readings. So could some of you experts out there help me get it, please? Pretty, pretty, pretty please?

(P.S. Celi, could you send me that link again? I read it when Marje posted it but I'd like to read it again and I couldn't find it tonight ~ Desi)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top